PDA

View Full Version : Chieftec 420 W & GF 6800 Ultra


NaAZoOR
03-13-05, 06:50 AM
hi guys ...

it's my first post here ..

i'm thinking of buying a 6800 Ultra but some friends warned me that my PSU CHIEFTEC 420 W (12v ---> 18A) 'll not be enough for this card !!
so is it true or my PSU 'll do a good job with card ???

and whether u recommed me the Ultra or the GT plz attach ur recommendations for the Brands.

regards

NightFire
03-13-05, 07:45 AM
Looking at your specs, I think you'll be okay with your current PSU. But, then again, I'm not really an expert in the matter.

NaAZoOR
03-13-05, 07:58 AM
according to this link

http://www.3dcool.com/PWC.asp

if i got the 6800 Ultra i'll need 442 W while mine is 420 W ...!!

But with this link

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

i found that it 'll be 349 W required.

i calculate the Watts of all components & i found it = 349

AXP 3200+ = 77 W
6800 U = 110 W
mem = 20 W
HDDS = 50 W
DVD-ROM = 25 W
CD-RW = 20 W
Modem = 4 W
2x80m Fan = 4 W
1 Lighted F= 3 W
MB/Mouse/KB/Floppy/CPU Fan = 36 W

so the whole thing is 349 W

i'm confused ..

TeaEtchSee
03-13-05, 09:12 AM
500w power supplies are dirt cheap now...here in FL, a shop called cheapguys sells it for $30

unless u get the once with nice connectors like mine :)

NaAZoOR
03-14-05, 01:08 AM
up guys ...

bkswaney
03-14-05, 01:47 AM
I think the ultra calls for 20a 12volt rails
and the GT is 18a.

So u might get by with it.
I would try it before I spent
the $ on a new one.

NaAZoOR
04-12-05, 11:39 AM
some friend of mine have ANTEC 300W with +12V --->18A PSU and got the 6800 Ultra
and it working good ... but he told me that if he added HDD or DVD-rom , etc .. the PC freezes , also he told me that the reason of that that he got only 300 W psu , while mine is Chieftec 420W, and it should work good with it without problems even with my (+12V--->18A) .. so what do u think ??? 'll it run without problems ??? ( my PC spec. is listed as signature).
i ask cause i'm in egypt and i'll got it from Canada , so i can't change it if i got it already.
plz help

H-street
04-12-05, 12:32 PM
last year sometime (may i believe) they lowered the power requirements from 480 to a "quality" 350W PSU..

so far all i am able to find is that if you just use the bare minimum PSU there is no room for OCing..

as long as you don't plan to push the system i would say you are probably fine.


Requirements
Minimum of a 350 Watt power supply.
Two available 4-pin Molex hard drive power dongles




On Wednesday, an Nvidia spokesman confirmed reports that the company had fine-tuned the chip's power requirements, and only one power connector will be needed by users who wish to run the chip in normal operation. However, overclocking the GPU will still require the use of the additional connector.

Instead of a 480-watt power supply, users can use a quality 350-watt power supply, Nvidia is now specifying.

NaAZoOR
04-12-05, 01:04 PM
thx alot , if any one have any thing to say ... i'm all ears :)

ViN86
04-12-05, 01:22 PM
usually a certain amount of Amps on the 12V rail is required. this is listed on the side of the PSU. if you can find out what the required ampage is for the 6800 Ultra, then you will know ;)

also, you could go with the ultra and then check your 12V line via a program that monitors the voltage and as long as your voltage is above 11.6 (some say more, others say less) then it should be fine.

another alternative is the 6800GT, which in most cases will OC to ultra speeds and claims to only require a 350W PSU. ;)

Salamandar
04-12-05, 03:07 PM
Look at my specs, you can see I have the same power Supply you are talking about coupled with 3 HDs, DVD burner and a Liteon CD burner.
Works like charm.
I also should add that I have 2 120mm fans in my case too.

