PDA

View Full Version : Athlon 64 3500+ Venice super cool at -40C!!!


AthlonXP1800
03-25-05, 02:30 PM
At Xtreme Systems forum, PC Ice (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=57291&page=1&pp=25) received his brand new Athlon 64 3500+ Venice core CPU and found what bugs fixed since Winchester core, he found that Venice fixed temp bug and he managed to overclocked his 3500+ to 3GHz at... super cool -40C!!!! :eek:

This is very simple cooler unit PC Ice used that measured -40C when overclocked to 3GHz:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=27401

I got no idea what brand and model this cooler is, I guess it Air and Water cooler as mentioned in the Xtreme Systems forum.

$n][pErMan
03-25-05, 03:18 PM
At the cost of that cooling unit .. you could probably just buy the best CPU and still save money .. lol.

ragejg
03-25-05, 03:23 PM
Um, sniperman, yeah... point me to the nearest OEM Athlon64 4600...

/waves plastic

:p

$n][pErMan
03-25-05, 03:26 PM
Um, sniperman, yeah... point me to the nearest OEM Athlon64 4600...

/waves plastic

:p
Well you get what im trying to say! lol :p

Strahd
03-25-05, 03:26 PM
ROFL that is true there. But man does that thing look sweet!

superklye
03-25-05, 05:32 PM
The Venice cores are the ones that are multiplier locked, right?

AthlonXP1800
03-25-05, 07:21 PM
The Venice cores are the ones that are multiplier locked, right?

I guess so PC Ice using his phase change skills to overclocked it.

jAkUp
03-25-05, 09:21 PM
Thats a phase change unit, and thats only the unit. There is no picture of the tube, or the head. Anyways, thats an awesome overclock :D Overclocks that I could only dream about :D I almost bought one of those off a bud for about $400

Viral
03-25-05, 10:27 PM
The Venice cores are the ones that are multiplier locked, right?

Where did you read that? I hope you don't mean downward multipliers. :(

AthlonXP1800
03-26-05, 03:46 AM
Wow PC Ice now managed to reached 3.1GHz at default 1.4V. :angel:

jAkUp
03-26-05, 10:05 AM
Wow PC Ice now managed to reached 3.1GHz at default 1.4V. :angel:

Yea thats incredible for stock voltage :)

AthlonXP1800
03-28-05, 02:36 PM
Wow he now reached 3.3GHz at just above default 1.4V or I guess it still within default voltage:

http://img115.exs.cx/img115/9205/2754wx.jpg

That incredible 1.1GHz overclocked from default 2.2GHz clock speed, 3500+ at 2.2GHz, let see what 3.3GHz will give the performance like a... Athlon 64 5100+ with 512k L2 cache! :D

technews
03-29-05, 05:06 AM
3.3Ghz!

amazing work, post some benchmarks!

CaptNKILL
03-29-05, 08:25 AM
So when are we going to see these Venice cores in retail? As much as I want a 3000+ winchester, I could probably hold out a little longer if I could get something that overclocked a bunch more :)

I guess most of its OC potential could be from the phase change unit though... I want to see one of these OCed on air :)

AthlonXP1800
03-29-05, 06:08 PM
I think it will be in retail around 8 April 2005 when I read around some forums that many look forward to get one in the next 7 days time now.

Neova
03-30-05, 02:03 AM
And how much is the Phase Change unit and from where can I get one? Looks like a worth while investment, or worth while project to build! :D

I want to see that 3.3 GHZ AMD64 up against a P4EE 4GHZ!

circuitbreaker8
03-30-05, 10:07 AM
And how much is the Phase Change unit and from where can I get one? Looks like a worth while investment, or worth while project to build! :D

I want to see that 3.3 GHZ AMD64 up against a P4EE 4GHZ!

The P4 @ 4ghz doesn't have a CHANCE against the AMD @ 3.3ghz...heck my 3400 @ 2.5ghz rapes my freinds P4@3.95ghz

SLippe
03-30-05, 01:47 PM
AMD ownz.

AthlonXP1800
03-30-05, 06:36 PM
AMD ownz.

Yeah AMD all the way!!! :D

It pity AMD were no longer in pressure to release Athlon 64 5000+ original scheduled for 2005 because AMD no longer have real competition as Intel conceded defeated and pulled out of the race in 2004. :( Many Intel projects ended up in failure such as latest project Itanium's EPIC ported to x86 chip that could be Intel's saviour ended up in failure. Multi cores project may be Intel last chance to get it right, if they still cant get it right or not doing well beyond 2010 then Intel will exit CPU business and focus on other core business such as multimedia Intel drew the master plans a few years ago about what if Intel's CPU business are dooming in the future.

$n][pErMan
03-30-05, 06:58 PM
If intell gets out of the market tho .. things will develope slower because of lack of competition :( Even though I love AMD .. this would be bad!