PDA

View Full Version : Coolbits OC's 6600 to 509 but fails test at 511??


dazed343
03-23-05, 11:29 PM
I got my 6600 non-GT to 509 core and 600 mem. My problem is whenever I try and push coolbits to 511mhz, the test comes back as failed. At 509 I can run all my games and 3Dmark with no artifacts so how come it fails at 511? Also I tried using Rivatuner to disable that test but I must be selecting something wrong because it never works for me. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

saturnotaku
03-24-05, 07:15 AM
Because maybe at 509 you're absolutely pushing the upper limits of what your video card can tolerate.

911medic
03-24-05, 07:25 AM
You've OC'd your core more than 200MHz (>66%), and you're wondering why it won't OC more? How high do you expect it to go?

dazed343
03-24-05, 08:58 AM
Well.. I was hoping for maybe 550 or 600 on the core. But you guys havn't answered my questions because if I can run Brother in Arms and Halflife 2 for hours on end at those 500/600 speeds, why the heck won't Coolbits let it do 501. It sometimes actually fails at 501 but I finally got it to 509 but it stops there. I was told to use Rivatuner to disable the coolbits test but I doesn't work.

saturnotaku
03-24-05, 09:07 AM
I did answer your question - you've already pushed the limits of how high your card can go. This happens all the time where some clock speeds will work and others won't. You're just going to have to live with your 66% overclock. Whatever will you do? :rolleyes:

Superfly
03-24-05, 09:35 AM
lol

dazed343
03-24-05, 09:49 AM
You're just going to have to live with your 66% overclock. Whatever will you do? :rolleyes:

I guess it's safe to say Im not getting my 7000 3DMarks then eh :( and too think I was only 400 away.

The Asus came with a cheap hinksink and fan, but are there any you can reccoment that will fit onto the card to keep the core cooler?

Superfly
03-24-05, 09:56 AM
I doubt your problem is cooling - as Sat said your card is simply at its limit now.

let it go dude.

mike2h
03-24-05, 10:42 AM
you could try zalman cu, but as stated above, i think you have reached your limit.

911medic
03-24-05, 10:52 AM
I guess it's safe to say Im not getting my 7000 3DMarks then eh :( and too think I was only 400 away.

The Asus came with a cheap hinksink and fan, but are there any you can reccoment that will fit onto the card to keep the core cooler?If getting 7000 3DMarks is that important to you, you should've bought a GT.
As far as cooling goes, did your card come with the temp monitoring enabled? If not you can enable it with a BIOS setting change (at your own risk, of course). Google "6600 enable temp monitor" for how to do this. Then you can check your temps before you go investing in better cooling.

SLippe
03-24-05, 01:43 PM
Your card has to stop oc'ing somewhere, if not, then wouldn't we all have it maxed out? Anyone think changing out that Celeron would help? *shrugs*

Superfly
03-24-05, 04:20 PM
yup on the celeron

J-Mag
03-24-05, 04:52 PM
if you really want to get past the internal test with coolbits, then disable it with rivatuner... then you can clock it at whatever you want....

$n][pErMan
03-24-05, 05:33 PM
Your limit is your CPU now... be happy with your OC... thats pretty good for a 6600 non-GT if I recall. The key to OC'ing is knowing when you have pushed the limit.. back off slightly and be happy your getting more for free. ;)

nas82
03-27-05, 01:33 PM
Just to let you know, Coolbits does not work correctly with Asus cards.

I have the 6800GT 256mb version of their card, and i can hardly overclock it and it fails the test with coolbits.

But if i use Rivatuner or Asus's software, i can overclock really really good. So ditch the coolbits.