PDA

View Full Version : World of Warcraft in SLI, issues fixed?


gussboy
04-25-05, 07:26 PM
I keep reading mixed things about how it works great for some people and others have all kinds of trouble with taering etc. My current P4 single 6800GT rig avg's like 50fps at 1280x1024, but it can really dog out in certain areas of WoW. I am hoping to improve that experience dramatically with my Athlon64 / SLi rig.

I have read through posts both here and on the Blizzard WoW forums and am interested in hearing the verdict on SLI compatibility with World of Warcraft. What are the the PROS and CONS?

Thanks in advance,
Brad

Jagdpanther
04-26-05, 02:47 AM
I keep reading mixed things about how it works great for some people and others have all kinds of trouble with taering etc. My current P4 single 6800GT rig avg's like 50fps at 1280x1024, but it can really dog out in certain areas of WoW. I am hoping to improve that experience dramatically with my Athlon64 / SLi rig..

I have read through posts both here and on the Blizzard WoW forums and am interested in hearing the verdict on SLI compatibility with World of Warcraft. What are the the PROS and CONS?

Thanks in advance,
Brad

of course SLI works for WOW, at least for me.

I used to have 2x6800GT´s too. my fps move between 50-100.

what settings do you have? 8xS AA? 16xAF?
with 8xS WOW seems not to run perfect. often fps drops down to 10. mainly when you go by "plane" *lol.

Went back to 4xAA and it runs perfect.

monkeydust
04-26-05, 06:50 AM
Yeah, it works. But, I get bad screen tearing with SLI enabled.

Jagdpanther
04-26-05, 07:16 AM
Yeah, it works. But, I get bad screen tearing with SLI enabled.

1. use nhancer
2. use 16xAF
3. try disable negative LOD bias; for me it helped disabling it
4. you are using a TFT? am not sure, but vsync may bi disabled with SLI wether you´ve enabled it or not.

ChrisRay
04-26-05, 07:45 AM
The targetting issues can be fixed in SLI if you just switch it from AFR to SFR. This game has some issues with AFR. You may lose a little performance but SFR still gives nice boosts and doesnt have all the rendering issues.

monkeydust
04-26-05, 09:20 AM
I have never been able to get the game to run in any SLI mode but the default one. When I try the other, it locks up at the login screen (with whichever drivers I tried).

PaiN
04-26-05, 09:40 AM
WoW was one my big reasons for getting rid of my SLI setup.....There was little noticable & playable difference between my old P4EE @ 3.7ghz/6800GT @ 425/1150 and the A64 4000+ / 6800Ultra SLI system I built....and there is no detectable difference between that SLI setup and my current A64 4000+ / ATI X850XT @ 550/1200 even at 16x12 4x/8x ......

.....except that the SLI system seemed to have some visual bugs.... :rolleyes:

Edit:
I also have to add...that due to some problems with the motherboard I've never been able to run stable with memory timings greater than 2.5 3-7-3 T2 @ default 200FSB
I'm expecting better performance as soon as I can resolve this and OC alittle

ChrisRay
04-26-05, 09:47 AM
I have never been able to get the game to run in any SLI mode but the default one. When I try the other, it locks up at the login screen (with whichever drivers I tried).


Turn off triple buffering.

gussboy
04-26-05, 05:26 PM
any more feedback on settings recommendations for running WoW in SLI mode?

best recommended config?

I just ordered:
Asus A8N-SLI
Athlon64+
2GB RAM
2 - GeForce 6800 GT

monkeydust
04-26-05, 08:40 PM
Turn off triple buffering.
Thanks! That worked. :afro2:

ChrisRay
04-26-05, 09:14 PM
Thanks! That worked. :afro2:


I live to please :angel:

gussboy
04-27-05, 09:46 AM
How noticable is the improved FPS in WoW when running SLI versus single 6800GT? I am putting my SLI rig together over the next few days and cant wait to be able to WoW at 1600x1200 at sily smooth FPS!

monkeydust
04-27-05, 09:55 AM
You are not going to get WoW to run silky smooth on any system. WoW is not a graphically demanding game. The lag that you see is on the server side, not the client. SLI doesn't make a whole lot of difference here.

gussboy
04-27-05, 03:10 PM
I beg to differ that WoW is not a graphically demanding game from the perspective that increasing screen resolutions alone will signifigantly lower my overall FPS on my current P43.0Ghz 6800GT gaming pc. I understand that rending WoW is not necessarily like Doom3 or HL2.. but it still requires alot of power.

I am hoping that my new Athlon 64 4000+ SLI 6800GT rig is able to scale up to 1600x1200 and maintain high avg FPS. I know my existing PC only avgs about 35-40 fps at 1280x1024.

monkeydust
04-27-05, 04:29 PM
Compared to EQ2, WoW is not a graphically demanding game by a long shot. My point being that you are still going to be playing a slide-show in the Tarren Mills vs Southshore PvP battles.