PDA

View Full Version : SLI question


bonchez
03-25-05, 12:29 AM
Ok. here's the deal. I'm going to start building a new computer soon, I was think about getting an SLI motherboard with a 6800GT. Later on down the road (and when I have more money) I will probably get another 6800GT. So, the question I am asking is can I use an SLI motherboard with one video card or do I have to have two?

PSYCHODAD
03-25-05, 12:33 AM
One card will work just fine, at least on the Asus board and probably any other sli board as well.

jAkUp
03-25-05, 12:37 AM
Yup. Any SLI mobo will work fine with just 1 card.

bonchez
03-25-05, 01:49 AM
Thanks guys. Right now I don't need 2 6800gt's nor do I have the money, but I do want the option to in the future.

circuitguy70
03-25-05, 02:02 AM
Please note;
If U get one now, remember to use 2 cards that they have to be from the same manufacture, and same type.
So pick a manufacture that will still be in business 6months down the road! :eek:

http://coolcars.smugmug.com/photos/18185188-M.jpg

SH64
03-25-05, 02:03 AM
& Just for more info . in the SLI mobo there will be a switch/jumpers to turn between SLI & single video card . in your case leave it @single until you get the other card later .
oh & pay attention to what circuitguy said !

Marcos
03-25-05, 06:36 AM
ugh digital spaghetti