PDA

View Full Version : Sound Blaster Live 7.1 24-bit


egyteam
05-03-05, 05:44 PM
I bough this card but I have a problem

bass and treble are diabled WHY ?

all driver and programs were downloaded from the CD

see the picture:
http://www.arabhardware.net/photo/Pictures/aiu5eabb4a90a.jpg

Alaa
05-03-05, 06:15 PM
is tht u kimo! we really need to play our match:D

SLippe
05-03-05, 06:31 PM
Only thing I can think of is make sure you have the checkbox marked for Advanced under the main volume. I doubt that is it, too simiple and I'm sure you thought of that already. That is weird. Did you check for updated drivers from their site?

egyteam
05-03-05, 06:48 PM
can't find anything

I am using the latest version

SLippe
05-03-05, 06:56 PM
So is Advanced Controls checked under Options at the top-left once you double-click on your speaker icon in the sys tray?

lytalbayre
05-03-05, 07:06 PM
Open Audio HQ,

Make sure digital out only is not selected.
maybe lower the ouput freq. to 48khz... dunno man...
Also, make sure that you have 5.1 or higher selected. Certain function can be limited or turned off for stereo output.. though I don't see why bass and treble would be...

If all else fails, uninstall and reinstall.

egyteam
05-03-05, 07:42 PM
All Fails

quik_2_win
05-04-05, 10:45 PM
Thats the way mine (SB Live!24-bit) is, also- Bass/ Treble 'greyed-out'...Can't you just use the equalizer? ...that's what I do. BTW, if you really want a more definate answer, I would recommend the Creative forums. There are many threads regarding that particular card because it's a good seller.

saturnotaku
05-04-05, 10:47 PM
When I had an SB Live back in the day, I don't remember that feature ever being enabled. Only when I went to an Audigy-based card were those options available. Even the integrated Live 7.1 that's on my motherboard now didn't have it, though that's not the reason I switched to an Audigy 2.

egyteam
05-05-05, 05:04 AM
ok Thanks

I have another question ...

When I play an MP3 song with winamp cpu usage is between 10% to 15% , is that normal ??

I have A64 2.0Ghz

saturnotaku
05-05-05, 07:14 AM
Since the Live is a host instead of a DSP-based card, that is normal. Switching out for an Audigy will relieve it.

SLippe
05-05-05, 10:00 AM
When I had an SB Live back in the day, I don't remember that feature ever being enabled. Only when I went to an Audigy-based card were those options available. Even the integrated Live 7.1 that's on my motherboard now didn't have it, though that's not the reason I switched to an Audigy 2.

My Sound Blaster Live! Value has them enabled. I have treble one notch higher than bass.

zoomy942
05-05-05, 10:36 AM
ok Thanks

I have another question ...

When I play an MP3 song with winamp cpu usage is between 10% to 15% , is that normal ??

I have A64 2.0Ghz

wow1 thats high.. i use the nforce onboard sound and my mp3 playing is at 2 or 3 %

saturnotaku
05-05-05, 10:39 AM
Now that I re-read that, 10% is on the high side. You should be down around 5% with that card. Have you checked to see what other tasks are running? Perhaps there's something there that shouldn't be.

egyteam
05-05-05, 03:27 PM
there is no any tasks running

when I stop the song , cpu usage drop to 0 to 5%

egyteam
05-05-05, 04:02 PM
if I set sampling rate to 48 cpu usage is 5 to 7%

if I set sampling rate to 96 cpu usage is 10 to 15%

if I use Audigy LS driver cpu usage is 0 to 3% but device control is not working to set the sampling rate .... any one can give me the surround mixer version of audigy LS and a program to set the sampling rate from it

http://www.arabhardware.net/photo/Pictures/aiud909f13c4e.jpg

Nutty
05-05-05, 04:36 PM
I get 0% cpu usuage with winamp on my SoundStorm ;)
Although if I turn on DFX processing it goes to around 10%