PDA

View Full Version : 7800 Sli with 6800???


FD76
06-24-05, 03:42 PM
http://theinquirer.net/?article=24164

Just saw this and was wondering if this means you could run a 7800 with a 6800 in sli?

FD76
06-24-05, 05:09 PM
cmon... anyone heard/read anything about this? or am i just reading it wrong?

BrianG
06-24-05, 05:27 PM
Poor wording by Inquirer, go figure. I think all they are saying is that you can run SLI with out the bridge (with a potential performance hit), but not mixing card types, though NVIDIA has hinted that may be on the horizon, as well.

Saibot
06-24-05, 05:28 PM
I think you're reading it wrong.

FD76
06-24-05, 06:20 PM
kk.. thought it was too good to be true..

nukem
06-24-05, 08:36 PM
When the hole SLI thing came out Tomshardware put the latest NVIDIA and ATI card into a machine and got them both running. If you could do an SLI/Crossfire with NVIDIA and ATI itd kick ass, the best parts of both worlds. But I know I am only dreaming.

lowdog
06-24-05, 09:26 PM
Someone try it, a 7800GTX with a 6800U.

Waiting for results.

(popcorn)

Muppet
06-25-05, 05:50 AM
When the hole SLI thing came out Tomshardware put the latest NVIDIA and ATI card into a machine and got them both running. If you could do an SLI/Crossfire with NVIDIA and ATI itd kick ass, the best parts of both worlds. But I know I am only dreaming.
How cool would that be, pity the card companys would never let this happen