PDA

View Full Version : Leadtek 6800 GT TDH DOA??

jjneff
04-22-05, 08:44 AM
I just recieved my Leadtek A400 GT TDH 6800. I was excited as heck to replace the 5700 I had! Then disappointed just as much (if not more) to see tons of 'garbage' on the screen at boot, most of the characters are wingdings and I have blue color bars from Top to Bottom of the screen.

Intel chipset - 300W power, cablefor video card was sharing floppy, all drives on separate cables. Using VGA connector.

I bought from newegg.com. Is this card 'dead' (burnt) due to some problems with power or is it jsut DOA nd I need to RMA it as broken? Also does it go back to Newegg or Leadtek?

I guess what I'm asking is - once you see these errors is there any way to 'fix' (with power - BIOS settings etc) or is card a 'must replace'.

Thanks

PS New to High End graphics > used nvidia 128 for the last few years so I am new to all the terms of overclocking graphics-so please simple answers :-)

PPS - I did see some posts here where others 'rma'd 2-3 cards - is the errors I described above what made them do it? :confused:

nIghtorius
04-22-05, 08:50 AM
do you also see garbage in your BIOS screen @ booting? or only in windows (since you are referring to WingDings and stuff)

jjneff
04-22-05, 08:52 AM
do you also see garbage in your BIOS screen @ booting? or only in windows (since you are referring to WingDings and stuff)
Sorry - I see the strange characters RIght from boot POST. BIOS - every screen from initial boot - can't read most of the BIOS so stopped trying to edit settings - Tonight when I get home I'll drop back in the 5700 and reset BIOS to all Safe defaults just in case - But I'm pretty sure I had no overclocking on.

MUYA
04-22-05, 08:55 AM
Oh man sorry to hear that, I think your card was DOA, RMA it quick or before u do that try it on a friend's PC! Just to confirm

jjneff
04-22-05, 09:02 AM