PDA

View Full Version : Post Your CPU Overclock


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

jAkUp
06-24-05, 02:15 AM
So, what are you guys hitting on your Intel/AMD CPU's?

List here the stock clockspeed on your CPU, then your highest stable overclock. List the FSB and Multiplier you used as well, or just post a CPU-Z screenshot. :afro:

My CPU seems to be stable at about 2.68 after I added another 1gb of ram. (Stock is 2.2GHz on a Winchester 3500+)

Here is a screeny:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=12219&stc=1

Roliath
06-24-05, 02:19 AM
what timings does your Corsair run at?

jAkUp
06-24-05, 02:21 AM
3-4-4-8 :( When I had only 2 sticks it would do 2.5-3-3-6

Roliath
06-24-05, 02:26 AM
When I had 2 sticks mine would do 2-2-2-5 @ DDR400 and at DDR500 they would do 2.5-3-3-7. Now with 4 sticks, My timings have increased to 2-3-2-5 @ DDR400, and so has my overclocking with all 4 dimms populated.
Best so far is 230x11 @ 2-3-3-6, but not completely stable.

burzin
06-24-05, 03:19 AM
Overclocked my Intel P4 2.4Ghz to 2.7Ghz without any problems or any additional cooling. Will try to touch 2.8Ghz....lets see.

Overclocked my 6600GT to 550/1100 also without any problems.

Increased my on Acqamark3 from 27500 to 30200.

Derek

Superfly
06-24-05, 06:39 AM
3.0 Prescott air cooled @ 3.3 FSB (220)

4x sticks of crucial Ballistix @ DDR440 2.5-2-2-5 Dual channel total 1.5Gb

system actually boots fine and is prime95 stable @ 3.5Ghz (same memory timings!!) but DOOM3 starts to artifact above 3.3Ghz (bloody prescotts!!!).

still im happy - especially with the RAM which pwns :-)

also 68GT hardoverclocked via BIOS flash to 400/1100 (1.3v) matching 2d & 3d clocks.

PaiN
06-24-05, 08:58 AM
I'm going back to my A64, when its back together I'll be running like this:
A64 4000+ @ 12x216 = 2.6ghz 1.5v
2x1gb OCZ Platinum PC3200 1:1 @ 2 3-2-5 T1 2.7v
Leadtek PX6800GT @ 415/1150 (stock cooler)

Riptide
06-24-05, 09:11 AM
How are you guys testing for stability? Games only? Prime?

Ninjaman09
06-24-05, 09:48 AM
I tried 217x12 (2604MHz) with my A64 4000+ and 2-2-2-5 with my OCZ, and it ran fine in Doom 3 and Half-Life 2, but my computer crashed while playing Far Cry. :( I had 1.425V going to the core and 2.7V to the memory. I'd try more but honestly, the OC made like no difference in performance. The 4000+ is a monster CPU. :D

I'm going to be grabbing a OCZ 2-3-2-5 3200 2x1Gig kit too so maybe that'll handle it better. :)

Riptide
06-24-05, 10:17 AM
Ninja the Revision 2 would probably go further than the kit you're thinking of getting. Are you sure it's the memory that was the weak link there/caused things to crash?

PaiN
06-24-05, 10:46 AM
I'm going to be grabbing a OCZ 2-3-2-5 3200 2x1Gig kit too so maybe that'll handle it better. :)

I have to question this move.....these big sticks are not condusive to high FSB OCing.....I consider myself lucky that my OCZ 2gb set holds its SPD timings at 216mhz FSB...to keep it in perspective and so you know what you are getting into my set maxes out(with relaxed timings) just over 220mhz FSB
I expected this when I got them and they do great for me....but definately not for someone looking for big OCs

btw: For stability testing. I use memtest86 for the RAM, the system(CPU) is tested by first running benchies (Aqua, 3dm05 etc) if it passes then I run lowres(800x600), software T&L 3dmark01 and Prime95 overnight....if that passes its bulletproof

Ninjaman09
06-24-05, 10:49 AM
Well honestly I'm just getting it to have 2GB, not for overclocking. I probably won't even try to overclock it. The system is PLENTY fast as it is, I don't see any need to push it further. I'll just stick it in there, close the case up, and be done with it. :)

Really the main reason I got this kit was because of the SPD timings - it's the only kit on Newegg that can do CAS 2 on an A64 system, and the 2-3-2-5 is extremely impressive, also. :)

