PDA

View Full Version : Best OC settings for NF7-S v2.0 XP3000+ (200FSB)


Viffer5
04-01-05, 01:32 PM
Ok guys. I just got this board 2 days ago, fired it up and... it's unstable! :mad:

I'd like to run my chip @ 230FSB. Right now, anything higher than 220 acts wierd. I have upped the voltages but I have not yet been able to make a clean run through 3DMark05 yet.

My old crappy Asus A7V-600X was rock solid @220 but couldn't do 2 sticks of DDR400 so I had to run the mem @ 333 which sucked.

The board is bone stock, I'm running XP sp1 with all updates and Leadtek 6600GT. I'm running the 71.x drivers for the video and the card is happy @ 585MHzx1.07GHz (artifacts pop up with higher mem speed)

What I would like is some advice on any specific bios settings that I should use to get this rig above 2.4GHz.

I'm running a Swiftech watercooling setup and I'm willing to crank this puppy so I'm open to advice. Thnx.

_Thanatos_
04-01-05, 03:06 PM
Try with some unofficial BIOS.

Viffer5
04-01-05, 04:44 PM
What bios are you running and what are your clock + FSB @ Your sig. has some crazy numbers!?! :eek:

Viffer5
04-01-05, 10:47 PM
Ok, these are my settings

220FSB = Happy @

CPU=1.725v
Mem=2.7v
Chipset=1.7v

Load temps = 43C

3DMark05 = 3518 on a clean pass, no artifacts

223FSB = not happy @

CPU=1.875v
Mem=2.8v
Chipset=1.7v

no successful 3DMark05 score yet, load temps @44.5+C

mem timings = 11-4-4-3


Any advice besides go higher on the v until it's happy?!?

$n][pErMan
04-02-05, 02:34 AM
Its possible you have hit either your memory... CPU ... or mothboards max.

Viffer5
04-02-05, 11:29 AM
[pErMan']Its possible you have hit either your memory... CPU ... or mothboards max.

It's really wierd! My previous Asus K7V-600X had NO issues running 220FSB with 1 dimm. When I added the second dimm, it an only handle 333MHz on the ram. So I got my new Abit NF7-S v2.0 thinking cool, I can do 220FSB + and run both DIMMS at the higher FSB.

Well, this damn thing doesn't want to run stable at all. The Highest clock I can get it to and actually get a clean 3DMark05 score was 221MHz but I had to crank the voltage from 1.725 up past 2v to do it and it still wasn't very stable!

I'm running @ 210FSB right now because I want to run a memtest and Prime95 to check stability. Voltage is @ 1.75v, vdimm is 2.7v and chipset 1.7v. Memory timings are stock (5% overclock shouldn't need to be loosened up). I'm going to try some hacked bios next. This is really getting on my nerves!!!

_Thanatos_
04-02-05, 02:05 PM
My sig - crazy numbers ?!?!?! Where ?
A have T-Bred B 1700+, and it works on 166x13 on 1.625V (2166 is 2700+). This is enough, because I have Volcano 9 on 2000 RPM, and I don't want to use bigger voltage to get 200 FSB. Also, I don't like unoffficial BIOS, so I use official, but friend of mine using unofficial and it goes 'beyond' 230 quite stable. Advice. Don't run CPU&memory at different clock. I tried, and when I tested I saw very bad results in memory benchmark.

_Thanatos_
04-02-05, 02:23 PM
... and I forgot.... Try with MantaRaysXT BIOS...

Rytr
04-02-05, 02:55 PM
I suppose you have tried each stick of ram seperately?
BTW, I have an NF7-S w/ XP3000+. I get better overall performance with tight timings using AMD XP processors.

Viffer5
04-02-05, 10:18 PM
I suppose you have tried each stick of ram seperately?
BTW, I have an NF7-S w/ XP3000+. I get better overall performance with tight timings using AMD XP processors.

First off Thanatos, I thought you had it clocked to 2700MHz not PR rating, 2100MHz sounds more realistic.

My RAM is rated @ 200MHz and I had it running fine on my old board @ 220FSB with 2.5V with 9-4-4-3 timings. I ran it @ 8-3-3-2.5 and it was happy but I obviously couldn't clock it very high because of stability.


Ok, this is what I'm at right now:

221MHz FSB x 10.5 multi (locked) :mad:
83MHz AGP
1.8v-core
2.9vDimm
1.7vChipset
1.7vAGP

mem = 9-4-4-3, AUTO frequency

The bios reports it as 2310MHz, with 440FSB. See the pic for WCPUID scores.

3DMark05=3,633
AquaMark3=50,316
AMD Nbench=2,704

Leadtek 6600GT AGP is running happy @ 570MHz core, 1.11GHz ram @ 78C under full load.

System temps are around 43 idle, 46.5 or so under full load. I'm using a Swiftech water cooling system so that helps the numbers

My system is FINALY quiet (not silent by any means) and I'm getting reasonable performance where Doom3 plays nice @ 1280x1024 with 2x AA + 4x AF. I wish that I could crank the FSB up more to 225~230 but I think my 2 sticks of Kingston VR 400 DDR 3200 ram are holding me back.

I think I'll buy an XP 3000+ 333FSB and swap out my 400FSB chip and try for 200MHz when price drops a bit. With the 13x multi, it should do 2.6GHz and that should absolutely smoke my current rig @ 2.32GHz. If it doesn't work, I'll build another box with all my spares from this project! :eek:

Anything else I should be trying? I've spent about 20Hrs tweaking and I have about 5pages of notes documenting voltage/fsb settings. 223FSB would be nice and is only 2MHz away...

Rytr
04-02-05, 10:50 PM
I have the 400FSB model of the 3000+. Yes, I agree, I think your ram is holding you back.
Good luck!

Viffer5
04-03-05, 12:21 PM
Strange, on the Asus K7V-600X, it ran flawless @220MHz with 1 DIMM 512MB. Passed Prim95+memtest simultaneously. IT only gave me grief when I had 2 dimms in and ran it in DDR mode. I RMA'd the second stick, got it back and the same thing. I recently learned that the Asus board does not do DDR400, onl 333 so I ended up with the new Abit board.

The Abit board does DDR400 no issues @ 200MHZ, but I'm having issues @ 220 which was not a problem at all on the Asus. Right now, I'd be happy with a stable system even if it's just @ 217MHz. It crashed on me last night @221, and has not passed memtest or prime95 @ 220.

Would a hacked bios help out here? My only only other alternative would be to get another Athlon XP 3000+ but with the 166FSB and clock that to 200 which this memory handles fine.