PDA

View Full Version : Which OC would be better???


Roliath
04-24-05, 03:02 AM
Okay, which overclock would be better
Setup A
CPU: 2.607Ghz
Vcore: 1.55v
Multi: 11x
HTT(FSB): 237
Memory Voltage: 2.85v
Memory Timings: 2.5-3-3-7 T1
Memory Speed: 474mhz
Divider: 1:1

OR
Setup B
CPU: 2.5Ghz
Vcore: 1.5v
Multi: 10x
HTT(FSB):250 (500mhz)
Memory Voltage: 2.85v
Memory Timings: 2.5-3-3-7 T1
Memory Speed: 500mhz
Divider: 1:1

Which overclock do you think looks better?
Both are prime95 stable and Memtest86 shows no errors at either settings.

lytalbayre
04-24-05, 03:38 AM
B

jAkUp
04-24-05, 03:41 AM
You cant go a 10.5x multi on Setup B?

Toss3
04-24-05, 04:54 AM
I think they both would be equal. But bench both and see for yourself :cool:

PaiN
04-24-05, 06:12 AM
With the memory timings being equal.....and not having a "huge" difference in mem speed, I have to go for "A" do to the raw clock speed.

mustrum
04-24-05, 11:03 AM
With the memory timings being equal.....and not having a "huge" difference in mem speed, I have to go for "A" do to the raw clock speed.
I second that. A is the way to go. If you wanna make up 100mhz CPU speed with memory you'd need a lot more defference in either timings or clocks especially since your timings are the same on both options.

Dr.Nick
04-24-05, 11:43 AM
I would stick with setup A myself. cpu speed makes more of a difference than mem with A64's:)

Roliath
04-24-05, 04:38 PM
I thought half multipliers screw with the MEM speed somehow.

jAkUp
04-24-05, 05:08 PM
Multipliers do not effect memory speed. Only CPU speed. If your motherboard allows a 10.5x Multiplier, try that with setting B.

200x11= 2.2Ghz (stock)
200x2(DDR)=400MHz (stock)

If you could get a 10.5 multi, this is what Setup B would look like:

Setup B
CPU: 2.625Ghz
Vcore: 1.6v
Multi: 10.5x
HTT(FSB):250 (500mhz)
Memory Voltage: 2.85v
Memory Timings: 2.5-3-3-7 T1
Memory Speed: 500mhz
Divider: 1:1

Roliath
04-24-05, 05:47 PM
Multipliers do not effect memory speed. Only CPU speed. If your motherboard allows a 10.5x Multiplier, try that with setting B.

200x11= 2.2Ghz (stock)
200x2(DDR)=400MHz (stock)

If you could get a 10.5 multi, this is what Setup B would look like:

Setup B
CPU: 2.625Ghz
Vcore: 1.6v
Multi: 10.5x
HTT(FSB):250 (500mhz)
Memory Voltage: 2.85v
Memory Timings: 2.5-3-3-7 T1
Memory Speed: 500mhz
Divider: 1:1

Thanks for you help jAkUp, but answer this please.
I have it setup like this right now

CPU: 2.625Ghz
Vcore: 1.525(x3.3%)v
Multi: 10.5x[/b]
HTT(FSB):250 (500mhz)
Memory Voltage: 2.85v
Memory Timings: 2.5-3-3-7 T1
Memory Speed: 500mhz
Divider: 1:1

But in CPU-Z, it shows this
http://img202.echo.cx/img202/3636/thisone3pp.th.jpg (http://img202.echo.cx/my.php?image=thisone3pp.jpg)
See the memory Frequency? Why does it say CPU/11 and not CPU/10.5?
is the a software mistake or what is it?

PaiN
04-24-05, 07:49 PM
I believe you are wrong about the XX.5 multipliers....Everytime I've used them on both VIA and nVid controllers they did cut the memory speed by a significant amount, even when set 1:1 ....

jAkUp
04-24-05, 08:13 PM
hmmm.. maybe I am wrong, I did not know that a .5 multi effects memory speed at all... sorry..heh

Roliath
04-24-05, 09:03 PM
hmmm.. maybe I am wrong, I did not know that a .5 multi effects memory speed at all... sorry..heh
That's cool jAkUp,
I've decided to keep it at Setup B, only I've changed the timings to 2.5-3-3-6 (hoping to hit 2.5-3-3-5, doubt it though).
Well I get the best performance using this setup, rather then pure clock speed.
Check out my Everest Memory Benchmarks, click here (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=135199)
What do you think about the scores?
And this ram isn't too bad, DDR400 to DDR500 with not "so" bad timings.
I'm happy!! :)

JoKeRr
04-24-05, 09:30 PM
I say ditch your current ram and get some TCCD on BP PCB.

Roliath
04-24-05, 09:32 PM
I say ditch your current ram and get some TCCD on BP PCB.
Sounds like a plan, only problem is umm, money.
I know I can run this ram at higher speeds, but the problem is I don't feel comfortable pushing the voltage needed to get my CPU stable on air

jAkUp
04-24-05, 10:17 PM
I run 1.7v into my CPU :D Too bad you can't get an 11x multi with Setup B

Roliath
04-24-05, 10:30 PM
I run 1.7v into my CPU :D Too bad you can't get an 11x multi with Setup B
DAMN!
Right now, that seems way too much for me, but maybe if I ever go with a watercooling setup, I'll be ready.
250x11=2750ghz, damn, those numbers look nice, but jAkUp, what kind of setup do you have? Like what parts exactly?

jAkUp
04-24-05, 10:33 PM
Do you mean what I'm running for cooling? I'm running a Koolance system... (just a water block for now)

Roliath
04-24-05, 10:53 PM
Do you mean what I'm running for cooling? I'm running a Koolance system... (just a water block for now)
Yeah that's what I meant, Like what kinda water cooling setup do you have?

Kamel
05-02-05, 03:30 PM
how you gonna have a processor that nice and not even put 1.65 volts through it? o_O lol