PDA

View Full Version : Random crashes & lockups


SH64
04-14-05, 01:47 AM
I'm getting some weird crashes & lockups in games ..
1) Its random .. could happen to any game anytime.

2) Usually the crash/lockup happens just the time i make an action .. like start firing or someone is about to talk & sometimes even without an action!
& in particular cases with explosions .. that happend in HL2/FarCry/Doom3 . right before an explosion happens the game either crash or lockup.
if it crashed & i replayed the game again & did the same action it crashes again until i reboot . though this only happens with explosions , but not the other cases where it usually works fine afterwards.

3) It could happen after 5 min of gaming & could happen after 1 hour & sometimes i dont get any at all.
for ex. in BIA i had a lockup once in 1st level & i didnt get any afterwards till i finished the game.

4) The crahses/lockups solely occur in games.

what do you think ?? could it be hardware , software , SLI issue or what ?

specs in sig (SLI PC) . i'm using 71.84 official & didnt try other drivers so far.
all crashes/lockups occured while i was in SLI mode & even if i try Single GPU it will be really hard to find out if that had something to do with it because as i said its random & sometimes does not happen for days.

& BTW i think my RAM sticks are fine because i took them from my older PC & they were in great condition & never caused a problem in that PC.

jAkUp
04-14-05, 01:58 AM
Very hard to say.... Do you have BOTH of the power plugs plugged into the motherboard? (Actually 4 plugs) 24 pin molex connector, regular 4 pin molex connector, 12v 4 pin adapter, as well as the floppy adapter.

Mudcrutch
04-14-05, 02:53 AM
its the overclocking.

jAkUp
04-14-05, 03:15 AM
Doesn't look like hes overclocking to me.

Hey SH, can you run memtest86 or toast for a few hours? That would eliminate the SLI cards or convict them :)

SH64
04-14-05, 03:26 AM
Very hard to say.... Do you have BOTH of the power plugs plugged into the motherboard? (Actually 4 plugs) 24 pin molex connector, regular 4 pin molex connector, 12v 4 pin adapter, as well as the floppy adapter.

Yes i have all plugged.

& no i didnt overclock anything.

i will try memtest or Toast & maybe some Prime95 as well & see how things goes.

SH64
04-14-05, 11:12 PM
ok memtest ran fine for ~ 5 hours , Toast ran ok but i didnt try it for long time (2 hours 30min only) .
Prime95 reported an error after 3 hours .. could it be overheating (CPU temps was around 66c) ??

i'm running torture test again now .
EDIT : on second run it went fine for 5+ hours under same conditions .. what gives?

Redneck
04-18-05, 08:48 AM
I have the same problem with my AMD 64 Setup. I don't have SLI though. Mine almost seems like the onboard NIC card is bogging down.