PDA

View Full Version : "Understanding the Cell Microprocessor" - Anandtech

brady
03-19-05, 06:18 PM
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2379

anyone else read this article? very interesting. im very excited about the new consoles even though i favor pc gaming, although, after reading this article i wondered if sony is going to go dig themselves into a hole.

it seamed that they were saying that coding for the cell is going to be very different from coding for the pc or xbox2. to me that means that if there are cross platform ports they will cost a fortune because very little code gets to be re-used.

any thoughts?

Greg
03-19-05, 07:14 PM
As a programmer, I'm highly skeptical of the Sony hardware. It appears that (as usual), Sony is focusing on hardware, while MS is focusing on software. Years ago, I used to do lots of low level coding, and enjoyed it. These days, I don't care for lengthly periods of low level optimization, or driver writing. I figure, let the people who made the hardware write the best driver and let me write some cool game to use it. I want hardware designed with the programmer in mind, not some theoretical amazing performance.

Something that can save wacky architecture is good tools. For example, if the machine requires geometry to be split into tiny chunks for processing (like PS2), give me tools to do that as a off line pre process. If the CPU is fussy just to get reasonable performance, give me a good optimizing compiler to do most of the work for me. The problem is, robust flexible tools are a lot of work, and a good optimizing compiler is amazingly difficult to make. Sonys track record for quality tools including compiler is lacking.