PDA

View Full Version : Insufficient power


Pliskin
03-11-05, 05:46 PM
I keep getting this warning message. I get a warning message saying that there is insufficient power to my eVGA 6800 ultra card. I have a 510w psu from PC Power and Cooling. I have connected everything perfectly and triple checked all of the connections. The odd thing is that I normally get this error when I am idling in 2D with no applications open. Any ideas? Is this normal? I even RMA'd my card once to make sure it wasn't my card.

This happens with any driver I try 61-75.90.

aZn_plyR
03-11-05, 06:28 PM
try switching in another power supply? yes..I know this is a pcp&c power supply..but u never know :)

jj87
03-12-05, 12:29 AM
how many amps are you pushing on the 12+ volt side. my 6660GT needs atleast 18 amps, and my 400 watt was only doing 16 amps. you'd be surprised what your psu pushes. so i got a psu that does 34 amps on the 12+ volt side, 500 watts.

jAkUp
03-12-05, 12:59 AM
PC P and cooling pushes 34amps on the 12v. He has just about the best PSU money can buy.

Try difference molex connectors, also try two seperate strings. In other words, don't split one molex into 2.

Pliskin
03-12-05, 10:01 AM
I am using two seperate strings.

Between the incompatibilities with my Dell 2001FP DVI and these bogus insufficient power messages I'm having a hard time with my conversion from ATI to nVidia. :(

jj87
03-12-05, 11:35 AM
You could always try a reformat and have a clean installation. Remember, ati is the dark side of the force, they could still be in your computer playing games with you.

wheeljack12
03-12-05, 05:09 PM
here is something to use to check your system. It's made by a retailer,3dcool.com. I used it and I came up with being well over the 500watts mark. So, it will give you a idea of what is actually happening.

http://www.3dcool.com/PWC.asp

moshpit
03-12-05, 05:15 PM
YIKES!!!! According to that power calculator, my 520watt Aspire is near to the minimum recommended for my config. OUCH!! And I still have another 250Gb SATA HD to drop in there soon too...

Muppet
03-13-05, 01:09 AM
Just as a matter of interest were do you get the low power warning from, it's not in the stress test is it?

jAkUp
03-13-05, 02:22 AM
The PC P and Cooling is actually 650 watts peak power.

john19055
03-13-05, 06:54 AM
I would try a differennt power supply ,sometimes even the best can go bad ,I have a EVGA 6800ultra and I got that warning when I was running a Antec TruePowe 430w but after I got a new power supply I have not had that warning no more,But you have one of the best Power supplies out now,so it could be the power supply went bad and make sure all of your power connection are tight.

Pliskin
03-14-05, 10:01 AM
Though it is possible that my 3 month old power supply has gone bad, I find it unlikely. I used to get the error with my old power supply. That is why I bought the 510w $200 PS from PC Power & Cooling. I haven't hard hardware problems like this since the early 90s. I hope I'm the only one.

wheeljack12
03-14-05, 07:20 PM
I am actually waiting for the PC power and Cooling 850 watt.

http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com/about/index_whatnew850.htm

jAkUp
03-14-05, 10:03 PM
I am actually waiting for the PC power and Cooling 850 watt.

http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com/about/index_whatnew850.htm

Nice! Make sure to post some pics :D

JoKeRr
03-14-05, 10:18 PM
here is something to use to check your system. It's made by a retailer,3dcool.com. I used it and I came up with being well over the 500watts mark. So, it will give you a idea of what is actually happening.

http://www.3dcool.com/PWC.asp

that calculator is soo bullcrap, it's soo inflated just so that they can sell bigger PSUs. :thumbdwn: