PDA

View Full Version : Please help! bad problem.


dgherzka
03-01-05, 02:40 PM
I just ruined my new 6600gt that I got back from RMA yesterday. :( I was so excited about the card, so I decided to flash the bios to a better one. The flash failed, even though the firmware was suppoosedly correct. So now i have a non-functioning card. Is there any way that I can fix this without RMAing it again. I am crying because I know how much my father will yell at me like he did last time. Is there anything I can do?

ViN86
03-01-05, 03:32 PM
ttt

this guy needs help :o

Tr1cK
03-01-05, 03:43 PM
I think you maybe be able to use a PCI card in conjunction with the AGP card. Use the PCI for display and reflash the AGP. Not sure, but I think Ive heard it done before.

Kev1
03-01-05, 03:45 PM
You can flash back to the original bios if you saved it or know where to get it. You can either do a blind flash or buy/put in a cheap PCI video card (like 5200 PCI) and flash that way.

What happened to you has happened to lots of us. Its not the end of the world although it may seem like it. If I find a link that shows how to do a blind flash Ill post it. Using PCI vid card just makes it easier cause you can see what your doing.

If ragejg is around maybe he can post as I believe he is quite knowledgeable about fixing bad vid card flashes :)

dgherzka
03-01-05, 03:47 PM
i dont have another pci card and i dont want my father to find out. I cant really do a blind flash because when that card is in, it doesnt seem like the computer even accesses the floppy drive, but no beeps or anything.

Clay
03-01-05, 03:47 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=391821&postcount=58

dgherzka
03-01-05, 03:52 PM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=391821&postcount=58
how does that help?

Clay
03-01-05, 03:54 PM
how does that help?
I was writing it at the same time you were making your previous post. It happens in forums all the time. :)

I'm not sure what else will help considering the particulars you're describing.

dgherzka
03-01-05, 03:56 PM
I was writing it at the same time you were making your previous post. It happens in forums all the time. :)

I'm not sure what else will help considering the particulars you're describing.

ok. i didnt see the time that u posted. I have been using forums for a while, mostly OCC. If it helps, here is a link to my thread about this there:
http://forums.overclockersclub.com/Please-Help!-t46194.html

ViN86
03-01-05, 03:58 PM
you can get a pci vid card for as little as $39 (+s/h). youll get in a few days from newegg.com (great shipping)

heres the link:
PCI Vid Card (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-130-217&depa=1)

might be a good idea to get one if you plan on flashing bios's. always a good backup plan. ;)

Clay
03-01-05, 04:07 PM
ok. i didnt see the time that u posted. I have been using forums for a while, mostly OCC. If it helps, here is a link to my thread about this there:
http://forums.overclockersclub.com/Please-Help!-t46194.html
Seems like everything has been covered both there and here. Just up to you now to do what you can considering your particular situation. Good luck. :cool:

dgherzka
03-01-05, 04:10 PM
i bid on this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=44986&item=5168754608&rd=1

Clay
03-01-05, 04:16 PM
i bid on this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=44986&item=5168754608&rd=1
Note that the link provided by the seller to the old drivers is invalid. You'll need to go here (http://www.diamondmm.com/support.php), click on the "before 9/1/2003" link and register before having access to the drivers.

dgherzka
03-01-05, 04:19 PM
Note that the link provided by the seller to the old drivers is invalid. You'll need to go here (http://www.diamondmm.com/support.php), click on the "before 9/1/2003" link and register before having access to the drivers.

i dont think ill need drivers, i will just be using the card to boot into dos for flashing. What do i need to do in nvflash to specify that I would like to flash the agp card?

dgherzka
03-08-05, 07:12 AM
okay. So i fixed the bios. I reflashed the the rev. 2 bios from mvktech. Now i get MUCH worse performance, as in 3000 less points on 3dmark03. What could be causing this and what is a remedy?

|MaguS|
03-08-05, 07:41 AM
Are the clocks in the new bios as the original? You could be running slower bios...

Hope you learn your leason with the whole experiance, Don't flash your card if its running fine, especially if you just got it back from RMA.

dgherzka
03-08-05, 05:39 PM
bios has same clock speed

TierMann
03-08-05, 06:25 PM
Could be as simple as reinstalling the drivers if you havn't allready.
If that card was sitting in there (dead) when you powered up, and windows booted without it, it could have given up on it. I've had to reinstall drivers before after putting the same card back in.

dgherzka
03-08-05, 07:35 PM
yes, i have reinstalled the drivers. I loaded different ones. Nothing works. I am totally clueless. Maybe i will just live with it. My dad said that i could build a new computer in december. Maybe ill just bear it until then.