PDA

View Full Version : Issues with 7800GTX SLI :(


Veger
06-25-05, 10:18 PM
I am having stability problems with my new setup. Using 77.72 whql for 3dmark 03 when looping the system will reboot itself. This is ramdom. BF2 would quit to the desktop after about 10min of play. I am running the new Asus SLI-Premium mobo with the 1006-002 beta new bios.

Temps are as follows:

CPU: 32c
Case: 28c
GPU1: 49c
GPU2: 46c

Temps are good...

My memory timings are now 2, 3, 3, 6, 1t. They were at first 3, 3, 3, 8, 2t then at 2.5, 3, 3, 6, 1t. I am trying to pin point the problem. By setting the NoExecute = AlwaysOff helped with some of the crashes. This is an old fix, but it worked alittle. The only drivers to use is either the 77.50 or these for the new cards.

My videocard settings are stock:

2D = 275/1.2
3D = 450/1.2

I have reloaded my windows to start fresh. I have had a similar problem with my 6800 ultras in sli. I had to make a custom bios to have both the 2d and 3d clocks the same to fix the strange crashes.

I am just wondering if it is these horrible 77.72 drivers that are causing the problems. Is anyone else having stabilty problems? Jackup are you having any stablity problems?

Scores for 3dmark03:

> 28,000

Scores for 3dmark05:

>11,000

Thanks for any help

Rollo
06-25-05, 10:22 PM
My 7800GTX SLI has been rock solid- no crashes. Unfortunately, I don't have any advice. :confused:

Veger
06-25-05, 11:39 PM
My 7800GTX SLI has been rock solid- no crashes. Unfortunately, I don't have any advice. :confused:

Man I am bummed out :mad: Glad yours is working out okay though = :)

Rollo can you please tell me what your videocard timings are set at for 2d and 3d?

I am starting to think that it is evgas dynamic overclocking feature that I have never had any luck with.

jAkUp
06-25-05, 11:48 PM
Sorry man, my system has been error free since I got it... hmmm.. are the BIOS's on both your cards exactly the same? Which chipset drivers are you using? I am using the latest beta's off of MSI's site.

Also, try bumping up the voltage on your memory to like 2.8v, or 2.9v. You are using 4 sticks right?

-=DVS=-
06-25-05, 11:49 PM
My 7800GTX SLI has been rock solid- no crashes. Unfortunately, I don't have any advice. :confused:

System spec drivers ect ? could be helpfull.

Veger
06-25-05, 11:54 PM
Sorry man, my system has been error free since I got it... hmmm.. are the BIOS's on both your cards exactly the same? Which chipset drivers are you using? I am using the latest beta's off of MSI's site.

Also, try bumping up the voltage on your memory to like 2.8v, or 2.9v. You are using 4 sticks right?

hi jakUp,

The bios on my cards are exactly the same. The chipset drivers are the 6.53 nforce drivers.

I am using two sticks of corsair xms 3200c2 1g for a total of 2g.

The funny thing is I do not have the ablity to increase my mem voltage I cannot find it in the bios.

jAkUp
06-25-05, 11:55 PM
You can find the 7.12 drivers here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=52009

Those are the ones I am using with no issues

Veger
06-25-05, 11:57 PM
You can find the 7.12 drivers here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=52009

Those are the ones I am using with no issues

Thanks jakUp I will give those a go, as well as the 77.50 off of msi site.

Will those work if you do not have the 64bit version of Windows, just curious.

I will try them anyway.

Also what are your 2d and 3d timings set at?

OWA
06-25-05, 11:58 PM
Sorry, I don't have any ideas since I'm still waiting for my CPU to complete the system but if you don't mind me asking, what bios did your ASUS A8N-SLI Premium come with? Did you flash it to the beta bios right away or did you do it after you were having problems?

Veger
06-26-05, 12:01 AM
Sorry, I don't have any ideas since I'm still waiting for my CPU to complete the system but if you don't mind me asking, what bios did your ASUS A8N-SLI Premium come with? Did you flash it to the beta bios right away or did you do it after you were having problems?

Hi OWA,

The board comes with the 1005 bios. I flashed it later to see if it would clear up the problems. It seemed to help alittle.

Rollo
06-26-05, 12:26 AM
My system is a A64 3800+/Asus A8N Deluxe, 1GB Geil PC3500, two reference 7800GTXs, Enermax 535W.
All settings are default, and I'm using the 77.72 drivers.

SH64
06-26-05, 12:31 AM
Veger i had same problem as yours when i installed Corsair RAM (3200C2) on my SLI mobo (3DMark restarts & BF2 crashes) .. it was running good with the OCZ RAMs.

maybe changing your RAM to other brand will fix that .. not totally sure though but its definitly worth a try.

Veger
06-26-05, 03:35 PM
Well so far it seems to be more stable from my testing today no lockups or crashes or reboots. What seemed to do it - crossing fingers - was setting my memory to 2,3,3,6,1t with a voltage of 2.75v. I have played bf2 with bots for over 2hrs. Played FarCry for over an hour and also played FATE for over an hour and no issues. This ****za is strange sometimes. Hopefully it stays this way. Thanks for all the help :)