PDA

View Full Version : BFG 6800GT OC and the Source Engine


Knuxr
03-06-05, 03:02 PM
Ok I have gone back and forth with this, it started off with my card not even wanting to run the game and then I turned off fast writes and it worked fine. Then I changed the resolution from 1280 by 768 to 1280 by 1024 and then the card randomly crased but when it did it looked like a fuzzy tv screen. Then I updated my NForce drivers to 5.10 and got the Omega drivers (61.77) for my card. Now it was fixed for a bit then I startup CS:S and yet again the fuzzy screen, this is getting rather annoying I have looked all over the forums for some kind of answer and I just can't find it...

Here is my system setup:
Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.5ghz
DFI LanPartyUT nForce3 250GB
BFG 6800GT OC
1GB OCZ Platinum PC3700

keith33
03-06-05, 03:10 PM
What kind of power supply do you have? It consumes more power to run a game at a higher resolution.

Knuxr
03-06-05, 03:13 PM
Antec True550 550W

jolle
03-06-05, 03:17 PM
strange, tried 1280 x 960? the correct 1.333 aspect ratio (on CRTs)

Knuxr
03-06-05, 04:03 PM
Well I am getting an LCD soon so I would like for it to be 1280 by 1024 since that is the resolution but I will give it a shot. Also I have 3 hard drives 2 Raptors and a 80GB one don't think that will do much but thought it was worth mentioning.

ViN86
03-06-05, 04:35 PM
if your images are fuzzy, its probably the refresh rate. my monitor runs at 75Hz and games default to 60. gave me fuzzy images. try NVRefresh Tool to override it. good luck.

EDIT: this is for LCD monitors, if its a CRT then this wouldnt be a problem.

Knuxr
03-06-05, 04:57 PM
I don't have the LCD yet but soon :), I was just putting it to 1280 by 1024 so my eyes had some time to get used to it before I got the LCD but no the images aren't fuzzy but I will be playing and then the game will hault and the screen goes to fuzzy kinda like if you turned on your tv with no cable that kinda fuzzy. Also I noticed that you have a BFG also, and your core and mem speeds are 370/1000 is that stock? Because mine is 400/1100 and I haven't touched it at all so those are my stock speeds...

TierMann
03-06-05, 06:29 PM
I have the same card, and 370/1000 is stock for a BFG 6800 GT OC. If it's any higher then some program must be OC'ing it. Either that or you have a modified bios on your card.

Knuxr
03-06-05, 06:32 PM
Must have a modified bios on the card cuz that is what Nvidia is reading it at... How can I tell if I have a modified bios?

Knuxr
03-06-05, 10:32 PM
Also I have noticed that if I put it to back to 1280 by 768 the problem goes away, but this will be a problem when I get my LCD, so I am trying to fix this, I am all out of ideas.. I have tried everything for gods sake does anyone have any ideas?

macatak
03-07-05, 12:15 AM
Do you have a dedicated power supply connected to your card, ie: no other hardware/devices etc running off the same power lead that connects to your GFX card ?

Knuxr
03-07-05, 12:50 AM
Yea it was hard as hell to get a straight line to it with nothing attached but I did get it there. Maybe you are right I will wait till I get the LCD but I am still going to try and figure this out... Thanks for the help so far :)

Aurthus
03-07-05, 03:30 AM
I run everything at 1280x1024 on my 19" Crt. It's actually the recomended Rez for it. For Hl2/source games i run at 1280x960 though. (always run at 85hz). 1280x1024 just doesnt work well in source for me. The ammo for weapons is near the middle right side of screen and the font is so big i can't see most of it, Also it flickers back and forth from source to desktop if i try to alt tab out. 1280x960 runs fine and still looks good.

j0j081
03-07-05, 03:39 AM
I run everything at 1280x1024 on my 19" Crt. It's actually the recomended Rez for it. For Hl2/source games i run at 1280x960 though. (always run at 85hz). 1280x1024 just doesnt work well in source for me. The ammo for weapons is near the middle right side of screen and the font is so big i can't see most of it, Also it flickers back and forth from source to desktop if i try to alt tab out. 1280x960 runs fine and still looks good.
that res works fine for me on my 19 inch crt. maybe its ur drivers. also if u change res without restarting cs:s the fonts are distorted sometimes.

jolle
03-07-05, 04:59 AM
1280x1024 isnt a correct resolution for CRTs really..
its not a 1.333 resolution
800 / 600 = 1.333
1024 / 768 = 1.33
1280 / 960 = 1.33
1280 / 1024 = 1.25

Most LCDs use x1024 tho, guess they are somewhat wider then CRTs.
On my 19" CRT the desktop gets horizantally squashed on x1024.

Some CRTs can get fuzzy at higher refreshrates I hear, havent had any problems with that myself on ex 1280x960@85hz (or x1024, some games dont support 960 for some reason)
How does that resolution look on the desktop? not fuzzy there?
overriding refreshrates (or you get 60hz ingame)?

Knuxr
03-07-05, 07:33 AM
well I have it set to 85hz but how can I tell what I am getting in game? Also it isn't like flickerring, the entire game freezes up and I have to restart but this is only if I raise the resolution to 1280 by 1024 otherwise it runs great...