PDA

View Full Version : 2x 6800GT SLI - 1 card losing power :(


Muttley69
06-17-05, 07:45 AM
Hi there,

I've just built a system with: -

DFI Lanparty SLI NF4 Ultra DR
2x BFG 6800GT
Enermax 600W SLI

When I run a 3d game (or even somtimes 3dmark05), one of the 6800GTs seem to lose power (the red light goes out), and then Nvidia System Sentinel pops up with its power warning. Has anyone heard of this happening before?

Thanks.

J-Mag
06-17-05, 11:54 AM
Did you plug in the ALL FOUR MB connectors?

Also that enermax is a dual 12v rail PSU. The only one i found on newegg rated at 600w was the Noisetaker and it is: +3.3V@34A, +5V@34A, +12V1@18A, +12V2@18A

I am not sure how the 12v rails are split up on the Wire Harness, but if you are trying to power your MB and BOTH GPUS with only one of the 12v rails you should try chaing connector configurations.

If that fails try another PSU.

Also, have you ever tried the one card that gets the red light by itself?

Muttley69
06-17-05, 01:47 PM
The Enermax is built for SLI and hence has 2 PCIe power connectors one for each card, so I'm confident it's not the power. I've swapped cards and power supllies and it's always in the same slot that power goes down, so I'm leaning towards a problem with the motherboard?

vX
06-17-05, 01:51 PM
problem with your motherboard most likely, try using one card in that particular slot, can u do that? See what happens.

EDIT: Could always have a faulty psu too.

radekhulan
06-17-05, 03:57 PM
I am using Enermax Coolergiant 535W, and it powers 2x 6800GT SLI, 2x HDD, 2x DVD-RAM, etc., with no problem at all. See my sig for details.

kitchai
06-27-05, 01:22 PM
I've got the same problem but i have only 1 6800GT. my PSU is Delta active power 420W without PCI-E 6-pin connector. so i need the y-cable for supplying power to the card.

When i run 3dmark or game. after a period of time, may be 5 minutes, the red light of the card gone and jump back to desktop with the nvidia pop up talk about not enough power. I am wonder 420W not enough for the 6800GT?
anyone can help me? is it my PSU has problem?

My config is:
AMD A64 3200+ o/c 2.7Ghz
MSI K8N Diamond
2x512bm DDR500
2x SATA HDD
1 x CD-RW
1 x DVD-ROM
1 x DVD-RW
Galaxy 6800GT run at default speed

aZn_plyR
06-27-05, 03:46 PM
I've got the same problem but i have only 1 6800GT. my PSU is Delta active power 420W without PCI-E 6-pin connector. so i need the y-cable for supplying power to the card.

When i run 3dmark or game. after a period of time, may be 5 minutes, the red light of the card gone and jump back to desktop with the nvidia pop up talk about not enough power. I am wonder 420W not enough for the 6800GT?
anyone can help me? is it my PSU has problem?

My config is:
AMD A64 3200+ o/c 2.7Ghz
MSI K8N Diamond
2x512bm DDR500
2x SATA HDD
1 x CD-RW
1 x DVD-ROM
1 x DVD-RW
Galaxy 6800GT run at default speed

in your case, yes pwoersupply is weak..


1) I have never heard of dealta powersupplies.
2) you have to use a Y splitter.. which the power has to go through, which won't give as clean power as going straight from the psu to the card


and what are the specs of your psu? amps?

kitchai
06-30-05, 07:06 AM
problem solved. Although i have bought a Antec TPII 550W. the problem still happen.

After that . I use a 8cm fan blow the power supply part of the 6800GT. THe card run smooth like a butter

anyone experience the same problem, get a try :) :)

eva2000
07-01-05, 06:31 AM
are cpu and cards oc'd ? try all stock if it works psu not powerful enough probably