PDA

View Full Version : Who runs there A64 CPU overvolted


john19055
02-27-05, 10:37 PM
I was wanted to know how much do you overclock and how much do you overclock your CPU voltage on the A64 Procsessor,Is it just as safe to overclock the cpu voltage on the A64 as it was on a Barton as long as the tempertures are fine.I know that I would run my Barton moblie 2600+ at 1.8v from day one and never had no problems with it running that high,but I am not so sure how far I can run my A64 3400+ (newcastle) and it be alright,I know there is always a chance of messing something up when over volting,I just want to know is the A64 as forgiveing as the Barton is.

MUYA
02-27-05, 10:40 PM
A64 is definately not as forgiving as bartons. Why? because of the added number of transistors, the main part everyone thinks that goes tits up first is the on die memory controller. So unless you have very decent cooling, overvolting is not really reccomended.

GlowStick
02-27-05, 10:55 PM
I personly wont go above 1.6v max.

jAkUp
02-27-05, 11:48 PM
I was running 1.55v on my 3500+ 90nm. I have heard its not recomended to run over 1.6v.

Riptide
02-27-05, 11:55 PM
For the .13 I wouldn't go over 1.65v on air. With water you can go a little higher. .09 I wouldn't go over 1.575-1.6.

There isn't a lot of room left in the higher end A64 CPUs IMO. They run out of breath on air pretty quick once you get up around 2.5-2.6GHz. The people that hit 3.0 and higher are using heavy duty cooling.

Tr1cK
02-28-05, 08:27 AM
For the .13 I wouldn't go over 1.65v on air. With water you can go a little higher. .09 I wouldn't go over 1.575-1.6.

There isn't a lot of room left in the higher end A64 CPUs IMO. They run out of breath on air pretty quick once you get up around 2.5-2.6GHz. The people that hit 3.0 and higher are using heavy duty cooling.

Agreed. Mine is well ventilated and loads up to 53-55 A 2.5ghz 1.5v.

ragejg
02-28-05, 08:57 AM
Mine won't pass superpi and prime95 stable @ 275 htt unless I'm @ 1.7v. Temps are not an issue, as I have a 120mm SilenX copper cooler.

myshkinbob
02-28-05, 12:43 PM
I've got the CG revision newcastle 3000+ s754, so it's 0.13 process, and i overclock it from 2.0ghz to 2.2ghz, 10x220, and it's actually undervolted. Stock is 1.5v, i run it at 1.31v. If i want to run it at 2.5ghz i have to up vcore to about 1.65v. Personally i'll take a 10% overclock with lower temps than at stock, than a 25% oc and having to deal with so much heat. At 1.31v the heat output is reduced considerably at 2.2ghz compared to 1.5v, i can run the stock HSF at only 1000rpm, pretty much silent, and still keep load temps in the mid 40's C.

So it goes to show, you don't need to overvolt to overclock the a64 at all, you can run it faster and cooler if you try. My preference is to keep dropping the vcore until you get a freeze or error from prime95, then add 0.05v, and you're stable.

Riptide
02-28-05, 01:53 PM
You do need to overvolt some of them in order for them to overclock. I wouldn't apply that experience towards every chip. They're all a little different when you start tweaking them outside of stock specs..

myshkinbob
02-28-05, 01:57 PM
When you're pushing the chips limits you do need to overvolt to overclock yeah. But you'd be surprised how well all a64's undervolt at stock speeds and modestly overclocked, have a look in this forum http://forums.silentpcreview.com. It's how i found out about it, i didn't expect you could overclock and undervolt, it's not typical of most cpu's i've had.