PDA

View Full Version : Please Please Help A novice - want a 6800GT?

scotton1982
03-14-05, 06:58 AM
Hey All,

Look I need some help in regards to upgrading to a new graphics card. I am currently running a GeForce FX5200 which is older than the Hills. I am looking to upgrade to a 6800GT, could someone tell me is it easy to fit & what is the minimum computer spec I should be using? If I need to ill just buy a new comp.

Ill get my computer spec up later to help out,

Thanks all,

"NOVICE"

superklye
03-14-05, 07:10 AM
Yeah, get your specs up, first...that'll help out a lot.

scotton1982
03-14-05, 07:12 AM
Hey,
In regards to my specs is there an easy way to get all the specs, I can find my processor and memory but what about power supply and motherboard type as I believe some cards may not fit, any help to find the full spec on my PC would be much apreciated,

Oh yes I am a NOVICE Indeed

TeaEtchSee
03-14-05, 09:42 AM
if u have 8x AGP and a strong power supply (400w atleast)

then your good to go..

to be safer get a 6600gt if u want...youll still see a big difference from you 5200fx

crayzboost
03-14-05, 11:18 AM
you can use sisoft sandra or everest to find full pc specs, do a search on them they are pretty easy to find..

mustrum
03-15-05, 06:21 AM
For powersupply info you need to look at it and read the specs. Die Amps on the 12 V Rail are very important. If it reads 18A or more you're on the safe side with a 6800GT.

scotton1982
03-15-05, 08:13 AM
Oh Yeah Baby,

Novice I may be, but gutsy I am, just ordered a new Inno 3D 6800 GT and new 500w Power Supply!! Along with a custom case and I am gonna build a beast of a machine, LEDs the works, I AM MAD!

Just hope I dont F*ck it up!

Adam "NUTS"

mustrum
03-15-05, 09:19 AM
Oh Yeah Baby,

Novice I may be, but gutsy I am, just ordered a new Inno 3D 6800 GT and new 500w Power Supply!! Along with a custom case and I am gonna build a beast of a machine, LEDs the works, I AM MAD!

Adam "NUTS"