PDA

View Full Version : about 4800+ X2?


Alaa
05-21-05, 02:55 AM
can i buy a new mobo for the A64 X2 4800+?or its just using existing mobos so there is no any available upgrade for the mobo? when do u expect i can buy 4800+ retail/OEM ---i need it in july!!

MUYA
05-21-05, 02:58 AM
erm IIRC u can use the Athlon64 X2 CPUS in socket939 mobos...provided they are supported through a BIOS update. In theory any S939 mobo should be able to take in a new dual core CPU. Also, I read somewhere, the dual cores would be available in end of June.

Check the reviews of the X2s to see w hich mobos really do support the new dual cores.

AthlonXP1800
05-21-05, 03:44 AM
I read somewhere, the dual cores would be available in end of June.

It could be available in middle of June as AMD decided to moved forward the launch date from June to 31 May 2005, that 10 days away. :)

MUYA
05-21-05, 03:55 AM
Thats sweet! :D

smthmlk.
05-21-05, 06:55 PM
It could be available in middle of June as AMD decided to moved forward the launch date from June to 31 May 2005, that 10 days away. :)


no ****? so we should have real availability in late June? VERY NICE! :D

jolle
05-21-05, 10:31 PM
Should prolly make sure your mobo has the BIOS update available before you buy the CPU tho... some might lag a bit with it..

AthlonXP1800
05-23-05, 08:30 PM
Should prolly make sure your mobo has the BIOS update available before you buy the CPU tho... some might lag a bit with it..

People will be no longer worry about buy brand new motherboards BIOS shipped out of factory not support dual core CPUs, they can download the new BIOS that support dual core CPUs then install new motherboard with dual core CPU. Boot the PC and BIOS did not recognised the CPU then hang so they can simple enter the BIOS's built-in flash tool such as ASUS EZ-Flash and Gigabyte QFlash that can flash new BIOS direct from BIOS without DOS. Now all new motherboards have BIOS built-in flash tool, my motherboard has EZ-Flash. :)

Pandora's Box
05-23-05, 11:13 PM
no ****? so we should have real availability in late June? VERY NICE! :D


that would be nvidia and ati, amd dont often do paperlaunches.

Vishruth
05-24-05, 01:14 AM
that would be nvidia and ati, amd dont often do paperlaunches.
Are you suggesting immediate availability after the launch, then?

That would be great. I'm aiming for the X2 4400+. The X2 4800+ priced at $450 for a mere 200MHz advantage over the X2 4400+ is insane. 4800+ is for foolish and/or otherwise insanely rich people.

:nutkick:

OldOfEvil
05-28-05, 12:15 AM
4800 has 1mb of cache, instead of the 512 on the 4400, sort of like the regular Athlon 64 vs. the Athlon FX maybe..

Subtestube
05-28-05, 12:41 AM
4800 has 1mb of cache, instead of the 512 on the 4400, sort of like the regular Athlon 64 vs. the Athlon FX maybe..

Not true - my reading is that the cache looks like this:
4200 - 512k - 2.2GHz
4400 - 1Mb - 2.2GHz
4600 - 512k - 2.4GHz
4800 - 1Mb - 2.4GHz

In any case I agree with Vishruth - if I had cash to burn, I'd be buying a 4400. As it is, I'll hold off until mid-next year when the early dual-cores will hopefully have dropped in price a bit.

jAkUp
05-28-05, 01:22 AM
Yea that 4400+ looks pretty tasty... although, too bad no games support them :( I don't do much else with my PC to warrant buying a Dual Core CPU.

bkswaney
05-28-05, 02:44 AM
What's the deal on some with 512 and some with 1 meg cache?

Fotis
05-28-05, 02:45 AM
The 4400+ doing 2.6GHz default cooling(asus a8n sli) here (http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=141&type=expert) ;)

killahsin
05-28-05, 05:02 AM
i hear first 10 days of june availability somewhere in there

lone_bullet
05-29-05, 01:29 PM
can anyone give me a reviev of the 4400+ ( and perhaps others ) with temps?

superklye
05-29-05, 01:45 PM
www.google.com

Vishruth
05-29-05, 02:03 PM
can anyone give me a reviev of the 4400+ ( and perhaps others ) with temps?

Some AMD Athlon64 X2 reviews:

Toms Hardware Guide (http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20050509/index.html)
PC Perspective (http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=141&type=expert)
Tech Report (http://www.techreport.com/reviews/2005q2/athlon64-x2/index.x?pg=1)
AnandTech (http://www.anandtech.com/printarticle.aspx?i=2410)

I'm with superklye, btw. Google (http://www.google.com) is a wonderful search engine... you should try it sometime, lone_bullet. :p

superklye
05-29-05, 02:48 PM
I'm with superklye, btw. Google (http://www.google.com) is a wonderful search engine... you should try it sometime, lone_bullet. :p
:thumbsup:

Dazz
05-30-05, 05:51 AM
The advantage of dual core is that you can run games at full speed while other apllications Norton etc can use the other CPU intensive passive programs in the background. People will tell you what Norton is like lol.

AthlonXP1800
05-30-05, 08:00 AM
The advantage of dual core is that you can run games at full speed while other apllications Norton etc can use the other CPU intensive passive programs in the background. People will tell you what Norton is like lol.

Yeah and it confirmed Age of Empire III game has supported dual core. :)

borntosoul
05-30-05, 10:09 AM
cool---good news :) aoe3 supporting dc.....
well that just nailed it for me then, dual core all the way baby!

superklye
05-30-05, 11:27 AM
People will tell you what Norton is like lol.
Yeah, it's like watching someone rape your 6800U right in front of your eyes, only it's not just the Ultra: it's the entire machine.

McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.0i all the way baby.

nIghtorius
05-31-05, 06:24 AM
Yeah, it's like watching someone rape your 6800U right in front of your eyes, only it's not just the Ultra: it's the entire machine.

McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.0i all the way baby.

I am fond of eTrust Inoculate 7... that's how a virus protection tool should be written.. taking only 8 megs of memory. ultrafast (on my 3500+ the speedhit is just totally unnoticable, while norton adds a nice 90 seconds boottime :eek: )

the MOST NICE PART ABOUT IT IS:
there is no damn subscription to it.. you buy it once and you have unlimited updates.. (like it should be.. **** Norton)

superklye
05-31-05, 06:52 AM
I am fond of eTrust Inoculate 7... that's how a virus protection tool should be written.. taking only 8 megs of memory. ultrafast (on my 3500+ the speedhit is just totally unnoticable, while norton adds a nice 90 seconds boottime :eek: )

the MOST NICE PART ABOUT IT IS:
there is no damn subscription to it.. you buy it once and you have unlimited updates.. (like it should be.. **** Norton)
That is pretty nice. Since I'm a Marquette student, I get McAfee VirusScan Enterprise for free for life. :D