PDA

View Full Version : Joining the 64 club


Rummy
03-16-05, 10:57 AM
Will be upgrading in the next month.
Current specs
2500 barton @ 3200 Speeds
shuttle an35n ultra
i gig kingston pc 2700
evga 6800 gt
seagate 80 gig 7200
new specs
k8n neo plat
amd 3400 754
i gig crucial pc 3200 single sided dimms
Do you think it is worth going to 754 or should i go 939 since im keeping my 6800 gt? I have not looked at 939 too much.

Gator
03-16-05, 12:55 PM
Well there is a much wider selection of S754 motherboards, however you may regret it later. If you get a S939 motherboard with AGP port, and then in the future a new PCIE video card comes out that you want, you would only need to replace the motherboard. But if you go S754 and want a PCIE video card in the future, you MAY have to replace the motherboard AND cpu. Now rumor has it Asus is working on a S754 PCIE motherboard, but I have yet to see it for sale. Unless you are on a strict budget, the S939 is a safer purchase for upgradeability.

Rummy
03-16-05, 01:05 PM
Thanks for your reply. Could you recommend a 939 board. I have been doing some research on 939 and a lot of people are complaining about the neo2, too many problems. I would like nforce. Does dfi have a agp 939 board? I haven't seen one around. How do you like your board? i see gig has a k8ns ultra 939 would that be a good board?

Gator
03-16-05, 01:43 PM
Well I have the Gigabyte S754 K8NS Pro, and it's excellent. But my friend built a machine with the Gigabyte S939 K8NS Pro Ultra and he had some problems. I can't comfortably recommend that board. In fact there are limited choices for S939 AGP, so I can't recommend anything at the moment, sorry :(

Rummy
03-16-05, 01:48 PM
Thanks anyway> I did google the gig board and found a lot of people compaining about it. The k8ns ultra. I think i will stick with 754 for right now i will be able to upgrade in a year or so to pci-e. car payments both finished at the end of the year. i will look into a better board> I see a lot of people complaining with the neo plat. maybe i will just get the board you have and the 3400. i will be getting the ocz power something psu the 450. should that be enough?

Rummy
03-16-05, 01:53 PM
Im sorry but could you provide a link for you ram on newegg so i could check it out thanks. :)

Gator
03-16-05, 01:59 PM
OCZ450 should be good enough

If it makes you feel better, it appears there will be a S754 PCIE motherboard in the future, so you wouldn't have to change your CPU to get PCIE :)

http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l1=3&l2=14&l3=0&model=454&modelmenu=1

There is also an affordable Epox S939 AGP Nforce3Ultra board, but I've never owned Epox myself so I can't speak on their behalf. :(

And although I hate VIA chipsets, I've heard only good things about the Asus A8V if you wanna give that a shot
http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/socket939/a8v-d/overview.htm

And finally there is another alternative, an SIS based motherboard. Affordable and reliable, but not particular feature rich.
http://www.foxconnchannel.com/redesign/products_motherboard_2.cfm?pName=755FXK8AA-8EKRS%3Cbr%3EAlso%20known%20as%20K8S755FXA-8EKRS

Gator
03-16-05, 02:02 PM
Im sorry but could you provide a link for you ram on newegg so i could check it out thanks. :)

You don't want my RAM. I like Crucial for their quality, that's why I buy them. But fact is Athlon64 likes lower CAS memory, and mine is only CAS3. You would be better off getting 1gig Corsair Value RAM with CAS2.5 for only $100, it's a hell of a bargin and quality memory as well!
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproductdesc.asp?description=20-145-440&DEPA=0

Rummy
03-16-05, 02:14 PM
Cool Ill get that ram. This is the ram i was looking at.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-541&depa=1
I was getting 2 of these i think they are single sided.
that ram u linked does it work at 400 with 2 dimms on 754?

Gator
03-16-05, 02:32 PM
Cool Ill get that ram. This is the ram i was looking at.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-541&depa=1
I was getting 2 of these i think they are single sided.
that ram u linked does it work at 400 with 2 dimms on 754?

The RAM you were looking at is what I have. It's quality stuff, but simply not nearly as good a deal as the Corsair I linked, and the Corsair is faster (lower CAS).

Yes the Corsair will work fine at 400mhz with 2 dimms on 754.

superklye
03-16-05, 02:58 PM
From what I understand, the Epox EP-9NDA3J is one of the best nFORCE3 Ultra boards out there. It's socket 939 and is not a PCIe board.

It's also the board I'm going to get. Hopefully. If my parents get it for me for my birthday, I'll have it in about 2.5 weeks. Then I'll just have to get a Winchester 3000+ and bam, I've got an A64 system with 1GB PC3200 and a 6800GT. BOO YA.

EDIT: And the Epox EP-9NDA3J is endorsed by our very own zoomy942. He convinced me to take that route.

And for the time being, I really think that the nF3 route is the one you want to take. SLi is still in its infancy, still with lots of bugs and quirks and not a TON of support (yet), plus, it's pricey as hell. I want the technology to mature for at least a generation before I plunk down any serious cash on it.

Gator
03-16-05, 03:10 PM
... the Epox EP-9NDA3J is endorsed by our very own zoomy942. He convinced me to take that route...

