PDA

View Full Version : BFG 6800 Ultra_OC: need driver help

99th_Flyby
04-03-05, 05:27 PM
Hi guys,
I recently retired my ATi 9500 pro, and bought the BFG 6800 Ultra_OC. I mainly game in combat flight sims (Forgotten Battles/Pacific Fighters, LOMAC). I'm currently using the drivers which came with the card, having tried the 71.84 (?) beta driver That driver caused me a few problems, like flashing and screenblackout, and .exe corruptionin both FB, and LOMAC. when the sim started.
I'm looking for feedback from combat flight simmers who have this card, and fly sims which use opengl and d3d.
my system is:
Abit IS7-e mobo (using onboard sound card set to basic accel)
1gig Kingston HyperX pc 3500
P4 2.8c (HT)
WinXP + SP2
Seagate 80gig/8bm buffer
TIR-3Pro w/Vector Expansion
any helpful feedback will be much appreciated. I am new to NVidia cards and as a flight simmer, I am feeling my way along

99th_Flyby
04-04-05, 05:38 PM
Anybody here even game in combat flight sims?

newls1
04-04-05, 06:32 PM
I think people aren't replying is because this topic is BEAT to death here.

rclenhardt
04-04-05, 07:44 PM
Anytime you switch from an ATI card to Nvidia, YOU MUST clean out ALL the old driver files. Using DriverCLeaner Pro. I am using the newer 76.41 drivers with excellant results. Also, be sure you check and install updated sound drivers if they are available.
Here are the steps I would take at this point.
1. Download and install DriveCleaner Pro and put an icon on the desktop.
2. Download the 76.41 Nvidia beta drivers and extract to file. (for example: C:\Nvidia7641) Once you've downloaded both files, unplug your modem or DSL to prevent windows from installing drivers off the net upon re-booting the computer.
3. Uninstall the current Nvidia drivers from the Control Panel Add/Remove
4. Reboot the computer into Safe Mode. Do not install the Nvidia drivers yet, simply cancel out of any attempt to install the driver.