PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Vertex shader from 2.0a to 3.0


mhedge
04-19-05, 04:46 PM
I was using the 3Dbenchmark05 today and I noticed that I only had options for the vertex shader profile of 2.0 and 2.0a. Could some please tell me where to get the 3.0 version? I noticed that just about everyone on the benchmark comparison had that version. I have a 6600GT card and im using XP Sp2 with XG 76.44 HD drivers. Thanks

saturnotaku
04-19-05, 04:55 PM
SM 3.0 has to be supported in the software that's trying to run it. I don't think 3DMark05 has any support for 3.0.

jAkUp
04-19-05, 04:58 PM
Actually, I am fairly sure that 3DMark05 uses a good amount of SM3.0 features in some tests, but only for more fps... nothing visual.

saturnotaku
04-19-05, 04:59 PM
Actually, I am fairly sure that 3DMark05 uses a good amount of SM3.0 features in some tests.

I dunno. 3DMark sucks anyway. I have it installed but never use it. :p

jolle
04-19-05, 05:05 PM
Actually, I am fairly sure that 3DMark05 uses a good amount of SM3.0 features in some tests, but only for more fps... nothing visual.
perhaps only PS3.0, and no VS3.0 stuff then..

mhedge
04-19-05, 05:08 PM
Well 1st I should have asked, does anyone know how to verify which shader model they have in XP?

mhedge
04-19-05, 05:17 PM
Just to settle the debate about whether 3dmark uses SM3.0, here is a quote from their site:
"3DMark®05 is best suited for the latest generation of DirectX®9.0 graphics cards. It is the first benchmark to require a DirectX9.0 compliant hardware with support for Pixel Shaders 2.0 or higher!"

jolle
04-19-05, 05:25 PM
which prolly refers to VS2.0a which was mentioned in the first post..

XP doesnt have a SM per se..
When you install DirectX 9.0c on XP you got full support for SM3.0 in the OS via the Direct3d API..
Then you need drivers and hardware that supports it.. some of the 6x.xx drivers and all 7x.xx drivers I spose.. and NV4x hardware atm..

EDIT
altho, they list the capable cards here with (VS3.0 & PS3.0) tags..
http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=monext3dmark&Number=4426993

ChrisRay
04-19-05, 06:44 PM
3dmark05 uses a SM 3.0 compiler for its Sm 3.0 rendering mode. But the actual rendering load is no different from SM 2.0a

mhedge
04-19-05, 08:19 PM
How would I go about making 3dmark05 use the 3.0 rather than 2a? There is a drop down menu under settings but I only have the option of 2.0/2a. Any help would be appreciated. Im not sure if there will be any score difference, but I would like to resolve this issue.

WimpMiester
04-19-05, 08:43 PM
Do you have the latest verion? I have v1.2 and PS3 and VS3 are on by default.

OWA
04-19-05, 08:43 PM
You should just be able to select it if you have dx9.0c installed and you're using any of the later nvidia drivers.

Edit: Actually, did you purchase it or are using the free version? The free version might not let you change settings.

Edit2: It actually defaults to 3.0 for me as well.

mhedge
04-19-05, 08:50 PM
I have Pro v1.2 and have DirectXc... This is what I dont understand, everyone seems to have this as default. But for some reason it isnt even an option for me. Its rather perplexing and I hope someone will know the solution.

Just in case someone ask:
AMD 64 3500+
1gb Crucial Ram
Windows XP Sp2
DirectXc
XG 76.44 HD Driver
XFX 6600GT

Abba Zabba
04-19-05, 08:56 PM
I'm pretty positive only Nvidia has support for VS & PS 3.0...

mhedge
04-19-05, 09:04 PM
So what are you suggesting Abba?

Abba Zabba
04-19-05, 09:10 PM
So what are you suggesting Abba?
I dunno man, I haven't touched 3D benchmarks in a long long time :/

OWA
04-19-05, 09:11 PM
Do you have any games that support SM 3.0 like Splinter Cell Chaos Theory and if so, can you select SM 3.0 in those?

mhedge
04-19-05, 09:18 PM
I have Far Cry and HL2. Ill look into what those use. I did look at the full system details that 3dmark provides and I noticed that it said my VS = 3.0 and my PS = 2.0. Since I am using a Tweaked driver by XG, perhaps this is the issue? I hate having to change since I like this driver, but maybe these is another way. I appreciate everyones input and hope to resolve this soon.

gstanford
04-19-05, 10:02 PM
3dmark05 uses VS3.0 and has done so since V1.0 (not that it does anything special with it, but thats another story).

Did you use driver cleaner or similar between you last video driver installs? You may have pre DX9.0c remnants on your system.

Are you using the retail DX9.0c and not an early beta that was floating around a while back?

Have you tried reinstalling DX9.0c and your current driver.

I use XG drivers (currently using XG76.41) and have had no trouble with SM3.0 support with them.

mhedge
04-19-05, 10:42 PM
Well I tried to reinstall the directXc but it did the thing were it instantly says it has been installed. The version I used was retail though, so I dount that was causing any of the trouble. I used driver cleaner again per its instructions and installed the XG76.41 HD set this time and everything worked out. I emailed the folks at XG to ask them about that XG76.44HD driver and will post their response if it is fruitful. Thanks for your help.

gstanford
04-19-05, 10:54 PM
No worries.