Dazz
06-24-05, 11:45 AM
I got my A64 3200+ 2000MHz @ 2700MHz (1.57v) 300MHz HTT 1:1 with ADATA PC4800 512MB x2

But i have a A64 X2 4400+ on it's hopefully i'll get it tomorrow should hopfully get 2600MHz or more out of it and have 2GB 1GB x2 Crucial PC4000 Tracer on it's way too :)

Superfly
06-24-05, 11:47 AM
that tracer memory pwns

:-)

Dazz
06-24-05, 12:03 PM
It should go very nicrly with my A8N SLi-Premium board and blue LED fans :) I'll be quite happy with 260x10 2.5/3/3/8 but i doubt i will be able to do that most likly 2.5/4/4/8 but considering they are 1GB sticks it's impressive none the less :) COnsidering everyone else has only PC3200 1GB sticks with 2/3/3/6

jAkUp
06-24-05, 12:06 PM
My 3.0GHz P4 northwood used to do 3.73GHz.. man what an awesome overclocker that little chip was :)

Riptide
06-24-05, 12:08 PM
btw: For stability testing. I use memtest86 for the RAM, the system(CPU) is tested by first running benchies (Aqua, 3dm05 etc) if it passes then I run lowres(800x600), software T&L 3dmark01 and Prime95 overnight....if that passes its bulletproofSounds good. I think a lot of people who overclock (maybe not the majority, not really sure) portray their machines as stable when in reality they aren't 100%. Games will often run OK but if you try to run Prime or SuperPi then it may fail. To some people that is still stable, it is not IMO. Ofcourse I run folding client so stability is a requirement of mine and game stable just isn't enough.

Ninjaman09
06-24-05, 12:11 PM
Sounds good. I think a lot of people who overclock (maybe not the majority, not really sure) portray their machines as stable when in reality they aren't 100%. Games will often run OK but if you try to run Prime or SuperPi then it may fail. To some people that is still stable, it is not IMO. Ofcourse I run folding client so stability is a requirement of mine and game stable just isn't enough.
I agree. Some of the outrageous overclocks I've seen are represented as stable when in reality they could really only boot Windows. I'm not too excited about overclocking anymore anyway, given the marginal performance gains and risks involved.

Dazz
06-24-05, 12:16 PM
Well it's quite a big gain for me.... i think? I have NEVER ran my 3200+ at defualt speeds except for the first boot. However i use water cooling so no heat issues for me :)

CaptNKILL
06-24-05, 12:21 PM
Runs games stable. Idle temps from 28-36C, load temps around 51-52C max. Stock cooling fan :)

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=12225&stc=1

Dazz
06-24-05, 12:34 PM
Mines pefectly stable and can Pi, get 31 seconds 1MB and as you can see from my results it has completed every benchmark and i fold for several days straight without a brake. Perfectly stable up to 2733MHz much higher then that then it's unstable and can boot into windows at 2800MHz.

Idle = 26~30C Underload 45~49C (30~49C is folding for 3 days straight)

Ninjaman09
06-24-05, 12:51 PM
That's fine and all but you guys are using low-end CPUs and clocking them extremely high. I'm already starting out high and testing the upper limits of what the chip can handle. ;)

Anyway, for me, overclocking is a waste of time. I'm happy with my 147.36fps in the Source VST @ 1280x1024 4xAA 8xAF, and 94.6fps in Doom 3's timedemo at 1280x1024 High Detail. :D

FraGTastiK
06-24-05, 12:54 PM
jAkUp how is low timings and more ram treating you now?

I know that bf2 really needs more than 1 GIG to run without glitches on max setting using a 256Mb graphics card.but how about other games,1 GIG tight timings felt faster or this 2GIG looser timings?

jAkUp
06-24-05, 12:56 PM
I can't really say that I notice a big difference.. but I did lose about 80 3Dmark05 points because I went down to 2T timings :(

Battlefield 2 is like a night and day difference though. I hardly see any choppiness.

Dazz
06-24-05, 01:10 PM
Pfft who would care about 80pts thats like 0.07fps Thats why i ordered me 2x 1GB sticks of memory so that i can stay with T1 timings As it is quite a diffrence in games i find. I am also getting a BFG 7800GTX but some of us can't afford SLi... yet anyway. Besides next gen cards will be faster then SLi so not much point really.