PDA

View Full Version : help!

JeRi
06-24-05, 06:43 PM
hey everyone...

for a while i noticed my zalman vf700cu fan had always been a lil noisier than it should have been (at least for what should be "silent", as it's my first time ever dealing with alternative solutions for stock cooling), but i dealt with it because it gave me good temps on my 6600gt...but lately i noticed it was getting louder, so i decided to pop open my case and take a look at it. tried clearing out dust and whatnot, still no help. even took the fan/hs off and put on more AS5, but now the fan is uncontrollably loud. it definitely should not be doing this, and i don't know what i should do. i'm thinking of trying to put my stock heatsink back on for the time being, but what should i do with the fan? should i send it back to zalman or to where i bought it online? because it's definitely not acting right, but i just don't know what to do :(

Clay
06-24-05, 06:52 PM
I would first check on Zalman's website for any FAQs or support on this particular issue to see if there is some kind of fix or known issue. Otherwise, it sounds like you should RMA it.

JeRi
06-24-05, 07:12 PM
i just filled out a form for an RMA with zalman because this is definitely a problem they should address, because it definitely should not be making noise like this. what a pain ugh

JeRi
06-24-05, 08:04 PM
ok well i was totally wrong...wasn't my fan at all that was the problem, well not on my video card at least...turns out it's on my motherboard. I have an A8N-SLI Deluxe, and it turns out it's the chipset fan by the PCI-e slots so should i go to asus and see if i can get a replacement fan? because my computer is basically unusable until i can get this fixed

Clay
06-24-05, 08:26 PM
Ah yes, that chipset fan is a known issue with that ASUS motherboard. They should send you a replacement fan if you contact them about it.

stncttr908
06-24-05, 08:47 PM
Get the replacement ASAP!