PDA

View Full Version : Nforce2 and Soundstorm


SocketAzzWipe
11-29-02, 01:03 PM
Is it true that not all motherboard manufacturers are incorporating the true Soundstorm APU by Nvidia? If so, which companies are staying true to Nvidia's original nForce2/Soundstorm design? Or am I way off?

SavagePaladin
11-29-02, 03:25 PM
Chaintechs nForce2 doens't use the APU at all.
ASUS has a custom design which loses a few options if you install the default drivers....but you still can.

I don't know of anyone else screwing with it.

anxdiety
11-29-02, 04:10 PM
I've been looking at the Asus board and was wondering what options do you lose if going to the generic drivers? There's no mention of just what you lose anywhere that i have seen.

SavagePaladin
11-29-02, 04:33 PM
ASUS specific audio changes:


1. TAD (modem/speakerphon) now shows up as an option
2. Microphone 2 becomes the default Microphone device
3. SPDIF In support is enabled if the I/O bracket is available


We're pretty sure that's it. They shipped 2.99 drivers and the generic release is now 3.06. Lots of little fixes in between.

SocketAzzWipe
11-29-02, 05:31 PM
Originally posted by SavagePaladin


Savage...would you say its a major change from the original desing? From what you posted, it doesn't seem like it.

I'm going to wait for the Abit nForce2 board and see how these guys do it.

FastM
11-29-02, 05:42 PM
i know for sure the Leadtek one uses all nForce Audio, And from benchmarks i have seen is the fastest yet, by more than just a little...

SavagePaladin
11-29-02, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe
Savage...would you say its a major change from the original desing? From what you posted, it doesn't seem like it.

I'm going to wait for the Abit nForce2 board and see how these guys do it.
No, I definately would not...

...judging by my nv7-133r, good call