PDA

View Full Version : Muahahaha...


Pages : [1] 2 3

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 03:22 PM
I got my new system up and running last night, and it KICKS ASS!

I'll put the specs in my sig in a little while, but for now, check out my overclocking results with this 3000+ Venice core with a stock heatsink.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=11789&stc=1

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=11790&stc=1

Under load it tops out around 51C, which is perfectly fine IMO. Notice the voltage. This thing is nothing short of amazing. 800Mhz overclock out of the box. Takes a pretty hefty voltage increase to do it, but it still runs cooler than most CPUs I have used.

yay :bounce:

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 03:27 PM
Some sandra benchies...
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=11791&stc=1

:)

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 03:29 PM
Heres some pics of my new case too...
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=11792&stc=1
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=11793&stc=1

Nothing fancy really, its a Rosewill case from newegg. It only cost me about $55 shipped and it came with a good 400W PSU which is now powering my old Athlon XP system with a 9600 Pro.

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 03:50 PM
One thing about my new rig though... my PSU doesnt really have enough juice to OC my CPU and GPU at the same time. Its an Antec True 430W. I was getting artifacting and some freezing with my 6800GT overclocked to where it was with my other system. Eventually I guess I'll get a more powerful PSU along with a better heat sink. What PSU would you guys recommend? I really dont want to spend a lot of money on one at all. There are plenty of top quality PSUs that dont cost an arm and a leg, I have used them, I just dont know which one will suit my needs. Im thinking 2 12v rails is a must, but I dont really know much about that.

Also, this CPU still has plenty of head room. I had it at 2700 but i was having some problems and my voltages were a bit unstable. With a better PSU and heatsink I think I can probably hit 2.8. Thats a 1Ghz overclock on air :D

EDIT: Here are some PSUs that look nice and are decent prices:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817189003
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817148008
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182002
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182009
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182010
Any opinions on any of them?

superklye
05-28-05, 04:22 PM
My Allied 500w PSU is fantastic and was only $60 from NewEgg when I got it just over a year ago. Check out the links to numerous reviews online in my thread in this forum entitled "Ugh!"

Nice work, too. I really can't wait to go A64. A 3000+ Venice was the CPU I was going to get, too.

jAkUp
05-28-05, 04:32 PM
Yipes... allied only puts out like 19a on the +12v rail.

I would recommend an OCZ Powerstream powersupply if you don't want to break the bank with a PC Power and Cooling. Avoid split +12v rails like the plague.

superklye
05-28-05, 04:37 PM
Yipes... allied only puts out like 19a on the +12v rail.

I would recommend an OCZ Powerstream powersupply if you don't want to break the bank with a PC Power and Cooling. Avoid split +12v rails like the plague.
What's 19a and what's so bad about it?

And what is a split rail?

$n][pErMan
05-28-05, 04:39 PM
Nice OC man :D Are you sure the locking up is due to the power needs though? (althought it sounds like it) ... is your OC prime 95 stable? It could be an unstable OC causing it :p Mmmm ... cant wait till I go 64bit... I'll have to relearn overclocking though as voltage is much more sensitive in 64bit im told :)

curiousergeorge
05-28-05, 04:44 PM
One thing about my new rig though... my PSU doesnt really have enough juice to OC my CPU and GPU at the same time. Its an Antec True 430W. I was getting artifacting and some freezing with my 6800GT overclocked to where it was with my other system. Eventually I guess I'll get a more powerful PSU along with a better heat sink. What PSU would you guys recommend? I really dont want to spend a lot of money on one at all. There are plenty of top quality PSUs that dont cost an arm and a leg, I have used them, I just dont know which one will suit my needs. Im thinking 2 12v rails is a must, but I dont really know much about that.

A weak PSU wouldn't make your system freeze or artifact. It would make your system restart, shut off, or just have your system run slower than it's supposed to because your devices are not receiving enough power.

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 04:52 PM
[pErMan']Nice OC man :D Are you sure the locking up is due to the power needs though? (althought it sounds like it) ... is your OC prime 95 stable? It could be an unstable OC causing it :p Mmmm ... cant wait till I go 64bit... I'll have to relearn overclocking though as voltage is much more sensitive in 64bit im told :)
See, thats the thing, I have never owned a Prime95 stable computer :|

I've never really trusted the program myself. Its always pushed my components far beyond what any of my games would. I tried Prime95 on this system and it did the same thing at 2.2 as it did at 2.7.

In games I was getting crashing until i dropped my video overclocks (which were fine on my Athlon XP system). After that, i turned my CPU clock up to 2700 again and it was perfectly stable but i was getting video artifacts. Im guessing thats a lack of power for the GPU.

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 04:54 PM
A weak PSU wouldn't make your system freeze or artifact. It would make your system restart, shut off, or just have your system run slower than it's supposed to because your devices are not receiving enough power.
Well thats just plain wrong :p

EDIT: BTW, its not a weak PSU problem in the sense that its not working at all. The components are simply draining too much power and when they try to take too much, something has to lose power. When the GPU was taking too much power, the CPU was choaking. When the CPU was taking too much, I was getting flashing polygons because the GPU wasnt getting enough juice.

curiousergeorge
05-28-05, 06:53 PM
Well thats just plain wrong :p

EDIT: BTW, its not a weak PSU problem in the sense that its not working at all. The components are simply draining too much power and when they try to take too much, something has to lose power. When the GPU was taking too much power, the CPU was choaking. When the CPU was taking too much, I was getting flashing polygons because the GPU wasnt getting enough juice.

If you're overclocking your video card you will get problems similar to what you are saying.

You are right to an extent though. Overclocking does consume more power when you increase the voltages. However, it will not give you the kinds of problems that you are talking about. The kinds of problems that you will be getting from overclocking will be things like random restarting, BSoD, artifacting (if overclocking the video card), heat issues, and if your PSU sux, then your system will just shut off like i said earlier.

If you are not overclocking your video card and you are getting those problems, then i would have to say that there is something wrong with your video card. And if you're about to say that it worked fine w/your old set up, that could have changed the minute that you took it out of your old set up.

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 06:59 PM
If you're overclocking your video card you will get problems similar to what you are saying.

You are right to an extent though. Overclocking does consume more power when you increase the voltages. However, it will not give you the kinds of problems that you are talking about. The kinds of problems that you will be getting from overclocking will be things like random restarting, BSoD, artifacting (if overclocking the video card), heat issues, and if your PSU sux, then your system will just shut off like i said earlier.

If you are not overclocking your video card and you are getting those problems, then i would have to say that there is something wrong with your video card. And if you're about to say that it worked fine w/your old set up, that could have changed the minute that you took it out of your old set up.
Well as I said earlier, the problems come and go as I overclock other components. I said I had video artifacts at 2.7Ghz. Im running at 2.6Ghz and have no artifacts (same game as before, same map), no crashing, no jitters, no skipping... perfectly stable.

I just played BF1942 for about an hour and a half with 63 bots on Berlin. A LOT of action, constant fighting, lots of sounds... totaly stable, no artifacts the whole time.

So yes, the video artifacts that I got earlier (at 2.7Ghz) were from a lack of power.

EDIT: The video card isnt overclocked btw. It hasnt been since this morning.

curiousergeorge
05-28-05, 07:01 PM
What's 19a and what's so bad about it?

And what is a split rail?

most devices are dependant on that 12v rail. The more amps the 12v rail has, the more power it can feed the devices. Having a split 12v rail is worse because the amperage is usually cut in half of one indepenent 12v rail.

Ex. 1x 12v rail has 34amps. Each device will be recieving 34amps. 2x 12v rails have 17amps each, and the devices attached will recieve no more than 17amps. If a device such as a 6800U needs 22amps, then the video card will be starved for power and you will get error messages such as "your video card is not recieving enough power" or similar. Also having 2x 12v rails, the rails fluctuate more than a single 12v rail (the 12v rail could sag and get 11v instead of 12v), and pretty much your system will be less stable thatn what it should be.

curiousergeorge
05-28-05, 07:05 PM
Well as I said earlier, the problems come and go as I overclock other components. I said I had video artifacts at 2.7Ghz. Im running at 2.6Ghz and have no artifacts (same game as before, same map), no crashing, no jitters, no skipping... perfectly stable.

I just played BF1942 for about an hour and a half with 63 bots on Berlin. A LOT of action, constant fighting, lots of sounds... totaly stable, no artifacts the whole time.

So yes, the video artifacts that I got earlier (at 2.7Ghz) were from a lack of power.

EDIT: The video card isnt overclocked btw. It hasnt been since this morning.

It doesn't sound like it's the video card still. I had similar problems w/my 6800GT (running stock) and my p43.2e @ 4Ghz. The problem was my CPU was unstable at 4Ghz :p.

superklye
05-28-05, 07:31 PM
most devices are dependant on that 12v rail. The more amps the 12v rail has, the more power it can feed the devices. Having a split 12v rail is worse because the amperage is usually cut in half of one indepenent 12v rail.

