PDA

View Full Version : 6800GT DOOM 3 incredible crash !!!!


alexwelcome
05-25-05, 12:43 AM
OMG. I don not understand anything : When i overclock my 6800GT, i have no more sound in doom 3 engine (d3 and d3RoE) :eek: . Need help please to resolve problem sound made by o/c. :confused:

Thx

Al3xwelcome.

P.S : sound card drivers are not in cause, i did tests.

Darkoz
05-25-05, 12:50 AM
Don't overclock, games like Doom 3 don't take very well to overclocking.

Optimummind
05-25-05, 01:17 AM
OMG. I don not understand anything : When i overclock my 6800GT, i have no more sound in doom 3 engine (d3 and d3RoE) :eek: . Need help please to resolve problem sound made by o/c. :confused:

Thx

Al3xwelcome.

P.S : sound card drivers are not in cause, i did tests.

How far did you overclock your card on the core and RAM? John Carmack had stated before that the Doom 3 engine will expose unstable overclocking of hardware easily. You may have to overclock only a little bit when playing Doom 3 while you can leave the OC alone for other titles.

alexwelcome
05-25-05, 02:07 AM
ok, so it is not very possible to overclock in doom3...once the game is initialized to default Gfx card setings. So i'll try to reinitialize the doom3 engine, test, and if it doesn't work, i should uninstall doom3, o/c my gfx 6800gt card, and reinstall doom3.
Anyway, have u some solutions or advices to give to me about resolving this problem ?

saturnotaku
05-25-05, 05:47 AM
Anyway, have u some solutions or advices to give to me about resolving this problem ?

You already have the solution - don't overclock.

Superfly
05-25-05, 07:18 AM
What sat and the others say is very true - Its also worth remembering though that DOOM3 can handle an overclock.

I run both D3 & RoE @ 400/1100 on my GT - I also have EVERY component in my system overclocked:

3.0 P4 @ 3.3

FSB 800 @ 900

DDR400 @ DDR440

68GT 350/1000 @ 400/1100

all this and I dont get a single problem with any game - mind you I do have some rather silly cooling and an excelent case etc.

see sig

$n][pErMan
05-25-05, 01:11 PM
WTF .. this is silly .. you can OC just fine and play doom 3. I played it without a single problem and my GT is OC'ed to ultra speeds. I htink the better question is.. What driver set are you using?

alexwelcome
05-26-05, 04:52 AM
I am using 76.44 openGL 20. drivers... By the way I have question for those who knows : If i have opengL 2.0installed, does my 6800GT manage 2.0 even if on the package, it says for open gl 1.5 ???? Is it hardware limited to 1.5 ?

KtK
05-26-05, 09:31 AM
I have allmost same problem in my athlon xp/6800gt/audigy 1 system. ONLY in doom3 and finally find solution to this.

If i put my nforce 2 ultra mobo's fbs one mhz over 200 ,doom 3 sounds stop working. System is prime95 stable in 215Mhz.

I try everything ,underclocking,more voltage,new drivers,bios ....but nothing helps if memory fps is over 200Mhz.

Then i try Control panel-> Sounds and audio device properties -> Advanced ->Sample rate conversion quality to middle position and doom3 sounds not stops anymore.

I don't hear any different in sound quality vs to max conversion quality.

What this option doing all about???? ,i don't know

Very veird problem ,i hope this help for you.

grey_1
05-26-05, 04:53 PM
What sat and the others say is very true - Its also worth remembering though that DOOM3 can handle an overclock Very much agreed. 1st, what are your specs? Why do you have to overclock? I understand if it's better fps for IQ, but if it's only bragging rights it's not necessary. Do you have onboard sound? How's it work with that? I o'clock my GT to ultra at times...just cuz :) , and D3 plays sweet. Google for "finetuning XP (or whatever os you are using) for Doom 3" Couple of excellent guides out there. Hope this helps.........G1

alexwelcome
05-26-05, 05:27 PM
I have XP sp2, audigy 2 value with last drivers, 6800GT pciexpress (no o/c), amd 3500+ 0.09u (non o/c), 1024 RAM, Doom 3 and RoE patch 1.3 76.44 wHQL Drivers...
so i do not understand why can't i overclock my gfx in doom 3 ! I tried to o/c only 1 Mhz (350 to 351 Mhz gpu) and no sound !!!!
Please help!

al3xwelcome

grey_1
05-27-05, 03:50 AM
your rig ought to handle D3 sweet without overclocking, but just for T/S purposes- yank your audigy value out, uninstall the drivers for it and try your mobo's onboard sound...see how that works. .........regards

alexwelcome
05-27-05, 06:44 AM
ok, i did it: bad sound, no sound after an overclocking to 1 mhz up (351 Mhz gpu). lol !
Ithink i'll try basic whql drivers instead of my 76.44.
Thx .

Superfly
05-27-05, 08:02 AM
are your GPU and Audigy sharing an IRQ??

I bet they are.

Ninjaman09
05-27-05, 08:40 AM
are your GPU and Audigy sharing an IRQ??

I bet they are.
In Windows XP IRQ sharing is on by default, IIRC, and is handled within the OS. IRQ conflicts are usually a red herring when dealing with hardware issues, in my experience. I'd look to your RAM before thinking about an IRQ sharing issue.

alexwelcome
05-28-05, 03:06 PM
what do i have to chack about my RAM ?????
I tried testing my RAM with Memtest+ (last version 1.86 i think) under booting my PC, and no erors at all.

About IRQ sharing issues, do you really think it's THE problem with ONLY Doom 3 no sound when o/c my gfx card ???? Could you help me to resolve the eventual problem ?
Thx
Al3x

alexwelcome
05-29-05, 05:58 PM
so, i need to change drivers 76.44 to 71.89 maybe... Anyone uses like me Driver cleaner Pro 1.1.0.24 ?
Because i do not see "dislay drivers" in removal options of drivers cleaner (i see NvidiaIDE, NvidiaSATA,NvidiaChipset, Nvidia.. but no "Nvidia Display")