PDA

View Full Version : AMD DDR2 Platform


GeekGirl
04-10-05, 10:44 PM
Any word on when we will see AMD DDR2 mobos? Seems with the way the speed of these memory chips is increasing, DDR2 looks to be the best choice for new memory purchases these days.

superklye
04-10-05, 10:46 PM
nFORCE 6 probably (since nFORCE 5 is for P4, right?)

Viral
04-11-05, 12:03 AM
http://www.c627627.com/AMD/Athlon64/

Scroll down. Rumor has it that socket M2 will bring DDR-II 667 to a dual core only Athlon range in Q2 2006.

DDR-II would be the memory choice if a) it had lower latency, and b) a chipset/CPU supported it to run in a 1:1 ratio at higher speeds.

Corsair have just released some nice DDR-II 667 with fairly low latency, but I don't think AMD want to switch over until it will benefit their performance greatly, give their customers an affordable upgrade path, and doesn't leave a relatively new socket out in the cold (S939).

Viral
04-11-05, 12:04 AM
nFORCE 6 probably (since nFORCE 5 is for P4, right?)

P4 uses nforce 4 too. nForce 5 should be the next gen nVidia chipset for both platforms.

GeekGirl
04-11-05, 12:29 AM
http://www.c627627.com/AMD/Athlon64/

Scroll down. Rumor has it that socket M2 will bring DDR-II 667 to a dual core only Athlon range in Q2 2006.

DDR-II would be the memory choice if a) it had lower latency, and b) a chipset/CPU supported it to run in a 1:1 ratio at higher speeds.

Corsair have just released some nice DDR-II 667 with fairly low latency, but I don't think AMD want to switch over until it will benefit their performance greatly, give their customers an affordable upgrade path, and doesn't leave a relatively new socket out in the cold (S939).

Saw some DDR2 800Mhz stuff too.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/memory/display/20050408011945.html

jAkUp
04-11-05, 01:06 AM
I read an interview that AMD plans to skip DDR2 entirely, and shoot for DDR3 rated memory

1337_Like_ThaT
04-11-05, 02:00 AM
I read an interview that AMD plans to skip DDR2 entirely, and shoot for DDR3 rated memory

That plan sounds good to me, figuring we already have OCZ DDR (1) 600mhz :eek:

rohit
04-11-05, 03:34 AM
y wuld u wanna get ddr2? wen so many reviews prove its performance is as good as the ddr-I 400. and in some cases it performs marginally over the ddr400.

btw, ddr600 will run with the current mobo's?

Marcos
04-11-05, 09:26 AM
i dont want ddr2 i want socket 939 to stick around for a while

wEEt
04-11-05, 10:03 AM
I've got a PC Games Hardware lying in front of me. There's an interview with John Crank (Athlon 64 Product Manager) in it. He says that one would need at least DDR2-667 to archieve better performance than nowadays. As soon as DDR-2 becomes cheaper, AMD will release a new socket. We'll see that in Q2/2006.

jAkUp
04-11-05, 10:11 AM
The latency needs to improve on DDR2, once they do that DDR2 will be a faster option, Intel jumped the gun on memory. Its not ready yet.

Riptide
04-11-05, 10:19 AM
AMD64 CPUs just aren't as memory bandwidth dependent as the P4. That is partly why there hasn't been a big push to adopt anything over PC3200.

FraGTastiK
04-11-05, 01:19 PM
AFAIK OCZ's DDR600 (made for the world champ DFI-nF4)is not made of TCCDs,speculations are that they have improved or new Winbond chips on,OCz is not giving away the brand name.

I agree with jACKup,by the time(if ever) DDR2 gets down to such low latencies to be useful on AMD chips,DDR3 will be there with much better technical specs to be AMD's choice,so its logical for AMD to skip DDR2,if they dont decide to surprise us.

Rakeesh
04-11-05, 02:02 PM
FWIW, The latency on DDR2 chips is the same as DDR chips. The reason you see higher numbers is because DDR2 has two read cycles. E.g. CAS4 on DDR2 is the same as CAS2 on DDR memory. Likewise, you'll probably see CAS6 on DDR3 memory chips, but it doesn't mean that the latency is worse.

The reason I went DDR2 myself was entirely due to my new motherboard requiring it. I got a kit (cpu/mobo comb) which normally retails at $600 for $200. :P

jAkUp
04-11-05, 02:28 PM
FWIW, The latency on DDR2 chips is the same as DDR chips. The reason you see higher numbers is because DDR2 has two read cycles. E.g. CAS4 on DDR2 is the same as CAS2 on DDR memory. Likewise, you'll probably see CAS6 on DDR3 memory chips, but it doesn't mean that the latency is worse.

Then why is DDR2 533mhz, getting about the same scores as a DDR400 module? Every review I have read says that the latency are comparable, and the higher clocks make up the latency difference, that is why the benchmarks are rougly the same.

DDR1 400 vs DDR2 533
http://www.overclockercafe.com/Articles/DDR_vs_DDR2/index.htm

http://www.overclockercafe.com/Articles/DDR_vs_DDR2/pg_3.h1.gif

JoKeRr
04-11-05, 04:41 PM
I think you should blame the 2.8E they used, that's 1 slow P4 considering the top model is running at 3.8ghz

Viral
04-11-05, 08:11 PM
Then why is DDR2 533mhz, getting about the same scores as a DDR400 module? Every review I have read says that the latency are comparable, and the higher clocks make up the latency difference, that is why the benchmarks are rougly the same.

DDR1 400 vs DDR2 533
http://www.overclockercafe.com/Articles/DDR_vs_DDR2/index.htm

http://www.overclockercafe.com/Articles/DDR_vs_DDR2/pg_3.h1.gif

That's mainly because of the FSB only being 800MHz. Just as with intels/nvidia's newer chipsets that support DDR-II 667, the bandwidth is going to waste as the FSB causes a bottleneck.

If DDR-II 533 were in a 1:1 config, it probably would give better performance in most scenarios with a P4 platform.

Anyway, AMD have the memory out now to benefit them (Corsair DDR-II 667 with 3,2,2,8 timings), but the price and the fact that people will be left out in the cold so soon means the benefit probably wont be worth it. Especially when it's Intel who are playing catchup in the memory performance game. Unfortunately, 2 is a better number than 1 in marketing - Intels strongest attribute.

rohit
04-12-05, 05:38 AM
did anyone see the Anantech review, where they compared DDR400 on p4 (s478)3.2ghz + asus p4p800e deluxe mobo and ddr2 on p5 (Lga-775) 3.2 ghz with intel 925x mobo. where ddr400 won in every test.

mustrum
04-18-05, 11:28 AM
An A64 reaches 9k with good TCCD memory in Sisoft sandra memory benchmark.
Why would we need DDR2? (Intel is somewhere in the 4k-5k range if i am right.)