Ex. 1x 12v rail has 34amps. Each device will be recieving 34amps. 2x 12v rails have 17amps each, and the devices attached will recieve no more than 17amps. If a device such as a 6800U needs 22amps, then the video card will be starved for power and you will get error messages such as "your video card is not recieving enough power" or similar. Also having 2x 12v rails, the rails fluctuate more than a single 12v rail (the 12v rail could sag and get 11v instead of 12v), and pretty much your system will be less stable thatn what it should be.
Thanks for clearing that up

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 09:46 PM
Well, I disabled fastwrites and now my video card can overclock just fine. See my specs for the results :D

So I guess I wont be needing a new PSU any time soon (thank god).

If anyone else ever has serious problems overclocking their video card and getting stuttering\looping sounds and 5 second freezes... tell them to disable fastwrites. This is the first system I have had in a long time that has needed them disabled. At least its fixed now! :D

BTW, this thing is absolutely SCREAMING now with the extra GPU power. I got 87fps in the Source Stress Test at 1600x1200, 8xAF, high quality (no opts) and max in game settings. I got almost that before, but now the gameplay is just as smooth. Its 100% stable too... I havent had a single problem at these settings :)

superklye
05-28-05, 11:07 PM
Well, I disabled fastwrites and now my video card can overclock just fine. See my specs for the results :D

So I guess I wont be needing a new PSU any time soon (thank god).

If anyone else ever has serious problems overclocking their video card and getting stuttering\looping sounds and 5 second freezes... tell them to disable fastwrites. This is the first system I have had in a long time that has needed them disabled. At least its fixed now! :D

BTW, this thing is absolutely SCREAMING now with the extra GPU power. I got 87fps in the Source Stress Test at 1600x1200, 8xAF, high quality (no opts) and max in game settings. I got almost that before, but now the gameplay is just as smooth. Its 100% stable too... I havent had a single problem at these settings :)
I'm jealous

CaptNKILL
05-28-05, 11:58 PM
I'm jealous
Me too... oh wait, silly me :D :angel: :D

CaptNKILL
05-29-05, 12:23 AM
Holy S#*$!

I havent run 3dMark 2001SE on my machine in over a year... I cant freaking believe this score :eek:
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8592665

23,160 :eek:

betterdan
05-29-05, 12:49 AM
Not bad but here is 24485 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8350193) on my 3800+ system ;) Card was at 350/1100

CaptNKILL
05-29-05, 01:12 AM
Not bad but here is 24485 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8350193) on my 3800+ system ;) Card was at 350/1100
Thats probably your ram doing that... mine isnt even at 400Mhz :o

EDIT: Just did 3dMark 2003...
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4003365

13,040 isnt bad I guess. Only about 1,800 point increase from my 2Ghz Athlon XP though. I dont know if im even going to bother running 2005. I dont think this CPU will get me more than 400 points over my Athlon XP. Waaaay too graphics limited to be an accurate gaming benchmark.

betterdan
05-29-05, 01:31 AM
Well your 3dmark 03 3d mark score is better than mine at 11587 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3552923) but I did beat ya on the CPU marks 1074-758. ;)
I had the video card at 350/1080. I didn't have the latest build though to be fair.

CaptNKILL
05-29-05, 01:43 AM
Well your 3dmark 03 3d mark score is better than mine at 11587 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4003365) but I did beat ya on the CPU marks 1074-758. ;)
I had the video card at 350/1080. I didn't have the latest build though to be fair.
Whats your hyper transport at? Mine is 289x3= 867Mhz. Other than your ram and maybe your HTT, I dont really know whatd give you such an edge for CPU marks though. Thats kinda wierd. Is your CPU a 512k cache or 1Mb cache model? Im pretty sure they only make 512k ones, but Im still asking :D

I guess its also possible that my CPU just isnt getting enough power... who knows :p

EDIT: BTW, the link you posted goes to my 3dmark results :p

betterdan
05-29-05, 01:52 AM
Whats your hyper transport at? Mine is 289x3= 867Mhz. Other than your ram and maybe your HTT, I dont really know whatd give you such an edge for CPU marks though. Thats kinda wierd. Is your CPU a 512k cache or 1Mb cache model? Im pretty sure they only make 512k ones, but Im still asking :D

I guess its also possible that my CPU just isnt getting enough power... who knows :p

EDIT: BTW, the link you posted goes to my 3dmark results :p
Ok I just ran 3dmark 03 again and I get an 11580 3dmark score and a 760 cpu score. The difference is now I have fast writes off. fast writes really helps out the cpu score. try enabling fast writes and run the 03 test again. I know you say you get freezing with it enabled and I do to but try it anyways, I am just curious what you get. :)
Try my link again I just fixed it. Also my HT is at 205x5 =1025 and my cache is 512KB