PDA

View Full Version : 3200C2 and 3200LL Timings

ralinn
06-21-05, 10:16 AM
Hi guys,

Got myself into a pit of a pickle here, hope you can help. I'm a bit new to the RAM timings etc so I have no idea what to do.

I have 4 Memory sticks...

Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200C2 Pro TwinX (2x512MB)

&

Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200LL Pro TwinX (2x512MB) (apparently, they don't do these anymore :( )

I began with the 3200LL's and they worked great but I decided to get another gig of memory so I got the 3200C2's. When I put them it, it only detected 1GB even though I had all four sticks in :(

I understand that because they differ from eachother, that I will need to change the timings manually on the motherboard BIOS correct?

Do I change them all to 2-3-2-6 ? If so... here is my BIOS timings screen... What do I change? (Note that this is a picture from the manual so these are not my settings, I just need to know which ones to change to what for 2-3-2-6)

http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~rlinn/gay.JPG

Hope you guys can help, thanks for your time :)

Russ

|JuiceZ|
06-21-05, 10:24 AM
Hrm....regardless of your timings, your bios should still detect a total of 2gb of system ram so that could be a seperate problem. Be sure to check your mb requirements for using all 4 memory slots. In regards to your ram timings, there's a good possibility that the 3200C2 & 3200LL modules use different timings so you may have to compromise and run them more a little higher than spec in order to use both types on the same board. I know some members here use those sticks so someone should be able to tell you what the base specs are if you can't find them on corsair's www.

nVestor
06-21-05, 10:35 AM
Make sure you have the lastest BIOS, because that is odd that it isn't detecting the other GB of mem.

Get CPU-Z here: http://www.cpuid.org/cpuz.php