PDA

View Full Version : Geforce 6600 Temp. Monitor


Danhill
06-13-05, 03:46 AM
Is there a easy way besides flashing the bios to open up the temp. monitor

_Phil_
06-13-05, 03:53 AM
Don't think so.

Danhill
06-13-05, 04:04 AM
Damn. Well I'm not so fund in doing a bios flash, I'm kinda of clumsy

_Phil_
06-13-05, 06:32 AM
Damn. Well I'm not so fund in doing a bios flash, I'm kinda of clumsy

If you follow the guides to the letter I think it's pretty much foolproof, but I've never done it before so can't be sure ;)

supra
06-13-05, 06:34 AM
usually latest driver or coolbits reg file will open up the temp monitor. Someone correct me if im wrong :D

_Phil_
06-13-05, 06:35 AM
I'm pretty sure some manufacturers locked it out at BIOS level so these apps can't see the temperature probe at all :(

Danhill
06-13-05, 07:05 AM
usually latest driver or coolbits reg file will open up the temp monitor. Someone correct me if im wrong :D

Now, thats intresting. I have 71.89 installed and Riva tuner.

supra
06-13-05, 07:40 AM
Hmm. have you tried any beta drivers? maybe 77.xx or 76.xx.

Also, does Riva Tuner show your temp monitor?

Danhill
06-13-05, 07:41 AM
Hmm. have you tried any beta drivers? maybe 77.xx or 76.xx.

Also, does Riva Tuner show your temp monitor?

No I haven't tried any other drivers except for 71.89, and no RivaTuner doesn't show any temps.

supra
06-13-05, 07:53 AM
thats odd then. It maybe is your bios, but i dont think the manufacturer will give you a bios that doesnt support everything the gfx card features.

have you tried installing coolbits? (if you havent already done so)

===================cut here=======================
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

; ===========================================
; Coolbits 3D
; >> Installation file (Windows 2000/XP)
; ===========================================

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak]
"AllowNT5DeviceSwap"=dword:1
"CinematicPageState"=dword:000000ff
"CoolBits"=dword:ffffffff
"DisableApplyColorsAtStartup"=dword:0
"DisableCPUInfo"=dword:0
"GlobalStartupDefaults"=dword:0
"NoMenus"=dword:0
"NoPages"=dword:0
"NvCplAllowAllModesForPanning"=dword:1
"NvCplAllowForceDVIAsHDTV"=dword:1
"NvCplAllowForceTVDetection"=dword:1
"NvCplAllowMSRotation"=dword:1
"NvCplCustomResConfig"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableDriverSavedModes"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableFrameSyncPage"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableOglStereoPage"=dword:0
"NvCplDisablePerfQualPage"=dword:0
"NvCplDisablePerfQualPage"=hex:00,00,00,00
"NvCplDisablePrimarySelection"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableRefreshRatePage"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableRotateAngles"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableSmartDimmerPage"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableSpanControls"=dword:0
"NvCplDisableTvVideoOutputFormats"=dword:0
"NvCplDualViewAllowNonDFPAsPrimary"=dword:1
"NvCplDualviewMoveDesktopIcons"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableActiveApp"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableActiveAppProfilePage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableActiveClocking"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableAdvancedTimingPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableAppProfilePage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableClearViewPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableFanControl"=dword:3
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableMonitorNativeRotate"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableMultiChipConfigurationPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableMultiGPUConfigurationPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableMultiTVWarning"=dword:1
"NvCplEnablenForcePage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableOGLAccel"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableOglStereoPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableOverlaySpanControl"=dword:1
"NvCplEnablePwrMzrOnDesktopMenu"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableRotationColorSettings"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableScreenMenuPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableSysPerfPage"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableTemperatureSettings"=dword:1
"NvCplEnableTroubleshootingPage"=dword:1
"NvCplExposeWin2kDualView"=dword:1
"NvCplForceMonitorReEnum"=dword:1
"NvCplForceShowTvVideoOutputFormats"=dword:1
"NvCplHotPlugAware"=dword:1
"NvCplNvThermPage"=dword:1
"NvCplReduceOrphanedDualViewDisplays"=dword:1
"NvCplResolutionMenu"=dword:0
"NVCplShowEnableVMR"=dword:1
"NvCplThermalSettings"=dword:20
"NvCplTvLocaleAutoDetect"=dword:1
"OverlayPageState"=dword:0
"PowermizerPreferences"=dword:0
"PowerUser"=dword:1
"QTwkEnableModeChangeWarning"=dword:0
"TwinViewCapsOverride"=dword:1

; OpenGL ====================================

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NVTweak\Defaults\OpenGL]
"DefaultSwapInterval"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\OpenGL]
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\OpenGL\Debug]
"ShaderObjects"=dword:1

; 3D Stereo =================================

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\Stereo3D]
"ShowAllViewerTypes"=dword:1
"StereoDefaultOn"=dword:1
"StereoEnable"=dword:1
"StereoViewer"=dword:1
=========================cut here=========================

just but that into a text file, save as .reg extension and double click it.

_Phil_
06-13-05, 07:53 AM
I'm pretty sure some manufacturers locked it out at BIOS level so these apps can't see the temperature probe at all

^^

Danhill
06-13-05, 08:15 AM
Thanks guys, I'll try coolbits out and see if that helps.