PDA

View Full Version : Rise of the Triads (ROTT) Source Ports


Heavyd
03-01-05, 09:54 PM
Are there any source ports out there that enhances this old fallout FPS game, with the right adjustments, this game could be pretty good

Intel17
03-01-05, 10:05 PM
Sadly, no.

SH64
03-01-05, 10:19 PM
Man ROTT was a really nice game :) .. too bad you cant play oldies in a new PCs

ragejg
03-01-05, 11:12 PM
That game was awesome... Someday someone will smarten up and make an updated version...

/me also prays for a new Scorched Earth using Havok physics :p

Intel17
03-02-05, 06:41 AM
I have a second PC set up in my room just for ROTT!

jolle
03-02-05, 07:27 AM
There are DOS emulator stuff for XP, any of them might get the original up and running.. a few off the top of my head..
Dosbox
VDMsound

I remember the-underdogs.org has a few guides to get old games running on XP with different tools (shame there isnt one ultimate one that runs all hehe)
ScummVM is teh shiznitz for Lucasarts adventures like Monkey Island, plus a few others.. no Discworld support tho.. :(

Diamond_G
03-02-05, 08:13 AM
I would pay for ROTT using any new engine... Ah the memories

CaptNKILL
03-02-05, 11:40 AM
This game was around before I was really into PC Gaming, but I picked up the shareware version at a dollar store 7-8 years ago for a buck and I loved it :)

I still have it around here somewhere. I loved how you had infinite ammo in your guns, but your special weapon was limited. Deffinitely gave the game a different feel than most FPS games.

I remember that it looked decent too considering how old it was... though I havent played it since Quake 2 was king... so things might be different now ;)

EDIT: I found the CD. Its called "Rise of the Triad: The Hunt Begins - Deluxe Edition". It doesnt say shareware, but im pretty sure that a bunch of features werent available when I played it. BTW, the system requirements are hilarious ;)
"IBM or 100% Compatible 386DX-33 computer with 4mb RAM (8mb recommended), a VGA graphics card and 8mb free space on the hard disk drive..."
My video card has 32 times as much memory as this thing requires on the hard drive :rofl

Heavyd
03-02-05, 04:27 PM
lol, yeah, i can play it on my pc! Windows Xp actually lets it to work, just slower then usuall, i like the game, but i can't stand the slowness, funny how better the technology gets, the worse the older games work

ragejg
03-02-05, 04:41 PM
Well if it's slow on a 750mhz Athlon, MAYBE, just MAYBE it'll run decently on an A64 or a P4... :p:p

Marcos
03-02-05, 08:11 PM
thats the game where they are like "please no" after you wound them, right?

Does anyone rememeber a fps/rpg from around that time, you started out w/ a crossbow.

and no it wasnt hexen or heretic

OldOfEvil
03-02-05, 10:16 PM
"God Mode" is hilarious in that game, the idle yawning sound you make flying around nuking people.. great game.

Heavyd
03-10-05, 10:10 PM
was the game your talking about witchhaven, if so, man thats a horrible game, but i believe its abandoned and can be downloaded at freeoldies.com

Diamond_G
03-12-05, 07:37 AM
Geez, now i am gonna have to go home and load ROTT up after work...

D.K.Tronics
03-12-05, 01:11 PM
Has anyone tried running ROTT, in a Direct3D version of Dosbox ?
You can use quite a few D3D filters like 2xSAI, Scale x2, or the superb hq2x.
ROTT, looks quite nice running at 1280x960, with hq2x, using DirectX9 to speed up the filters.
This isn't a normal build of Dosbox, mind you. It's a special DirectX9 build version.

Sovereignxp
03-13-05, 05:18 AM
LOL! ROTT! I remember that game. That was a hella fun game.

Bust out the baseball bat cause i wanna knock your block off! :p

nrs421
03-13-05, 08:22 AM
BTW, the system requirements are hilarious ;)
"IBM or 100% Compatible 386DX-33 computer with 4mb RAM (8mb recommended), a VGA graphics card and 8mb free space on the hard disk drive..."

my first computer when i was 12...a 386DX-33 but it went up to 66 with the turbo mode on.....never figured out why you'd want to have turbo mode off....alas my dad never bought me that math co-processor that they had a slot for....of course i fried it a year later and had him get me a 486 - 100Mhz :p

ragejg
03-13-05, 09:00 AM
Umm, unless you were into overclocking around 1992, there were no 386's that ran @ 66mhz... The fastest factory 386dx speed was AMD's 40mhz.

nrs421
03-13-05, 09:11 AM
there was a button on the computer case that said turbo and when depressed it supposedly ran at 66 Mhz....never opened that case up so i have no idea

ragejg
03-13-05, 09:14 AM
heh, that's what we all used to set em to... heehee, kind like "fake" overclocking... Or sometimes the displays would be so confusing to set, or they'd be borked on arrival, so the number they were at would just have to stay... :D:D