PDA

View Full Version : Serious Sam 2 Benchmarked on 7800GTX


macatak
06-23-05, 11:33 AM
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2005/06/23/first_serious_sam_2_benchmarks/

running HDR + AA ??

|MaguS|
06-23-05, 11:48 AM
The HDR in SS2 is only 16Bit not full 32Bit like FarCry, thats the reason it supports AA.

As for the game itself, I hope it would run smooth it looked like crap at E3.

lognoronon
06-23-05, 12:39 PM
Well Magus that is subjective cause I thought it looked good at E3. Messed around with it for about 30 min or so and I liked it.

SH64
06-23-05, 05:51 PM
The average framerate was in the 110FPS range, with the minimum framerate around 70 - it didn't drop below 60FPS once.

This was at 1600x1200, with Shader Model 2, HDR, anti-aliasing and anisotropic filtering turned on. Proof, if any more was needed, that the 7800 will handle anything you throw at it without breaking into a sweat - even next-gen game engines.

WOW sweet!!

jAkUp
06-23-05, 07:13 PM
Well Magus that is subjective cause I thought it looked good at E3. Messed around with it for about 30 min or so and I liked it.

I dunno... I thought it looked pretty crappy also at e3.. from a graphical standpoint.

jolle
06-23-05, 07:24 PM
The HDR in SS2 is only 16Bit not full 32Bit like FarCry, thats the reason it supports AA.

As for the game itself, I hope it would run smooth it looked like crap at E3.

Dont you meant Int16 instead of FP16?
Farcry uses 64bit HDR (16bit per component Floating Point), and the ROPs arent capable of applying AA on FP16 format pixels.. as I understand it..
But Int16 (16bit per component Integer) should work I guess.. I think thats what lost coast uses on DX9 hardware without FP16 framebuffer capabilities..

Didnt even SS2 used HDR tho..

Nitz Walsh
06-24-05, 05:19 PM
WOW sweet!!
Read the page though - that's a flyby score.

AthlonXP1800
06-24-05, 05:55 PM
Farcry uses 64bit HDR

Well we had seen Nvidia and Epic demorated Luna, Unreal 3 and UT2007 used 64bit HDR with AA on so now Far Cry is the only title not supported AA while 64bit HDR is on. Look like the next Far Cry patch will have AA enabled with HDR on. :)

jolle
06-25-05, 04:08 AM
Well we had seen Nvidia and Epic demorated Luna, Unreal 3 and UT2007 used 64bit HDR with AA on so now Far Cry is the only title not supported AA while 64bit HDR is on. Look like the next Far Cry patch will have AA enabled with HDR on. :)
Huh? how is that going to be done?
the graphics hardware simply cant do it AFAIK, except for supersampling that is..
If there is AA involved, then I cant se how they also used FP16 HDR.. or have I missed something?

Morrow
06-25-05, 05:11 AM
Well we had seen Nvidia and Epic demorated Luna, Unreal 3 and UT2007 used 64bit HDR with AA on so now Far Cry is the only title not supported AA while 64bit HDR is on. Look like the next Far Cry patch will have AA enabled with HDR on. :)

There is now hardware out there or in development which support AA and FP16 blending at the same time (even not the R520).

So what Epic demonstrated was either int16 HDR with AA or FP16 HDR without AA. This lack of AA support while rendering FP16 HDR is a hardware limitation, so no game developper can simply add AA with a patch.

BTW, SCCT does also not allow AA when using HDR.