PDA

View Full Version : 6800 GT SLI and 3dm 05 problem!!!


ninja44
03-28-05, 08:51 PM
Well the new rig is finally built and after my XP install I ran a few 3D benchmarks to see if there was a difference. Well going from a AGP 6800 GT to this SLI setup scored me 21900 in 3dm 03, single AGP score was 11900. Here is where the problem starts, in 3dm 05 I scored 5500 with my last nf3, 6800 GT setup. This new SLI setup scored me 2100! That's right 2100! I can't for the life of me figure out what is going on, it's almost funny! I'm using the Xtreme G 76.41's and
if anyone can figure out why please shed some light :confused:

PaiN
03-28-05, 09:01 PM
I know this won't help you much.....But welcome to the world of SLI :confused:

$n][pErMan
03-28-05, 09:09 PM
All that matters is how it works in games.... :)

jAkUp
03-28-05, 09:10 PM
Try the latest official nvidia drivers, also update your nforce drivers to the latest versions. check the load balancing bar option in the control panel to ensure that it is running in sli mode

ninja44
03-28-05, 09:30 PM
Well the GPU load balancing is split almost perfectly. I'm using the 6.53 driver package and the 76.41's. I just did another run and it seems that the "fairy" test slows to a serious crawl and shows 0 fps :confused: Jakup which vid drivers are you using?

SH64
03-28-05, 09:38 PM
Use the official 71.84 & see what happens .

jAkUp
03-28-05, 10:04 PM
I am using the official 71.84's

ninja44
03-29-05, 08:44 PM
Well the problem seemed to be the 71.84 and 76.41 drivers as my setup didn't like them at all. Every once in a while the screen would lock and I'd have to do a hard reset. I'm using the 76.10's now and I know they aren't as tweakable as the other 2 but at least it's stable lol. Now if nvidia would just hurry the hell up and release a stable driver then I'd be happier, I mean SLI has been available for a bit now and not 1 official driver :mad:

SH64
03-29-05, 09:11 PM
Strange because your setup looks like mine (DFI mobo , dual 6800GTs) & the 71.84s runnin' good for me .

sobo69
03-30-05, 03:55 AM
Seems there are problems with the 76.xx drivers, they do not score well, I have nothing but slowdowns (esp in UT2004) and trouble with them, no matter how much i have messed around with them,if you check out www.guru3d.com and try the 71.90's they might do the trick. You might wanna also reinstall your nforce drivers for your board, there are some beta's on the guru3d site for the nf4 board. Also make sure that in your global profile that you tick advanced and make sure its using multi GPU's.

Goodluck ;)

sandeep
03-30-05, 05:08 AM
Well the new rig is finally built and after my XP install I ran a few 3D benchmarks to see if there was a difference. Well going from a AGP 6800 GT to this SLI setup scored me 21900 in 3dm 03, single AGP score was 11900. Here is where the problem starts, in 3dm 05 I scored 5500 with my last nf3, 6800 GT setup. This new SLI setup scored me 2100! That's right 2100! I can't for the life of me figure out what is going on, it's almost funny! I'm using the Xtreme G 76.41's and
if anyone can figure out why please shed some light :confused:

Are running running your Leadteks with no overclocks?? What version BIOS do you have on them? Perhaps updating the BIOS might help!

Given the fact all other games work, and 3DMARK03 works as well, maybe its the BIOS problem....check your motherboard BIOS as well.

Open the case and blow a fan directly see if it works fine..cos throttling might cause that problem.

ninja44
03-30-05, 07:32 PM
Seems there are problems with the 76.xx drivers, they do not score well, I have nothing but slowdowns (esp in UT2004) and trouble with them, no matter how much i have messed around with them,if you check out www.guru3d.com and try the 71.90's they might do the trick. You might wanna also reinstall your nforce drivers for your board, there are some beta's on the guru3d site for the nf4 board. Also make sure that in your global profile that you tick advanced and make sure its using multi GPU's.

Goodluck ;)


Multi GPU's as in AFR or SFR? Temps are not an issue at all as they idle at 55 and full load at about 65. Lately upon a cold boot if I try to load any 3D app the system will hard lock. The only way to remedy this is to reboot, disable SKI, reboot and then enable SLI again :confused: I havr no clue what it could be. The only thing that I can think of at this point is the molex - PCI-e adapter on the second card. I only have one molex going to that adapter but it has a 2 split molex to PCI-e, might that cause a problem?

Charbo
03-31-05, 02:15 PM
yeah i was using the 76.xx drivers and my ut2k4 slowed down majorly:( also ninja i know that with no molex to the card i had a really crappy 3dmark05 score, then with 1 it was pretty nice but with 2 it is past 10k so yeah it does make some differance=/

ninja44
03-31-05, 10:12 PM
Thanks for all the input folks, much appreciated ;) This problem is killing me! I just got a brand new OCZ 520 from RMA and it's still going on! I tested each video card individually and they both run fine. This leaves the board as the only thing left to replace LOL! I just re formatted, so we'll see if this problem still persists.

ninja44
04-02-05, 12:07 AM
Is it possible that the SLI bridge/bracket could be defective?

ChrisRay
04-02-05, 12:10 AM
Try it without the connector. You dont need the connector to run SLI. Usually without the connector you lose about 15-20% performance give or take.

Dazz
04-02-05, 04:22 PM
With my SLI MSI 6800NU i gets 26k in 3Dmark 2001, 18k in 3Dmark 2003 and almost 9k in 3Dmark 2005, so something is well up. Also i have just ordered 2x ASUS 6800GT cards and with overclocking i am expecting atleast 11k in 3Dmark 2005.

SH64
04-02-05, 04:29 PM
Try it without the connector. You dont need the connector to run SLI. Usually without the connector you lose about 15-20% performance give or take.

Are you sure about that ? i think i read somewhere in THG that when removing the SLI bridge the screen started artifacting as the 2 video cards start to get out-of-sync with no bridge.
so it would cause a stability problem rather than performance drop , or is it not :confused: