PDA

View Full Version : FFS Just re-installed Farcry and it still does it!!


Superfly
04-10-05, 02:52 PM
OK - hav'nt played FarCry since the stuttering started (after 67.66 I believe) and thought I'd re-install it today as this bug is so old it was bound to be fixed......

oh dear, how wrong was I!!! it's just as bad and just as annoying as it was the 1st time.

seriously cant we do something about this? - Im off to NVD to fill out ANOTHER bug report - Electronic Punk, dude you must be able to help ot with this one mate???

come on guys can we pull resources and get this fixed.

thx - I look forward to your reply's.

Electronic Punk
04-10-05, 02:56 PM
I guess you patched it up and stuff?

Superfly
04-10-05, 06:28 PM
yeh its all patched up - v 1.31

using FW 71.89 on XP SP2.

its the short pause/stutter when you fire or when an explosion goes off.

radial
04-10-05, 06:29 PM
I used to have stuttering in FarCry, but removing the gpu overclock solved all my problems. I havent seen stuttering since 61.77. Are you overclocking that card? Imo it's not a bug in the game or the drivers.

Optimummind
04-10-05, 06:43 PM
Hmm, I've never experienced any stutters and I've played that game using these drivers:

61.77, 65.73, 66.93, 67.02, 67.03, 71.81, 71.84, 75.90, 76.10, 76.41

Superfly
04-10-05, 06:43 PM
no O/C on the card

radial
04-10-05, 06:48 PM
Looks like you are overclocking that cpu you have there, or what? Have you tried running FarCry without it? And what about the usual stuff like background programs, defragmentation, malware etc?

Acid Rain
04-10-05, 08:34 PM
Additionally, are you referring to the initial hitch when you fire your weapon, after loading the game, or are you saying it hitches every single time you pop off a round?

Mine has always hitched briefly after the first round, but it's only the first round. I started just popping off a quick one before I got going. Worked like a charm.

Another oddity is that, using the nForce 2 audio, I eliminated some hitching I had with a bad-ass map I made by enabling HW mixing and EAX. My map is extremely well balanced for a constant 30+ FPS (when run on a 6800GT) and almost creepily real environments (quite proud of it actually) and at first the hitching was utterly destroying my meticulous balancing work. Don't know why, but EAX enabled did the trick.

ssj4goku887
04-10-05, 08:44 PM
wrong topic lmao.

lowdog
04-11-05, 01:25 AM
Yeah I only get the pause/stutter/lag thingy after initially loading the game and firing off the first round, after that tis smooth as silk @ 1600x1200 all settings max quality.

macatak
04-11-05, 02:11 AM
This article explains what Superfly is talking about, read the section on Hitches, Pausing,Hiccups!
http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Njc4LDM=

ps, i found the only way to get rid of the pauses(completely) was to install driver version 61.76(non-DX 9.0c), you do lose a few FPS but it's so much better to play without the #%*@!*%$@ pauses :)

lowdog
04-11-05, 02:15 AM
The 76.44 drivers give quite a substantial preformance boost in Far Cry. :D

Toss3
04-11-05, 03:08 AM
I'm getting the same stutter in Counter-Strike. It's got to do with the nvidia drivers not being compatible with the audigy ones. Cuz' I get no stutter when I don't use my soundcard. It's getting really annoying and I get it both with and without FW and with no OC'.

radial
04-11-05, 04:13 AM
I'm getting the same stutter in Counter-Strike. It's got to do with the nvidia drivers not being compatible with the audigy ones. Cuz' I get no stutter when I don't use my soundcard. It's getting really annoying and I get it both with and without FW and with no OC'.

I don't have any such problems no matter what Forceware drivers I use along the Audigy drivers, so I fail to see the connection.

Superfly
04-11-05, 02:02 PM
Nah its not sound I've tried all sorts of configs. also using "old" drivers fixes it.

having played it through for a while today I can say it IS much better than I remember when the 7x.xx series drivers 1st came out - its still not fixed properly though.

there is a slight pause when 1st using a weapon following a load - and the occasional pause when shooting or blowing thing up.

saumilsingh
04-11-05, 07:06 PM
I get the pause when blowing up barrels and generators.
You guys saying installing the 67.66 set will completely remove that?

Superfly
04-12-05, 03:28 AM
^^ yup u got it.

Electronic Punk
04-12-05, 07:06 AM
Runs lovely here, will keep trying to break stuff.