PDA

View Full Version : Farcry HDR Mode "7" SLI Improvement


JimBobb
06-08-05, 07:28 PM
I have found a Speed Increase for Farcry and HDR Mode "7" for SLI Systems.
Since in the Nvidia driver already exists a Profil, one must put on a new profile and rename also the Farcry.exe!
Farcry works here in AFR Mode. The Standard Mode is SFR and very slow.

My Fps jumps from 36 to 45 fps in Training Timdemo @1280x1024 VeryHigh Settings!


<PROFILE Label="Farcry_HDR">
<APPLICATION Label="jimmy.exe" />
<PROPERTY Label="aa_default" Value="0" />
<PROPERTY Label="af_default" Value="0" />
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="2400001" />
<PROPERTY Label="image_settings" Value="0" />

SH64
06-08-05, 07:37 PM
Does it only affect the HDR performance or the game in general ?? also which drivers were you using ?

JimBobb
06-08-05, 07:40 PM
I using newest 77.13 Forceware Drivers

Training Timedemo:

Standardprofile(SFR):
Play Time: 77.92s, Average FPS: 36.54
Min FPS: 23.97 at frame 1977, Max FPS: 48.16 at frame 1354
Average Tri/Sec: 2229448, Tri/Frame: 61014

New Profile (AFR):
Play Time: 63.22s, Average FPS: 45.03
Min FPS: 28.20 at frame 1975, Max FPS: 62.27 at frame 1335
Average Tri/Sec: 2736886, Tri/Frame: 60776

SH64
06-08-05, 07:42 PM
Hmm i'm currently using the 71.89 but i guess it wouldent hurt to try. i'll report back if that trick succeeded.

JimBobb
06-08-05, 08:06 PM
Next Game with Nice SLI - Improvement Medal of Honor Pacific Assault! :D

Here jump my FPS from 60 (SFR) to over 90 fps (AFR) :eek:

</PROFILE>
<PROFILE Label="Pacific Assault">
<APPLICATION Label="mohpa.exe" />
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="2400001" />
</PROFILE>

SH64
06-08-05, 08:10 PM
Heh never got MOH: PA to work in SLI with the official drivers. the could be the new drivers magic!
i guess i'll download those 77.13 & see how far things go.

SH64
06-09-05, 02:25 PM
Ok i just tested FC & seems the renaming the file & using AFR2 to improve the framerate in the timedemos only because i think renaming the files resets some of the settings. in game however i didnt see any improvment & performance seems to be just like SFR & top of that i'm getting some graphics glitches on rocks & other objects.
so i guess thats no worky! at least with the 71.89

JimBobb
06-09-05, 02:49 PM
I see a nice Improvement and not Graphic Errors!!!

Here my Screens: 1280x1024 VeryHigh and Quality Settings in the 77.13 FW all the same Settings and Scenes!

SFR (Standardprofile!): --> 38 fps
http://img221.echo.cx/img221/6987/farcryhdr7hy.jpg

Jimmy AFR Profile: --> 50 fps!!
http://img221.echo.cx/img221/4361/jimmyhdrmod7th.jpg
--------------------------------------------------------------
SFR (Standardprofile!): --> 26 fps
http://img221.echo.cx/img221/5401/farcryhdr20de.jpg

Jimmy AFR Profile: --> 33 fps
http://img221.echo.cx/img221/170/jimmyhdrmod27ri.jpg
--------------------------------------------------------------

Works really nice here and its really faster and playable!

SH64
06-09-05, 02:57 PM
Thanks for the screenies .. i'll check that again with the 77.13!

JimBobb
06-09-05, 03:07 PM
Here is from IndoorMap Bunker:

Farcry-SFR Standard: 46 fps
http://img201.echo.cx/img201/1722/farcryhdr37lx.jpg

Jimmy-AFR: 63 fps!
http://img201.echo.cx/img201/2928/jimmyhdrmod34xz.jpg

SH64
06-09-05, 03:23 PM
Ok what about FC with no HDR ? do you see any improvment ??

JimBobb
06-09-05, 03:25 PM
--- plz.delete

JimBobb
06-09-05, 05:42 PM
I have found a NEW Better Improvement for Farcry without HDR!!!

My frames jumping from 60 fps to 67 fps !!! in Timedemo Training @1600x1200 4xFSAA/16xAF !!! :eek:

</PROFILE>
<PROFILE Label="Farcry">
<APPLICATION Label="jimmy.exe"/>
<PROPERTY Label="aa_default" Value="0"/>
<PROPERTY Label="af_default" Value="0"/>
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="2430061"/>
<PROPERTY Label="image_settings" Value="0"/>
</PROFILE>

JimBobb
06-09-05, 05:56 PM
Timedemo Research!

1600x1200 4xFSAA/16xAF

Standardprofile: 75 fps

Jimmy AFR: 86 fps!!!

SH64
06-09-05, 10:03 PM
I have found a NEW Better Improvement for Farcry without HDR!!!

My frames jumping from 60 fps to 67 fps !!! in Timedemo Training @1600x1200 4xFSAA/16xAF !!! :eek:

</PROFILE>
<PROFILE Label="Farcry">
<APPLICATION Label="jimmy.exe"/>
<PROPERTY Label="aa_default" Value="0"/>
<PROPERTY Label="af_default" Value="0"/>
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="2430061"/>
<PROPERTY Label="image_settings" Value="0"/>
</PROFILE>

Hmm now its seems to work without graphics errors once i use the 77.13
i'm getting a good increase in the reseaech timedemo . from 64fps to 84fps!
in-game though , performance got better but not by that much ... interesting discovery nevertheless .. could it be that nVIDIA trying to get AFR to work in FarCry?