PDA

View Full Version : Quad SLI... yup 4 pci-e slots


Pages : [1] 2 3

shabby
05-26-05, 06:37 PM
http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews/20050526_155843.html :eek:

SH64
05-26-05, 06:44 PM
Dang! here comes the interpretation for Sweeny's saying about video cards 4 times faster than current gen .. just imagine quad 7800Ultras working in SLI!! OMFG! :angel:

AthlonXP1800
05-26-05, 06:55 PM
just imagine quad 7800Ultras working in SLI!! OMFG! :angel:

Yeah it translate around more than 4 times faster than RSX chip. :eek: :angel:

CaptNKILL
05-26-05, 07:26 PM
Holy crap! I didnt think we'd be able to do this this soon... 4x6800 Ultras is insane :eek2:

OWA
05-26-05, 07:33 PM
Dang! here comes the interpretation for Sweeny's saying about video cards 4 times faster than current gen .. just imagine quad 7800Ultras working in SLI!! OMFG! :angel:
I'll take your current SLI system once you upgrade to the quad setup. :)

GlowStick
05-26-05, 07:35 PM
Wowzers!!!!

So by the time ati has 2xcards capibilities.. nvidia has 4xcards :d

SH64
05-26-05, 07:48 PM
I'll take your current SLI system once you upgrade to the quad setup. :)

hmm & whats in this for me ?? :eek2:

OWA
05-26-05, 07:51 PM
Less clutter since you won't have all that old stuff in your way.

CaptNKILL
05-26-05, 07:54 PM
Less clutter since you won't have all that old stuff in your way.
Sounds good to me too! I'll take your old stuff OWA :D

SH64
05-26-05, 08:01 PM
Less clutter since you won't have all that old stuff in your way.

lol what CaptN said .. besides nothing stays in the way. they usually get transferred to form another PC & so on .. :p

skank
05-26-05, 08:14 PM
Wowzers!!!!

So by the time ati has 2xcards capibilities.. nvidia has 4xcards :d

ATI's approach appears not to be limited to just two GPU - or four such as in this case. Crossfire may be able to support up to 32 graphic chips, sources said. :afro:

OWA
05-26-05, 09:23 PM
Sounds good to me too! I'll take your old stuff OWA :D
Works for me. Now we just need to bug SH64 until he sends me his SLI-setup. :)

Karma
05-27-05, 02:56 AM
Yummy!!! Thanks for the link.! Just imagine...32 R520's....

I love those 32 R520's!!!! Yowza!

Now I just gotta get a case big enough......
& a PSU big enough.........
& huge fans...........
&..... something else I'm sure........

:p :eek:

jAkUp
05-27-05, 03:00 AM
:drooling:

Superfly
05-27-05, 06:47 AM
How long can you hold off buying a quad board for then Jakup???

lol - I give you only a few weeks.

grimreefer
05-27-05, 07:01 AM
a good cpu for this board is the pentium d 2.8ghz. its only $240, and its dual core!
i hope some other models of the geforce 7 series have sli, cause i cant afford 2 7800gtx's let alone 4.
also, will they make a connector to connect sli connecters

jAkUp
05-27-05, 11:40 AM
How long can you hold off buying a quad board for then Jakup???

lol - I give you only a few weeks.

Yea I know... :(

I give myself a few weeks too.. haha

ricercar
05-27-05, 12:26 PM
http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews/20050526_155843.html

The board, currently named "GA-8N-SLI Quad", shows four PCI Express slots that can be occupied by SLI-compatible graphics cards. According to sources, Gigabyte found a way to combine two nForce4 SLI chipsets on one platform. Interestingly, the board integrates two different versions of the chipset - the nForce4 SLI Intel Edition (Crush 19) represents the Northbridge, the version for AMD processors is used as Southbridge.


Two nForce chips - one as northbridge and one as southbridge. Ain't hypertransport grand?

Gator
05-27-05, 12:50 PM
OMFG!!!!!

For my next rig I want an A64 X2 and Quad G70's :D :eek: :D

Vapor Trail
05-27-05, 12:52 PM
http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews/20050526_155843.html


Two nForce chips - one as northbridge and one as southbridge. Ain't hypertransport grand?


just... WOW!


Next PCIE mobo purchase is going to ne interesting for sure.

Vapor Trail
05-27-05, 12:53 PM
OMFG!!!!!

For my next rig I want an A64 X2 and Quad G70's :D :eek: :D

recommended for cool climates only. :)

Man that thing is going to be a heater.

Gator
05-27-05, 01:04 PM
recommended for cool climates only. :)

Man that thing is going to be a heater.

Water cooling and a 1500w PSU required :D

Soooooooo... I wonder when Jakup will buy it :cool:

Dr@Home
05-27-05, 01:05 PM
:drooling:
seriously. whoevers getting one will need a pretty large PSU if they fill 4 cards.. :p

Gator
05-27-05, 01:16 PM
Yep... the first person I thought of when I saw the article was jAkUp. Guranteed he'll be the first person here to upgrade (foshiz)

Gator
05-27-05, 01:17 PM
seriously. whoevers getting one will need a pretty large PSU if they fill 4 cards.. :p

Well, I suppose with a big enough case one could install dual PSU's. Server cases often have redundant power supplies, so why not a gaming rig? :cool: