PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking


patrickjs89
04-24-05, 08:39 PM
Can somebody please give me a tutorial on how to overclock. I currently use RivaTuner with forceware driver of 66.93 on BFG Geforce 6800GT. I overclocked from 370/1000 to 400/1100 and I noticed 0% difference on my framerates. Am I just testing wrong or am I particulary doing something wrong? Please help!

jAkUp
04-24-05, 10:29 PM
What game are you testing this with? You overclocked correctly I think.

Clay
04-24-05, 10:30 PM
What are your system specs? Your CPU/mobo/etc may be adding up to a bottleneck that is limiting your 6800GT.

patrickjs89
04-25-05, 01:23 PM
Oh whoops, I did forget the specs. MY specs are

nForce 3 Ultra motherboard
AMD Athlon 3500
1 GB PC-3200 RAM
GeForce 6800GT by BFG
80 GB Maxtor Hard Drive
Soundblaster Audigy ZS

patrickjs89
04-25-05, 01:24 PM
I also forgot to add that I test it with the Nalu demo of the 6800. I always get 20FPS, at 370/1000 and 400/1100. I'm just lost on this overclocking stuff or it could be my hardware I don't know.

saturnotaku
04-25-05, 01:27 PM
I don't like the way RivaTuner handles overclocking. Use Coolbits instead (Google for it). When you have the registry tweak installed, do the following as there is a bug with the 6800 GT when it comes to overclocking:

1) Set your 2D core speed as well as the memory speed, test, hit apply.
2) Set your 3D core speed (memory will stay where you set it before), test, apply, then check the "apply settings at startup" box.
3) Exit out of the driver control panel, then go back into it. The 3D core speed will have reset to default. Put it back where you had it, test, then hit apply. The new settings will then stick for every game you play as well as subsequent restarts until you uninstall the drivers.

When you update your drivers, you will need to go through this procedure again.

patrickjs89
04-25-05, 04:42 PM
Ok I did exaclty what you said and it did work perfect, but I still get around 20 FPS in the Nalu 6800 demo and around 35 to 50 FPS in Doom 3 hell level. Is this just normal or is something just not allowing it to act correctly in my hardware?

nIghtorius
04-25-05, 04:55 PM
don't test with the Nalu demo.. it's capped.

runs 20fps @ 800x600, 20fps @ 1024x768 and even 20fps @ 1280x1024 here. so it looks like it's capped.

use a benchmark tool for measuring your OC.. (3dmark03, 05 is a good start)

patrickjs89
04-25-05, 06:04 PM
Ok I ran 3dmark 05 at 370MHz and got a 3863 score, I ran it then at 400 MHz and I got a 3854 score. I got a better score on my 370MHz.

patrickjs89
04-25-05, 06:40 PM
Ok nvm I got it working now, I clocked it 400 MHz by optimal and I have seen a big increase in FPS. I must of made some minor mistakes while doing it, well it is stable and have it working so thank you guys for the help!

nIghtorius
04-26-05, 07:33 AM
Ok nvm I got it working now, I clocked it 400 MHz by optimal and I have seen a big increase in FPS. I must of made some minor mistakes while doing it, well it is stable and have it working so thank you guys for the help!

what is your 3D mark05 score now??? I hope not around 3xxx.. if so.. something is definetly wrong there.. since my card reaches 45xx~48xx @ stock speeds (depending on driver)

Kickus_assius
04-26-05, 01:43 PM
Yeah that's kind of weak. I got 5000 @ stock on the first drivers they released. I haven't tested now, but at ultra speeds on the 2003 edition I get 11000 @ stock. You might have been having driver problems.

patrickjs89
04-26-05, 07:48 PM
Ok nVidia really pisses me off, I re-formatted and I installed the latest drivers off 71.89 and 3dmark just freezes every time. I've had problems with my 6800GT for 4 months, 4 months and it still isn't stable. I don't know what the hell to do anymore, should I just buy an ATI? I'm about to, because this card hasn't promised me at all.

zoomy942
04-26-05, 08:08 PM
make sure ytou have the new cipset drivers.. you can use the nforce 4 ones, but MAKE SURE YOU GET THE GART DRIVER FROM AN NFORCE 3 DRIVER SET.

i had something similar goiong on that you have.. i installed the GART (that the nforce 4 set doesnt come with) and everything was great again :)

patrickjs89
04-26-05, 08:18 PM
Ok I just installed drivers from my disc and scored 3800 at 370/1000. Any good, I'll have to look into the nForce 4 drivers then I suppose.

zoomy942
04-26-05, 08:20 PM
Ok I just installed drivers from my disc and scored 3800 at 370/1000. Any good, I'll have to look into the nForce 4 drivers then I suppose.


yeah.. just get the updated GART. it may sound silly, but you'll be amazed at how much that helps (if you dont have it installed)

patrickjs89
04-26-05, 08:44 PM
How though, just install the nForce 4 drivers?

zoomy942
04-26-05, 09:02 PM
install the nforce 4 drivers, then get the nforce 3 ones from guru3d.com, extract them to a folder and go to the device manager of your pc and open the system devices at the bottom.. then apply the GART driver that is in that folder of nforce 3 stuff, to the PCI the AGP HOST device.