PDA

View Full Version : when overclocking the A64 CPU


john19055
06-13-05, 06:35 AM
If I overclock my cpu to 220 and HTT to it's default of 4x will the memory stay at 200 if I have it at 200.In other words will I just be overclocking the cpu and not the memory.

Riptide
06-13-05, 08:43 AM
If you are changing your FSB speed then no, it will not stay back @ 200 unless you use a divider.

FSB x CPU Multiplier = CPU speed.

In my case, stock speed is 200 x 12 = 2.4GHz. If I raise FSB to say 220... 220 x 12 = 2.64GHz. FSB = memory speed if you have it set to 1:1 or 200/400MHz.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I've been running stock for a while now. :)

betterdan
06-13-05, 02:51 PM
I believe you are absolutely correct Riptide. :)

john19055
06-14-05, 06:16 AM
I thought when you had the memory set to auto it would then scale up to what ever you have the cpu set at and if you have it at 200/400 it would lock at 200 for the memory and just scale up the cpu.Like the cpu would be running at 220 and the memory would be locked at 200/400.
But I guess I am thinking wrong.

john19055
06-14-05, 06:18 AM
sorry it double posted

betterdan
06-14-05, 07:58 AM
Ok yea if you have the mem set to 200 in the bios instead of auto it is supposed to put a limiter on the mem to keep it from going over 200.

Dazz
06-14-05, 09:30 AM
Reduce your HT the NF3 boards can't handle to much more then their stated speed 800MHz Reduce it to 3x Also no if you run your memory at 200 it is locked with the HT on the CPU FSB if you wish so 220FSB = 220Mhz memory bus also.

betterdan
06-14-05, 11:28 AM
Only the s754 nforce 3 boards are 800mhz. the s939 Nforce 3 boards are 1000mhz. If you set the mem to auto it will raise with the cpu fsb so 220fsb = 220mhz mem bus. With it set to 200 mhz then 220fsb = 200 mem bus. This is how it is on the MSI K8N NEO2 PLatinum board anyways.