PDA

View Full Version : AMD or INTEL


Pages : [1] 2

Alaa
04-28-05, 06:24 PM
According to ur USE which one is better? AMD or INTEL? (especially the FX55 and P4EE 3.73) did u have any conflicts?

Absolution
04-28-05, 06:34 PM
what are you mainly doing? video editing/audio editing? then its the p4, but gamming and applications like winrar.com then its amd

http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/20041221/cpu_charts-13.html has all your answeres

Alaa
04-28-05, 06:39 PM
i need it for games but i want to know how do u find it? not which one do u recommend

jAkUp
04-28-05, 06:41 PM
Yup...

Video Editing= P4
Gaming= A64

Rakeesh
04-28-05, 06:47 PM
I don't know why people keep making the recomendation that people use intel chips for video processing. It mostly seems to me that by going intel instead of AMD might save you two minutes out of an hour worth of video encoding time.

Gaming on the other hand benefits by a more steady framerate with AMD.

jAkUp
04-28-05, 06:50 PM
My coworker just switched from a P4 3.0 to and AMD 3500+ and was not happy with it. He plays MMORPG's and plays 2 accounts at the same time. He said it was painfully slower, also playing a game while encoding a video and running FRAPS was really slow. He went back to his P4.

I don't care about that stuff, so my AMD64 is awesome for what I use it for.

SH64
04-28-05, 06:51 PM
For current gen gaming .. AMD all the way !

Alaa
04-28-05, 07:34 PM
i dont use my pc for encoding at all just watching videos!!!and playing games..no heavey use but i want it to handle upcoming games..

Viral
04-28-05, 07:41 PM
Eh 'em de

Pandora's Box
04-28-05, 07:53 PM
My coworker just switched from a P4 3.0 to and AMD 3500+ and was not happy with it. He plays MMORPG's and plays 2 accounts at the same time. He said it was painfully slower, also playing a game while encoding a video and running FRAPS was really slow. He went back to his P4.

I don't care about that stuff, so my AMD64 is awesome for what I use it for.


yeap have 2 friends that play a mmorpg. one has a p4 3.2ghz with HT the other an amd64 3200+. the p4 guy can run 2 games at once, while the amd guy cant it lags like hell.

-=DVS=-
04-28-05, 07:59 PM
Dual Core AMD wins in every category , saveing cash for one :D

Alaa
04-28-05, 08:00 PM
also i dont play 2 games at the same time...am asking especially about FX55 and P4EE 3.74Ghz ...i think FX55 is better from reviews but i want to know ur opinions about them

saturnotaku
04-28-05, 08:10 PM
also i dont play 2 games at the same time...am asking especially about FX55 and P4EE 3.74Ghz ...i think FX55 is better from reviews but i want to know ur opinions about them

Waste of money, both of them. An Athlon 64 4000+ is 95% of the CPU the FX is at a little more than half the cost. Anyway, buying such a high-end CPU now is a waste with dual cores around the corner.

By the way, 'your' is not spelled with only two letters. :rolleyes:

Rakeesh
04-28-05, 08:27 PM
By the way, 'your' is not spelled with only two letters. :rolleyes:

Idjit speak

Alaa
04-28-05, 08:47 PM
Waste of money, both of them. An Athlon 64 4000+ is 95% of the CPU the FX is at a little more than half the cost. Anyway, buying such a high-end CPU now is a waste with dual cores around the corner.

By the way, 'your' is not spelled with only two letters. :rolleyes:

as u can see i can spell it with 2 letters!!technology..hehe! more OPINIONS on FX55 and P4EE 3.73GHz ?????

$n][pErMan
04-28-05, 09:04 PM
AMD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Alaa
04-28-05, 09:53 PM
anyone had problems with any of them??

zoomy942
04-28-05, 11:52 PM
anyone had problems with any of them??
problems dont accur as a result of amd or intel exclusively. it's the interaction of all your hardware and drivers that causes problems.

Alaa
04-29-05, 02:54 AM
thnx everyone am goin 4 AMD just wanted to know ur opinions

joltcola
04-29-05, 11:13 AM
thnx everyone am goin 4 AMD just wanted to know ur opinions

Good luck, I hear they have viruses!

Maverickman
04-29-05, 08:33 PM
I'm a big fan of AMD, but all of the computer stores near me only sell Intel-based system. The owners say that Intel systems are a lot more reliable than AMD. If you own a computer store, you don't want systems coming back they say. One owner said he stopped selling AMD because so may systems were being returned. I also have an A64 system and have had only minor configuration problems. Now the system runs great.

borntosoul
04-29-05, 08:50 PM
i dont know where u guys live but AMD are easy to get as intel where im from. ive had my p4 2.8ghz for a while now and have been extremely happy with it. my brother uses a64 for personal use- he builds computers (both amd and intel) for a living, i think thats rubbish about intel having far less problems than amd (if it was a little less no one would notice), it all depends on who is building them imo.

Viral
04-29-05, 09:44 PM
It's unlikely that it is the AMD chips having the problems... they probably use cheap chipsets for their AMD systems and Intel ones for their intel systems. Of course they probably stopped selling them before Athlon 64 came out too.

jAkUp
04-29-05, 09:51 PM
There are definetely alot more AthlonXP's that come back, rather than P4's. But A64's hardly come back. They are great chips.

borntosoul
04-29-05, 10:02 PM
ya soz i was talking about the a64:) hehe, even though i did have athlon 1333 mhz and the bartons and had no problems with any of them. i just moved to intel because i thought it was the better choice at the time. might be the cheaper chipsets that amd have trouble with.