PDA

View Full Version : Overclock Poll


Mith192
06-06-05, 10:17 PM
with the soon to be specs in my sig what kind of overclock do u expect me to be able to achieve this is with a XP-90 cpu cooler

jAkUp
06-06-05, 10:58 PM
You should be able to do 2.2-2.4...

Dazz
06-07-05, 01:24 PM
I have a 3200+ @ 2.66GHz does me fine (1.55v). Used to do 2.73GHz (1.57v)but it just doesn't seem as stable as it used to.

Riptide
06-07-05, 01:26 PM
I say less than 2.4 based on my own personal (bad) luck. If you are lucky and get a good one you should get over 2.4 on air. But it really does come down to luck most of the time.

CaptNKILL
06-07-05, 03:29 PM
Shoulda got a venice core, but I think thatl do well too :D

Mith192
06-07-05, 10:44 PM
vinces werent out when i went 64bit i might get a A64 3700 San Diego

rewt
06-07-05, 11:17 PM
So why is it you can't overclock with your current RAM?

Mith192
06-07-05, 11:54 PM
i am getting new RAM because the old stuff didnt overclock well

rewt
06-08-05, 12:27 AM
Whats the stock speed of your CPU? So are you saying you can't overclock it with your current RAM? I thought 64 bit CPU were different in that you could overclock the CPU without stressing the RAM too much.

Pandora's Box
06-08-05, 08:52 AM
Whats the stock speed of your CPU? So are you saying you can't overclock it with your current RAM? I thought 64 bit CPU were different in that you could overclock the CPU without stressing the RAM too much.


they are. you just run them in a memory ratio. minimal performance hit.

Mith192
06-08-05, 04:34 PM
i wanted a better overclock than was possible with my RAM

CaptNKILL
06-08-05, 05:04 PM
i wanted a better overclock than was possible with my RAM
Still doesnt make sense... somewhere in your bios should be something that will let you "lock" your ram speed. Itl allow 200\166\133\100 usually. It doesnt actually run the ram at those speeds, they are labels for memory dividers. 200 is 1\1 (so your ram runs at the speed of your FSB... seriously limiting overclocking). I dont really know the rest exctly but I think its something like this:
166 is 5\6
133 is 2\3
100 is 1\2

The point is to use the divider that will get your ram closest to 200Mhz (stock speed) while getting the highest FSB possible for overclocking. For example, if you want 2.4Ghz, do 300Mhz (x8 multiplier) for your FSB then set the memory speed to "133" (2\3 divider). Thatl give you a memory speed of 200Mhz and your CPU will be at 2.4Ghz.

I dont think you'll be able to overclock for crap with any ram using a 1\1 divider, so either way, youll end up doing this. Dont blow a bunch of money on expensive ram, its not worth it.

1337_Like_ThaT
06-10-05, 03:38 AM
> 2.4ghz is my bet