PDA

View Full Version : lock up in 3DMark 05 on final cpu test


EVO
04-21-05, 02:02 PM
Hello all, im a newbee on thisforum and also a newbee to geforce 6800gt cards ,being an ex 9800 pro user, i recently bought a MSI gt 6800 256mb DDR3 card and im very impressed by its performance, however i have had quite a bit of chewwith the thing, some random ctd and reboots and also drivers .
When i first installed the card i removed my ATI drivers and used driver cleaner to remove all the ati stuff, installed the new card and the colours on the desktop wernt quite right, installed the 7189 driver and all seemed ok after rebooting, is this normal?
ran a few benchmarks, started with 3dmark 01 se and got about the same score (13345(9800pro) to 13397 6800gt)

strange but i carried on and ran 3dmark 03, went from 5340 to 9788, then ran 3dmark 05
1207 to 4655
then i noticed that in the properties page of the card my AGP was all unticked, so tried to tick x8agp with so success, hmmm bad driver i thought, tried a different driver 7190, still no agp settings , so went and read a little here on this forum, and read about updating mobo drivers, which i did, Nvidia 5.10 to 6.14 beta, rebooted a volA all agp settings now enabled and working.

but now im not able to complete 3DMark 05, it gets to the second run of the air balloon and just crashes to desktop or reboots the pc its shows about 1-2 fps in this test? is this normal?

tried both unclocked and overclocked, without any joy completing the test,my scores from 01 se rose from 13397 o 16366, the 03 rose from 5340 to 11609
as you can see, big improvement, but i also get random lockups in richard burns now where the sound loops, screen freezes and screen then goes black and sometimes reboots pc,

im thinking of doing an extra 0.1 v increase on the AGP anyone tried this ? my temps are 50 idle and 63 under load

thanks for any advice/info
and again HELLO nice to join your forum

system specs:-
2500 barton @3200 (200fsb)
Gigabyte GA 7 400 Nforce 2
512 Crucial 3200
200gig seagate baracuda and 160 baracuda
MSI GT6800 o/c to 400/1100 copper speed adjustable h/s
400w psu qu-tec (will buy bigger one when funds allow :)

PSYCHODAD
04-21-05, 02:40 PM
Welcome to the forums Evo. Here are a few things you might try.

Turn off fastwrites in bios if you haven't already.
Increase ram voltage a bit
Add another stick of 512 mb ram
upgrade psu(as you already mentioned)

Good luck and again...welcome.

EVO
04-21-05, 03:22 PM
taken from the system info on 3dmark 05
Supported Slot Types ISA, PCI, AGP
Manufacturer Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Model nVidia-nForce2
Version 1.x
BIOS Vendor Award Software International, Inc.
BIOS Version F7
BIOS Release Date 03/01/2004
BIOS Properties Plug and Play, Flash, AGP
AGP
Revision 3.0
Rate 4x, 8x (8x enabled)
Available Rate 0x0000000c
Selected Rate 0x00000008
Aperture Size 0 B
Sideband Addressing supported (enabled)
Fast Write supported (enabled)

Ive looked in my bios and cant find any fast write options , or can i find how to adjust the agp apperture :(

EVO
04-22-05, 10:12 AM
bought a new 550 watt psu today, still no different, will crash back to desktop on last balloon run over the lagoon in 3DMark 05, im gonna try relaxing my ram settings a little and hope someone can tell me how to disable fastwrites in the award bios, cos i cant find it.

PLEASE HELP

EVO
04-22-05, 10:44 AM
Found the problem, it is my ram, i have DDR 333 @400, which has been fine, now i set it back to default speed it completes 05 fine, hope this helps others fault finding, now then, anyone want to buy a psu :)

ViN86
04-22-05, 11:13 AM
congrats of fixing the problem.

was also gonna say, i would always go with a clean install of windows before chaning vid cards, especially ATI to nVidia ;)

btw, welcome to the forums