PDA

View Full Version : Amd 64 winchester ocing


killahsin
05-27-05, 01:13 AM
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a 64xp winchester to 2.1 gighz on stock cooling in an xblade II goliath case? It's not a super overclock, but i'm switching over from my bartonxp 2800 to a 939 msi k8n neo board . Ive always got great performance with my barton 2800/nforce 2/6800 gt agp/1 gig of kingston hyper x gamer ram for so long lol. But now that i am switching over to the 64 i want to get it from 1.8 up to 2.1 just to match the clocks.

As for why i'm switching now rather then waiting for the 2.0 pci-e standard, i don't think the first spins from nvidias next gen card will require the 2.0, it would just be a bad business move. My guess is they will move over to 2.0 on their 'refresh'.


Just wanted to be prepared for the dual core 64's hitting the shelves the last 2 quarters.

killahsin
05-28-05, 01:12 PM
lol anyone have any ideas?

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 02:56 PM
Does anyone know if it's possible to get a 64xp winchester to 2.1 gighz on stock cooling in an xblade II goliath case? It's not a super overclock, but i'm switching over from my bartonxp 2800 to a 939 msi k8n neo board . Ive always got great performance with my barton 2800/nforce 2/6800 gt agp/1 gig of kingston hyper x gamer ram for so long lol. But now that i am switching over to the 64 i want to get it from 1.8 up to 2.1 just to match the clocks.

As for why i'm switching now rather then waiting for the 2.0 pci-e standard, i don't think the first spins from nvidias next gen card will require the 2.0, it would just be a bad business move. My guess is they will move over to 2.0 on their 'refresh'.


Just wanted to be prepared for the dual core 64's hitting the shelves the last 2 quarters.
It'l probably do that, though I'd recommend getting a Venice core 3000+ personally... I just got mine and.. well.. hehe, i'll post the results in a little while :D

killahsin
05-28-05, 05:02 PM
lol yeah but i just want to goto 2.1 im using stock cooling and whatnot lol venice is just sse3 isnt it?

superklye
05-28-05, 05:27 PM
lol yeah but i just want to goto 2.1 im using stock cooling and whatnot lol venice is just sse3 isnt it?
They also fixed the on-chip memory controller so that you can use 4 sticks of DDR400 @ DDR400 (it used to clock down to DDR333).

nIghtorius
05-28-05, 05:28 PM
lol yeah but i just want to goto 2.1 im using stock cooling and whatnot lol venice is just sse3 isnt it?

nope..

venice has the following advantages over winchester:

* better memory controller (a lot less picky)
* more scalable.. and laymans terms: thing has more OC potential.
* runs cooler (draws less power)

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 05:31 PM
*cough*lookatmysig*cough* :D

killahsin
05-28-05, 08:35 PM
hmm well when this box gets here next week ill just have to oc it and see if i can get it to 2.1 lol since 2.1 is all i want. As for ram 1 gigs fine for me in dual ddr mode hehe

http://www.a-top.com/gladiator/xblade2-sv.jpg

thats the case im getting btw not sure about the side panel though theres 2 different versions

:Edit for massive typo fixes lol

Muppet
05-29-05, 05:29 AM
Damn thats one fine looking case, awsome dude :eek:

betterdan
05-29-05, 06:39 AM
:drooling: That case is beautiful.

|MaguS|
05-29-05, 07:27 AM
Mines at 2.2 on stock cooling... Your case, in my opinion is too fancy... but thats me. I like the plain old metal ones from LL and SS. When I say plain... I mean plain...

killahsin
05-29-05, 07:35 AM
My current one is a plain old black case, but my girl is always like that thing is so ugly on top of the desk. Wah wah wah.
Magus you have the exact system basically as the one im building. Is that all stock even the gt settings? Also can you tell me what you did to get it to 2.2? Did you have to mess with the ram timings or whatnot? and how stable is it?

|MaguS|
05-29-05, 09:03 AM
My 6800GT has an NV5 on it which never gets hotter then 70C. To get my OC, I have the current settings in my bios...

WARNING
All CPUs act differently, some can OC better then others even in the same week of production. I will not take responsiblity if you kill your CPU, Use my settings as an example. If you don't know how to OC or even the meaning of some features, DONT RISK IT! Buy the CPU of the clock you want instead.
WARNING

Cell Settings:
High Performance Mode: Manual
Aggressive Timing: Disable
Dynamic Overclocking: Disable
HT Frequency: 4x
Cool & Quiet: Disable
CPU Ratio: Startup
CPU FSB: 245
AGP Frequency: 67
CPU VID: Startup
CPU Voltage: CPU VID
Memory Voltage: 2.85
AGP Voltage: 1.50

My Ram timmings are in my sig, I have 2x512 sticks and are on T1. BH-5 is hard to come by and loves high voltage, if you don't have BH-5 (you usually have to physically check the ram chips) then make sure you know your rams limits.

EDIT: Oh forgot to add, Im 100% stable, I have yet to ever randomly reboot...

Here are my temps taken from EVEREST. Mind I also have a crapload of fans in my case...

Kickus_assius
06-03-05, 04:13 AM
My bro's new system has a 3000+ Wincester and it does 2.25 GHz, but it's on watercooling, though I imagine the stock cooler could handle it anyway. This is at 250x9. Basically all I did was raise the FSB to 250 and set ram divider lower, so it makes it DDR400. It's stable as a rock and blows away the 2800+ barton system it replaced. Even at stock the 3000+ A64 is faster than the 3200+ barton by a fair margin.

jAkUp
06-03-05, 04:12 PM
Look what my 3500+ does

DiscipleDOC
06-03-05, 04:20 PM
Look what my 3500+ does
I hate you, Jakup! :p

Riptide
06-03-05, 05:00 PM
LOL I'm jealous. Some people have all the luck it seems. :(

I can't o/c to save my life. I finally gave up after the 3rd crappy chip.

Vik1dk
06-04-05, 02:26 PM
2.5 with std amd cooler and 1.55v