PDA

View Full Version : Need help with 2 computers, one monitor and keyboard?


electric turd
06-26-05, 09:53 PM
I am about to have a problem seeing as how i'm getting a new computer, I am going to keep the current one for normal computing and use my new one strictly for games. I want to use one monitor and one keyboard. I am wondering if a kvm would be the only option I have, if so i will not be able to use my logitech mx510 mouse but i have a standard mouse so that wont be a problem just having to diff mice on my desk. Can somone recommend a good kvm for less than $100.00 with good resolution and refresh for a standard vga monitor and ps/2 keyboard? Thanks in advance.

lumpyhed
06-30-05, 02:19 PM
Have you got Windows XP installed on both? You can freely use Remote Desktop to the secondary pc just fine. I have my little internet pc setup in the spare room, always on & operated over RDP via wireless. Provided you don't logoff you can continue a session on there as long as there is power.

LBJM
07-03-05, 12:59 PM
using a remote desktop product for something that you can use a kvm is a waste of network bandwidth which if you use your network bandwidth fully like me you'll understand.
but for a total cost of $55.48 with shipping and before a rebate you can get a KVM switch and usb switch for your mouse.

I use this kvm switch TRENDnet TK-206I KVM which has ps2 connectors but they connect to the computers via usb ports. support up to 1920 x 1440. I use 1920x1200 on my 2405fpw with no problems. it's $21.00 but $11.00 after rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817107250

there is a ps2 version for $20 but I like the usb one.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817107242

then for my MX1000 I use this usb 2.0 self powered switch


but it only come with one cable you'll need to get another cable. the reason for the usb switch is that ps2 mouse even using usb adapter is too slow with kvms and the logitech software doesn't detect the mouse. you can read the read of the different kvms on newegg for details. btw this is only $25.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817111970

lumpyhed
07-04-05, 02:12 PM
RDP takes up very very little bandwidth. Seriously! Naturally a screen with a flash media playing would bring up abit, but for the best part it can be ran over 56k just fine. I did try a belkin KVM at one point, but the refresh on the mouse was too low for it to be smooth and it had problems with prolonged keypresses in games.

LBJM
07-04-05, 05:27 PM
I've used lots of different remote desktop programs. remote desktop programs use more CPU power then I like and scale down the screen besides use up network bandwidth. if you have two machines sitting together KVMs are the best thing to use. The biggest advantages KVM s have other than they don't use network bandwidth is they don't require an OS to use and you don't need to have two machines on two use the one that doesn't have a monitor hooked up it. As for the mouse slowness ET has a usb mouse and I included a usb switch which has 4 ports on and there is no slowness with using the usb switch. I also have a usb card reader hooked up to the switch which makes bios flashes quick. Then KVM I suggested is not slow at all, and best of all you use the scoll lock key and 1 and 2 keys to switch. you must of used an old POS KVM. I play COD:OU and half-life 2 with no problems.

the slow thing here are remote desktop programs.

FierceDeityLink
07-04-05, 10:51 PM
You could (maybe) use a normal D-Sub switch and a program like Synergy (http://synergy2.sourceforge.net/), but, at first, I read the thread title and I thought you were looking for a solution using two monitors on separate computers.

I always wondered, with USB KVMs, will Windows always pop up the bubble telling you a HID has been connected when you switch between computers?

Clay
07-04-05, 11:21 PM
As far as remote admin software goes, I highly recommend Famatech's Radmin.
http://www.famatech.com/radmin/keylist.php

It is very fast. I've used Citrix, PC Anywhere, Windows Remote Desktop, Terminal Services, etc....Radmin blows them all away. It really is like realtime speed on a LAN as the link above suggests.