PDA

View Full Version : Just got a Zalman 7000bCu!

Pages : [1] 2

keith33
03-01-05, 06:31 PM
The name is self-explanatory right?
Well, I'm about to install this in a few hours but I have a few questions because I've never used one of these before

I don't really want to dismantle my entire system so can I use the stock retention plate?

Should Cool n' Quiet be disabled?

If I didn't want the external fan controller, and never connected it, would it automatically adjust speed due to temperature or would it automatically run at the highest setting?

Thanks for the help.

Clay
03-01-05, 06:45 PM
See top of page 6: http://www.zalmanusa.com/Upload/product/CNPS7000B_eng.PDF I don't use Cool 'n Quiet so I would disable it but that's just me.

keith33
03-01-05, 07:05 PM
Thanks for the reply. Still, I would prefer to NOT use the fan controller, but no one has been able to tell me what happens when it is not connected. Will it auto adjust?

Clay
03-01-05, 07:13 PM
Thanks for the reply. Still, I would prefer to NOT use the fan controller, but no one has been able to tell me what happens when it is not connected. Will it auto adjust?
OIC. No, it will not auto adjust if you use a 3 pin to molex adapter. In doing so you're feeding directly off your PSU and removing any BIOS or chipset level control of the fan controller cnxn on the mobo itself.

keith33
03-01-05, 07:16 PM
Sorry for the miscommunication, it must be the sleep deprivation. What I meant was for the heatsink to be connected to the motherboard (3 pin connector)' however, I don't want to use the external "fan mate" controller for it. Will the heatsink speed automatically be controlled by the BIOS?

Again, I apologize for not making this clear.

Clay
03-01-05, 07:39 PM