PDA

View Full Version : 6600gt not detected on latest beta drivers


snip3r
02-13-05, 07:39 PM
Hi guys,

Was a 9800pro user( no flames :p ) and converted to MSI 6600gt x 2 after I got both of the cards for only $290(promotion). I'm also using the MSI boards.

Back to the problem.

The 2nd GPU was detected when I installed the official final WHQL drivers but after I "patched" it with the latest 7x.xx beta drivers, the 2nd GPU was not detected.

When I clicked on the SLI tab, it states something like "check the compatibility of the graphics card " and the "SLI option" and "load balancing" checkbox was not there already.

** I'm writing off from my memory.

1) Pls advise on how to solve the "undetectable" 2nd gpu.
2) BTW, if I'm playing a game( Lineage 2 MMORPG) which uses the unreal2 engine, which SLI mode shall I run?

Cheers!

ChrisRay
02-13-05, 07:47 PM
Have you tried using the 2nd GPU solo? Have you made sure they are using the same bios?

snip3r
02-13-05, 07:58 PM
Have you tried using the 2nd GPU solo? Have you made sure they are using the same bios?

The thing is it was detected perfectly with the 6x.xx official drivers and after updating to the latest one the problem arised.

Also doubt is the bios since it was sold in a packaga together with my MSI mobo. :(

saturnotaku
02-14-05, 08:32 AM
Did you do a proper driver uninstall or did you simply install the new drivers over the old ones?

snip3r
02-14-05, 09:01 AM
Did you do a proper driver uninstall or did you simply install the new drivers over the old ones?

1. I tried to remove the drivers COMPLETELY by uninstalling and using the nvcleaner. Re-install to 66.93, SLI is enabled, OK.

2.I tried to re-install to 71.80( dloaded from guru3d). SLI failed. Rollback to 66.93, SLI is enabled, OK.

Now I'm trying to uninstall the 66.93 and use NVcleaner again and then install 71.80 to confirm the status.

wish me luck :p

snip3r
02-14-05, 09:09 AM
1. I tried to remove the drivers COMPLETELY by uninstalling and using the nvcleaner. Re-install to 66.93, SLI is enabled, OK.

2.I tried to re-install to 71.80( dloaded from guru3d). SLI failed. Rollback to 66.93, SLI is enabled, OK.

Now I'm trying to uninstall the 66.93 and use NVcleaner again and then install 71.80 to confirm the status.

wish me luck :p
Nope NO GO T.T

Drivers related?

mcolbourn
02-14-05, 09:44 AM
Have you tried any of the other 71.XX range e.g. 71.25 at all??

snip3r
02-14-05, 10:03 AM
Have you tried any of the other 71.XX range e.g. 71.25 at all??

Yup tried 71.25 and the 67.66 too. :thumbdwn:

mcolbourn
02-14-05, 10:09 AM
Sounds kind of odd, but have you posted on the MSI Forums I have a MSI motherboard and had a few issues and they were very helpfull overthere

snip3r
02-14-05, 08:33 PM
Have you tried using the 2nd GPU solo? Have you made sure they are using the same bios?

Chris maybe you can share on how did you install 71.80? Basically just run the setup? Did you overwrite the inf file?

Also, is everyone able to use 71.80 and able to detect SLI except me? Just concern that I was ONLY able to use the 66.93 that's all and maybe some of the games would be a hell lot faster than the beta drivers.

:(

Pix
03-03-05, 03:55 PM
i have the same problem as you snip3r , my cards are from Sparkle but the exact same thing hapens to me. I dont know what to do. I run 3dmark03 with the old drivers that come with the card (in sli mode) and come up with only 10159 points. i install the latest drivers with wont detect the sli mode and only get about 8900 points on 3dmark03

snip3r
03-04-05, 03:10 AM
i have the same problem as you snip3r , my cards are from Sparkle but the exact same thing hapens to me. I dont know what to do. I run 3dmark03 with the old drivers that come with the card (in sli mode) and come up with only 10159 points. i install the latest drivers with wont detect the sli mode and only get about 8900 points on 3dmark03


Hmm i solved it by the small mobo that is between both my SLI cards =)
Pls check that first..To confirm when you boot up, does it state 16x or 8x for PCI-e? If it's 8x you are fine

Pix
03-04-05, 10:47 AM
Hmm i solved it by the small mobo that is between both my SLI cards =)
Pls check that first..To confirm when you boot up, does it state 16x or 8x for PCI-e? If it's 8x you are fine

I tried that. not working :(