Awesome power supply.

aZn_plyR
04-12-05, 05:49 PM
well...if chieftec made thier psu anything like they made thier wannabe antec plsuview case..then no hehe it'll probably blow up and take ur ultra with it...but someone tell me I am an idiot and wrong

BornAgainPagan
04-13-05, 12:35 AM
A couple of days after I got this BFG 6800GT OC, it started running strange so I called BFG support. After about half an hour of checking out my system, the tech narrowed it down to my ThermalTake Silent Purepower 460 Watt PSU, it seems after adding up everything that was running CPU, MB, 6 sticks RAM, 6 HD's, Sound Card, 2 optical drives, 3 80 mm fans......etc. I was coming very close to exceeding the output of the PSU, so I went with a MadDog 550 wat PSU, and haven't had any problems since. So I'm thinking the more POWER the better. I think I want one of these for next comp. 850 watts of SLI power Woohoo http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com/about/index_whatnew.htm

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
P4 3.4 Ghz Prescott, BFG 6800GT OC 256 MB, Gigabyte GA-8KNXP, 2 Gb Kingston HyperX PC 3200 Memory @ 2,3,3,7, Audigy 2 ZS sound, Logitech Z-640 speakers, 720 Gb of storage on 6 harddrives - 4 on RAID controllers, Lite-on SOHW 1633S DVD/CD Burner, LG DVD drive, 550 watt PSU, Viewsonic G220f 21 in. Monitor @1600x1200

mustrum
04-13-05, 04:19 AM
@Born: But you use a Prescott!!!! :eek:
:thumbdwn:
:angel:

saturnotaku
04-13-05, 06:10 AM
@Born: But you use a Prescott!!!! :eek:

Not only that, the Thermaltake PSU he references puts out a paltry 15A on the +12v line. Trying to run all that junk off it, no wonder there were problems.

Salamandar
04-13-05, 10:02 AM
well...if chieftec made thier psu anything like they made thier wannabe antec plsuview case..then no hehe it'll probably blow up and take ur ultra with it...but someone tell me I am an idiot and wrong
who said that antec designed their cases any way, if you search the internet you'll find that there are many manufacturer that use the same case in a def. name.
That doesn't make chieftec any wannabe nore make antec the hero of the day.

Strahd
04-13-05, 06:09 PM
hi guys ...

it's my first post here ..

i'm thinking of buying a 6800 Ultra but some friends warned me that my PSU CHIEFTEC 420 W (12v ---> 18A) 'll not be enough for this card !!
so is it true or my PSU 'll do a good job with card ???

and whether u recommed me the Ultra or the GT plz attach ur recommendations for the Brands.

regards

In my opinion you have 18A on your 12v line but you have 2 hard drives, a DVD and a CDROM that uses that 12v line right now. Getting a 6800GT requires 2 molex connectors each using the 12v. Now granted your CDROM/DVD is not constantly running but it might become an issue when you do try to use them.

I personally would have to suggest a better power supply. Atleast 500w also.

Salamandar
04-13-05, 11:59 PM
yes a big PSU is always better, but a good quality 420 PSU like the chieftec is a good choice.

aZn_plyR
04-14-05, 12:02 AM
In my opinion you have 18A on your 12v line but you have 2 hard drives, a DVD and a CDROM that uses that 12v line right now. Getting a 6800GT requires 2 molex connectors each using the 12v. Now granted your CDROM/DVD is not constantly running but it might become an issue when you do try to use them.

I personally would have to suggest a better power supply. Atleast 500w also.

the 6800Ultra uses two molex..the 6800gt uses one

jAkUp
04-14-05, 01:02 AM
Yes a GT uses one connector.

As for the original question, you should be fine with the 18a on the +12v rail, but it is cutting it a little close. If you wanna get a new PSU shoot for one with at least 24a on the +12v rail. Try to stick to a high quality also... (PCP&C, Antec, OCZ etc.)

1337_Like_ThaT
04-14-05, 01:05 AM
If you want to stay on the budget side, go with an Xconnect Power Supply. They have solid rails and look very clean as well at time same time of not being too expensive

BornAgainPagan
04-14-05, 10:59 PM
@Born: But you use a Prescott!!!! :eek:
:thumbdwn:
:angel:

:o lol, I will correct that when I build my next comp, An SLI setup is looking mighty sweet. :D