PDA

View Full Version : A8N-SLi bios


Ronin
03-01-05, 04:00 PM
Too many threads after the search to nail down the right answer for this, so I'm curious from those that have the board. What's the best bios version right now to have on this board?

jAkUp
03-01-05, 05:29 PM
1004 was the BIOS I was using when the thing died on me.. heh.

sturnbull_chs
03-01-05, 07:00 PM
right now i'm using 1004 and its working fine i've heard alot of ppl talk about really bad early versions of the BIOS but even thoses worked fine for me. but then again i'm not running SLI and that might have alot to do with it

Cruel_Logic
03-01-05, 07:15 PM
i had lots of problems running bioses lower than 1004. with 1002 and 1003 i had problems going all the way to not being able to boot windows. 1004 has worked perfectly and not crashed once.

Ronin
03-01-05, 09:20 PM
I've gone ahead and updated the BIOS to 1004. I'm now in the midst of a different problem, in that the system builder put a 480W PSU in the box, rather than the 680W I requested. Apparently, the 680W was backordered, and they neglected to let me know.

Because of this, I presume, if I try to run anything in SLi, the system shuts down after a period of time (basically, any intensive 3d application).

This is on a fresh install of WinXP Pro, completely updated, running the 71.83 Display drivers and the 6.39 nForce drivers.

If anyone knows of another reason this might be happening, I'm all ears.

jAkUp
03-01-05, 09:28 PM
Could you try your ultra x connect in the sli box? I assume you are also plugging in the molex directly to the mobo (right above the pcix slots)

surfnet
03-02-05, 03:20 AM
In case you guys havent noticed, beta 1005 is out on asus site. Installed it and working fine. No info on what changed tho.

Ronin
03-02-05, 09:51 AM
Actually, I didn't set up the machine, so I haven't looked really closely inside. I'll do that this morning to make sure all is well inside.

PSYCHODAD
03-02-05, 10:20 AM
I'm still using the 1003 and no problems with it.

Ronin
03-02-05, 11:02 AM
Checked and the molex is in fact plugged into the mobo, so that's not it.