PDA

View Full Version : San Diego 3700+ OC results


lytalbayre
05-08-05, 02:55 PM
My new system:

A64 3700+ San Diego with an XP-90
Asus A8N-E rev. 2 Bios 1003
Corsair XMS1024-4400C2 (2x512mb pc4400 TCCD/Brainpower)
EVGA 6800 Ultra PCI-E oc'd to 440/1130
Audigy 2 ZS
2x80 Gig Diamondmax 10 SATA/7200rpm
Antec Neo 480
Asus DVD-RW

My OC results are not that promising with the San Diego...

Currently stable at:
253fsb / memory at 253/506 2.5-3-3-6
CPU multiplier 10.5 (2660 mhz speed)
HTT multiplier at 4

At these setting I can run prime 95 indefinitely and do all the benchmarks etc. 3dmark 03 I get 13800 average.

However, I'm disappointed with the 3700+ because if I reduce the HTT multi to 3, the fsb to 250, and try to
change the cpu multi to 11 to get 2750 mhz, I get an error in prime 95 instantly. I tried upping the voltage to
1.45 but that just doesn't work.... and my memory is rated all the way to 275 so that's not the weak link...
and since HTT is down to 3, I know that's not the weak link either.

What this means to me is that somewhere between 2660mhz and 2750 mhz, my cpu has reached it's limits!! DAMN IT!!

Maybe I'm missing something... should I try more voltage than 1.45 for the cpu? The temp never goes above 35C idle
or 43c load...

Any suggestions?

Thanks all.

tristancarton
05-08-05, 03:06 PM
with an xp-90 you should have no problems running the voltage up to 1.55 volts. heck you can prob go even higher than that but 1.55v is def safe.

try 1.5v, 1.525, and 1.55v. report back.

jAkUp
05-08-05, 03:10 PM
1.45v is nothing :) I'm running 1.65v on my winnie.

lytalbayre
05-08-05, 03:19 PM
Yeah... but the rev. E. chips run with less voltage (ie 1.4 volts) and there are numberouse reports of Venice chips reaching the 2800mhz range on just 1.4 volts... I guess I can try 1.5 and 1.55 and see if that helps any... but, like I said... doesn't look too promising...

newls1
05-08-05, 03:48 PM
Yeah... but the rev. E. chips run with less voltage (ie 1.4 volts) and there are numberouse reports of Venice chips reaching the 2800mhz range on just 1.4 volts... I guess I can try 1.5 and 1.55 and see if that helps any... but, like I said... doesn't look too promising...


WELL, what happened? are you stable now? and if yes, where are you at speed wise?

lytalbayre
05-08-05, 08:07 PM
Well, I tried upping the cpu multi to 11 and gave it 1.5v and got BSOD about 5 seconds after starting Prim95.... :mad:

I might end up trying 1.55 v but I don't think that would help.

I was thinking about upping the FSB to 270, and lowering the cpu multi to 10, which would give me 2700mhz... I was going to try to leave the HTT multi at 4 giving me HTT frequency of 1080... hopefully this will be stable.

I'll keep youall updated.

Serrasalmus
05-08-05, 10:55 PM
i got mine at 1.725

lytalbayre
05-08-05, 11:20 PM
Tried 1.55 v and still no goot at 2750.
Tried 2700 with 270 fsb with 4xHTT... no good.
Tried 253fsb with 4xHTT and 1.45v and, no good (this is only 30mhz higher than my stable 2625mhz...)

Therefore, I have to assume that I am right at the limit of my chip. Too bad, as I was hoping for 2800 range.

Oh well, performance is still very good.

I'll gladly take any suggestions to improve this. Thanks all.

PaiN
05-08-05, 11:42 PM
remember using a 10.5 multi cuts the memory speed back.....by going to an 11 multi you bring the mem bus to a true 1:1 with the FSB.....
The failure might be related to memory or not enought Vdimm, you should investigate this.

jAkUp
05-08-05, 11:59 PM
Yes, Don't run a .5 multi as pain said. I did not believe it at first, until I tried it. It really scews with your memory speeds.

lytalbayre
05-09-05, 12:18 AM
I understand the .5 multi thing, but remember that I did try 10x270 and that didn't work out and neither did 11 x 250.