PDA

View Full Version : New Demo: Heat Haze


Pages : [1] 2

Abba Zabba
05-05-05, 09:07 PM
This demo written in OpenGL simulates a heat haze effect through several render to texture passes and a set of GLSL shaders and ARB programs.

It defaults to FBOs to do the offscreen rendering, however if your current driver doesn't support them, there is a fall back to using the good old glCopyTexImage2D function.

Enjoy :)

http://www.realityflux.com/abba/C++/Heat%20Haze/HeatHaze.jpg
Binaries (http://www.realityflux.com/abba/C++/Heat%20Haze/HeatHaze.zip)
Source (http://www.realityflux.com/abba/C++/Heat%20Haze/HeatHazeSRC.zip)
Engine source (http://www.realityflux.com/abba/C++/SXMLEngine/SXMLEngine.zip)

OWA
05-05-05, 11:13 PM
Looks really good, especially when zoomed out.

Edit: Also, the screenshots don't do it justice. Running, it looks very realistic.

Abba Zabba
05-05-05, 11:26 PM
Very glad your "picky" driver didn't complain this time around :)
BTW in a previous thread, you mentioned that Stained Shadows won't work on your machine, correct? If so, are you still interested in running it? I might convert the High level shaders into regular assembly which will load faster and will most definitely run on any set of DX9.0 drivers.

OWA
05-05-05, 11:32 PM
Actually, I started using the 76.44s again since all the demos work well with them. :)

DenDiesel
05-06-05, 10:53 AM
May be I'm wrong, but I guess this demo looks very similar to http://frustum.org/3d/index.php?demo=19

Sazar
05-06-05, 10:58 AM
It does den, yer right.

Looks exactly the same cept for the heat haze and some of the other features.

OWA
05-06-05, 11:14 AM
So? They both look like they're using the skull from the DX9 sdk so what's your point?

If you check the Fx composer utility on the nvidia website, you'll also see they have demos using the same skull.

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 11:28 AM
May be I'm wrong, but I guess this demo looks very similar to http://frustum.org/3d/index.php?demo=19

Yup, as far as I can see we both use the same skull model and that's as far as similarity gets.

I came up with the heat haze algorithm and shaders on my own, the marble texture was found using a google search "marble texture". (google)

Sazar
05-06-05, 11:29 AM
Ah, so thats where it's from.

I was wondering coz I've seen it elsewhere before :D

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 11:30 AM
Maybe I should add another particle source in the skull mouth too :D

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 04:40 PM
Fixed an annoying bug that showed up on ATI boards and improved the flames look a lot :)
New binaries posted.

http://www.realityflux.com/abba/C++/Heat%20Haze/HeatHaze2.jpg

OWA
05-06-05, 04:45 PM
Did you change the color of the marble texture also?

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 04:48 PM
Did you change the color the marble texture also?
:p

RpPRO
05-06-05, 04:54 PM
Fixed a annoying bug that showed up on ATI boards and improved the flames look a lot :)
New binaries posted.


Where? Wanna give it a shot. :)

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 05:10 PM
Where? Wanna give it a shot. :)

It's the same link bro :)
Edit: w00t 100 posts :afro:

RpPRO
05-06-05, 05:15 PM
It's the same link bro :)


I was just gonna edit my post. Of course, I knew it was the same link, but my web browser (mozilla) wouldn't update it, just gave me the same file - as it still does. So I had to use IE.

Nice stuff, now I can move the skull properly. 10 more fps too. GJ

Dunedain
05-06-05, 06:18 PM
I get 236 FPS at 1024x768 with the demo window maximized. Interesting looking flames. :)

Abba Zabba
05-06-05, 06:24 PM
I get ~365, someone beat that :D

Pandora's Box
05-06-05, 06:25 PM
I get ~365, someone beat that :D



*waits for jakup* :D

OWA
05-06-05, 06:58 PM
I seem to get between 400-500 fps no matter what resolution I use.

protoNium
05-07-05, 02:16 AM
woww this is great look like real.. :D
I got average 397fps at default

lowdog
05-07-05, 03:38 AM
How come my fps won't go above 99.5 fps. :confused:

using driver 76.44

Subtestube
05-07-05, 03:44 AM
Lowdog: Have you disabled V-Sync? OpenGL has a default V-Sync setting, which (on my system at least) is "on". You can change the default setting in Rivatuner.

lowdog
05-07-05, 03:48 AM
Lowdog: Have you disabled V-Sync? OpenGL has a default V-Sync setting, which (on my system at least) is "on". You can change the default setting in Rivatuner.


Didn't know that, just set it to default off in Rivatuna and now I get 460 fps.

thanks for that. :D

DD.Jarod
05-09-05, 10:48 AM
Btw, the demo will crash if you use 2 monitors (with 76.44 and 76.50 drivers), the moment you try to click on something in the window.

EDIT: It doesn't crash with Hardwareacceleration set to "one screen" or "Multiscreen compatible"