PDA

View Full Version : Xbox 360 demos running on Macs


Pages : [1] 2

Kain
05-16-05, 05:26 PM
http://www.spymac.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=177936

oldsk00l
05-16-05, 05:27 PM
hardly surprised

The xenon kit is a G5

six_storm
05-16-05, 05:35 PM
Word!

|MaguS|
05-16-05, 05:36 PM
Haha MS using Macs, now that is funny!

Kain
05-16-05, 05:37 PM
Yeah, but this means that porting games to the Mac will be MUCH easier and cheaper.

Jocomp10
05-16-05, 05:51 PM
Yeah, but this means that porting games to the Mac will be MUCH easier and cheaper.

This won't make it any easier to port games to Macs. They require Direct X which OS X doesn't have AFAIK.

jolle
05-16-05, 05:58 PM
And before the G5 Apple was looking into making MacOS X for x86, the version was codenamed Marklar I belive..
Everyone is sleeping with everyone these day.

|MaguS|
05-16-05, 05:58 PM
This won't make it any easier to port games to Macs. They require Direct X which OS X doesn't have AFAIK.

Who said it the Xbox 360 was running DX?

oldsk00l
05-16-05, 06:04 PM
True to the above.
It won't make it easy at all, in fact it's going to be more difficult due to the XNA software architecture. The Xbox 360 isn't going to be running any kind of FOSS kernel, it'll be quite likely an MS derivative of the NT5 kernel ported to the PPC ISA.

They probably run this same software environment on the Xenon dev kit, ie the HD has OSX stripped away (formatted) and the new xenon environment with XNA is probably installed, directly, or through a VMware-like visualization layer.

jolle
05-16-05, 06:13 PM
If they are still using XNA, which they should be since its part of plans about crossplatform developing stretching beyond Longhorn it seems, then they should be running DX aswell, since that is the API XNA is targeting.
Right?

oldsk00l
05-16-05, 06:19 PM
If they are still using XNA, which they should be since its part of plans about crossplatform developing stretching beyond Longhorn it seems, then they should be running DX aswell, since that is the API XNA is targeting.
Right?

XNA does incorporate DirectX, rather...Direct3D.

When we refer to DirectX it's actually referential to the API suite, which includes audio, I/O, and graphics. Direct3D is the portion of directx for your graphics rendering. In the case of XNA/Xbox 360 we're getting into DirectX 10 territory.

Riptide
05-16-05, 07:00 PM
In plain English, they weren't running OSX on those machines. ;)

rasseru
05-16-05, 09:52 PM
haha thats why i love this place.. i get my jargon fix from people like oldskool, then people like riptide tells me what it means... :)

stncttr908
05-16-05, 11:42 PM
Why are people so surprised? The Xbox 360 uses IBM processors and so do Macs.

Kain
05-16-05, 11:50 PM
Why are people so surprised? The Xbox 360 uses IBM processors and so do Macs. Doesn't the PlayStation 3 also use a PowerPC processor?

GamerGuyX
05-16-05, 11:53 PM
Doesn't the PlayStation 3 also use a PowerPC processor?

No it uses the Cell processor.

Kain
05-16-05, 11:57 PM
No it uses the Cell processor.

Cell Processor
PowerPC-base Core @3.2GHz
1 VMX vector unit per core
512KB L2 cache
7 x SPE @3.2GHz
7 x 128b 128 SIMD GPRs
7 x 256KB SRAM for SPE
* 1 of 8 SPEs reserved for redundancy
total floating point performance: 218 GFLOPS

http://ps3.ign.com/articles/614/614682p1.html

evilchris
05-16-05, 11:57 PM
lol, teH cELL!@

GamerGuyX
05-16-05, 11:59 PM
Cell Processor
PowerPC-base Core @3.2GHz
1 VMX vector unit per core
512KB L2 cache
7 x SPE @3.2GHz
7 x 128b 128 SIMD GPRs
7 x 256KB SRAM for SPE
* 1 of 8 SPEs reserved for redundancy
total floating point performance: 218 GFLOPS

http://ps3.ign.com/articles/614/614682p1.html

Ah I see what you mean...

|MaguS|
05-17-05, 12:01 AM
Yeah its based on it but its not a PowerPC cpu like the one in the xbox 360. It works differently then the PowerPC. The basic foundation on where they began developing the chip is PowerPC, other then that its different.

evilchris
05-17-05, 12:11 AM
IBM is loving life supplying both players...

|MaguS|
05-17-05, 12:12 AM
You mean all 3 players... Revolution is also using an IBM PowerPC Based CPU...

Aurthus
05-22-05, 01:21 AM
http://www.anandtech.com/tradeshows/showdoc.aspx?i=2420&p=5

pics of them at e3

Sazar
05-22-05, 01:32 AM
PowerPC == big bucks for IBM :D

Unless they are also licensing the customized procs rather than building? Makes little sense given the fab space IBM employs.

npras42
05-22-05, 04:54 AM
Yeah its based on it but its not a PowerPC cpu like the one in the xbox 360. It works differently then the PowerPC. The basic foundation on where they began developing the chip is PowerPC, other then that its different.

I dont think its all that different you know. I think that the main central core is very similar to a Power PC chip and then all the sub-cores (SPEs or whatever?) are what makes the chip vastly different. I think many are saying that the demos shown at E3 were pretty much all only utilising the main core (as I dont think there are actual CELLs available) and this would be the same for the initial wave of games, implying to me that the central core must be very similar to a PowerPC chip they are using for development.

This is just one article which made me think that: (the way he says the sub-cores could in future be used to provide Physics calcs)
http://www.gamespot.com/news/2005/05/20/news_6126181.html