I think Superklye is right. Although S754 is pretty damn fast, S939 does make more sense. I wasn't sure if the Epox was a good board, but Zoomy942 knows his stuff and if he uses it and likes it then it gets my vote too :thumbsup:

Greg
03-16-05, 06:34 PM
I used to recommend 754 for price/performance, and own one myself, but not anymore, its 939 time now. I am not sure of availability of boards with AGP and PCIE to help with the Geforce. If you plan to upgrade again after 12months, it might still be worth getting a 754. The dual channel memory controller with 939 is hardly worth the extra cost if you're only going A64 3400, and the PCIE doesn't offer real world gains at present. You should still get a significant performance increase on your current system even though you've OCed that old CPU quite well.

nrs421
03-16-05, 08:48 PM
if you can find it go with the epox....i had the gigabyte but returned it for the epox and have had no problems with it at all...

Rummy
03-17-05, 02:58 AM
Wow, thanks for all your responses . I really appreciate it. I was looking at that epox board and it has a lot of good feedback except for the sata ports being to close to the agp slot. I suppose i will go 939 and get the 3200 so i will have the 10 multi. Thanks again for everyones help. I was really not sure if i should make the jump,but you people convinced me.

gator: That ram you linked will that work with the 939 board as well or should i get some different ram?

What would be some ram where i could get 250fsb so i could get to 2.5 hopefully?

rflair
03-17-05, 08:36 AM
RAM on A64 systems leaves two ways of thought to choose from. People have found that good quality RAM running tighter timings (i.e. 200mhz 2-2-2-5) actually performs better in real world applications compared to RAM running a higher frequency but looser timings (i.e. 250mhz 3-3-3-5). This is beacuse of the A64's on die memory controller and shorter cache piepline, which show a highly effiecient route between a short cache pipeline and fast memoery access.

The best of both worlds would be RAM with tight timings and a high frequency, priecy stuff.

Also in games, on A64 setups its been shown that cheap RAM has a minimal hit in performance.

Gator
03-17-05, 10:41 AM
...gator: That ram you linked will that work with the 939 board as well or should i get some different ram?

What would be some ram where i could get 250fsb so i could get to 2.5 hopefully?

Both the Crucial and Corsair memory will work fine with S939, however if you want 250fsb and 2.5cas that's a pretty tall order. If you want memory capable of that speed you'll want PC4000 DDR500

2 x 512mb Crucial Blastix PC4000 DDR500
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-547&depa=0

or one of these packages:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-144-517&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-141-138&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-845&depa=0

of these choices, I like Crucial Blastix the best

Rummy
03-22-05, 11:13 PM
Ok decided on the epox board and a 3200 939 and the geil ram as well. One more question. I want to go sata have never done that. I hear that the sata ports are close to the agp slot and might not fit with my gt. is this true. And assist me in finding a good sata drive preferably only 40gig or so thanks.

Gator
03-23-05, 11:41 AM
As long as you don't have a huge ass NV5 silencer cooler on your 6800GT you should be fine with the SATA position.

As for SATA hard drives, anything by WD or Seagate with 8meg cache and 7200rpm should be fine for your needs. If you wanna spend even more for slightly better performance, you could get a WD Raptor 74gig 10,000rpm drive, but make sure you place a cooling fan directly blowing on it. But get at least 80gigs, I promise you'll find 40gigs to be too cramp if you plan to install any games. Even 80gigs is kinda pushing it.

Seagate 80gig 7200rpm 8mb cache with NCQ - $70
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-148-040&depa=0

Seagate 200gig 7200rpm 8mb cache - $125
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-148-033&depa=0

WD Raptor 36gig 10,000rpm 8mb cache - $119
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-200&depa=0

WD Raptor 74gig 10,000rpm 8mb cache - $178
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=22-144-160&depa=0

Rummy
03-23-05, 12:13 PM
I have an 80 gig seagate right now and i don't use over 20 gig so i thinkk a 40 should suffice thanks. i was looking at that drive what is ncq? As for my gt it is evga with stock cooler. i should be ok

Gator
03-23-05, 12:21 PM
I have an 80 gig seagate right now and i don't use over 20 gig so i thinkk a 40 should suffice thanks. i was looking at that drive what is ncq? As for my gt it is evga with stock cooler. i should be ok

Stock EVGA 6800GT should be fine yes.

NCQ makes it a little faster is all.
http://www.seagate.com/products/interface/sata/native.html
Native Command Queuing (NCQ) is a command protocol for SATA that makes it possible to have several outstanding commands within a drive at the same time.

In simple terms, NCQ functioning is somewhat similar to an elevator. The elevator travels sequentially from floor to floor and lets people on and off. It does not follow the sequence in which users push the floor request buttons, because that would mean an excessive mechanical load and much longer times for waiting or riding.

A SATA drive that supports NCQ has an internal queue in which commands can be dynamically rescheduled and reordered. NCQ includes a tracking mechanism for both outstanding and completed portions of the drive workload. In addition, NCQ can let the host issue additional commands to the drive while the drive looks for another command.

Go for the 80gig Seagate, I promise you'll regret it if you get any less than that ;)

Rummy
03-23-05, 12:29 PM
Alright you talked me in to it. I will get the 80 gig. Thanks for all your help GATOR. I will repost in a couple of weeks when i get my stuff.